This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Faculty Currents: Teaching with Technology 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty Currents: Teaching with Technology 2013  

Last Updated: Jun 6, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/twt2013 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Past Teaching with Technology Presentations

What We Didn't Have Time For

See all the pages I bookmarked over the course of the year in anticipation of the conference.

What's New at the Libraries?

  • AskUs Knowledge Base FAQ -Coming Soon!
    New "smart" FAQ system to be added to the Libraries' website. Tool will be integrated with email/chat reference service if answer not available.
  • Course Reserves Policy Enhancements -Coming Soon!
    We will be piloting a new service policy for Course Reserves over the summer. More information forthcoming.
  • Research Guides -Still Growing!
    Customized research guides for classes and broader subject areas. Subject Librarians will create on-demand based on research needs, areas of interest, class assignments and more.
  • Search (Across databases, catalogs, and more)
    New "Search" box on homepage allows you to search across multiple library collections and catalogs to find books, articles, digital repository material, movies, music, and more. *Requires NetID login for off-campus access*
  • TAMU Libraries WorldCat
    We've done some customization to the WorldCat.org interface to better integrate the library into this service.
  • The Research Games -First Year Student Project
    Video created for incoming first year students to help familiarize them with library services and resources. Based around the Hunger Games theme.
  • Trial Databases
    We have a number of databases on trial this month and welcome your feedback regarding their potential for your individual research and general teaching support.
  • Poll Everywhere
    Real-time polling and feedback using mobile phones, web browsers, or Twitter. New this year, subject librarians are using this tool during library sessions, especially for large classes where we are unable to do hands-on instruction in a computer lab.
 

Featured Resource: Dance in Video (Trial Database)

In the past few years, faculty and student demand for visual/multimedia resources has increased. We currently have several databases on trial that provide media rich content including Dance in Video. Increasingly, these databases provide tools for creating selected "snippets" of videos, as well as personalized playlists that can be shared with others.

The example below illustrates how some databases provide embed codes for videos so you can insert them into other web pages such as a class page in Blackboard.

Additional Research Guides for Faculty

Associate Dean for User Services

Profile Image
Susie Goodwin
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Sterling C. Evans Library
979.458.0138
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip