This is the "General" page of the "Scholarship of Teaching and Learning" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning  

Last Updated: Jan 7, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/sotl Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources for Faculty

  • The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Reconsidered: Institutional Integration and Impact
    Drawing on the experience with the individuals, campuses, and professional associations associated with the Carnegie Academy for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning and the Institutional Leadership Program, this important resource examines four critical areas where engagement with the scholarship of teaching and learning can have a significant effect. This book is intended for a broad audience of campus leaders, faculty, and people in foundations and other education associations with an interest in supporting new directions in teaching and learning.
  • Engaging Student Voices in the Study of Teaching and Learning
    This book addresses the all-important dimensions of collaboration in the study of learning raised by such questions as: Should teachers engage students directly in discussions and inquiry about learning? To what extent? What is gained by the collaboration? Does it improve learning, and what do shared responsibilities mean for classroom dynamics, and beyond?
  • What the Best College Teachers Do
    What makes a great teacher great? Who are the professors students remember long after graduation? This book, the conclusion of a fifteen-year study, offers valuable answers for all educators. The short answer is--it's not what teachers do, it's what they understand. Lesson plans and lecture notes matter less than the special way teachers comprehend the subject and value human learning. Whether historians or physicists, in El Paso or St. Paul, the best teachers know their subjects inside and out--but they also know how to engage and challenge students and to provoke impassioned responses. Most of all, they believe in two things: that teaching matters, and that students can learn. Bain describes examples of ingenuity and compassion, of students' discoveries of new ideas and the depth of their own potential. This book is a source of insight and inspiration for first-year teachers and seasoned educators.
  • The advancement of learning: building the teaching commons
    Table of Contents: Surveying the scholarship of teaching and learning -- Defining features -- Mapping the commons -- Pathways into the scholarship of teaching and learning -- The campus as commons -- Knowledge building and exchange -- An action agenda for the scholarship of teaching and learning.
  • Landmark issues in teaching and learning: a look back at New directions for teaching and learning
    Table of Contents: The role of new directions for teaching and learning in documenting changes in postsecondary education / Marilla D. Svinicki -- Social basis of learning: from small-group learning to learning communities / Karl A. Smith -- The promise of technology for college instruction: from drill and practice to avatars / Sally Kuhlenschmidt, Barbara Kacer -- Two decades of community-based learning / Edward Zlotkowski, Donna Duffy -- Assessing learning: from accountability to transformation / Catherine M. Wehlburg -- The learning-paradigm campus: from single to double-loop learning / John Tagg -- The scholarship of teaching and learning: from idea to integration / Pat Hutchings -- Student learning: from teacher-directed to self-regulation / Marilla D. Svinicki -- Evaluating teaching: from reliability to accountability / Michael Theall -- Hopes and directions for the future / Catherine M. Wehlburg.
  • Using qualitative methods in institutional assessment
    This volume advocates the broad use of qualitative methods in assessment across American higher education: campus cultures, academic success and retention programs, student experiences and learning, and teaching effectiveness. The chapter authors suggest that responses to demands for increased accountability will be insufficient if researchers continue to rely almost exclusively on statistical analyses to assess institutional effectiveness. Instead, they recommend a variety of qualitative approaches that can produce rich and instructive data to guide institutional decision-making and action. In addition, they dispel common myths and misconceptions regarding the use of qualitative methods in assessment.
  • Student development in college: theory, research, and practice
    The second edition of Student Development in College will help student affairs practitioners understand the developmental challenges facing today's college students. It will provide scholars with a comprehensive and inclusive overview of the most important student development theories and related research, including new approaches with which they may not be familiar, particularly related to social identity development. Most importantly, it will assist student affairs professionals in designing individual, group, and institutional approaches to work more effectively with students at various developmental levels and to facilitate student growth.

Journals for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

  • Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research
    Published annually since 1985, the Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities.
  • Review of Higher Education
    The Review of Higher Education provides a forum for discussion of varied issues affecting higher education. The journal advances the study of college- and university-related topics through peer-reviewed articles, essays, reviews and research findings, and by emphasizing systematic inquiry--both quantitative and qualitative--and practical implications.
  • Journal of Higher Education
    Founded in 1930, The Journal of Higher Education is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education. Articles combine disciplinary methods with critical insight to investigate issues important to faculty, administrators, and program managers.
  • ASHE Higher Education Report
    Since 1983, the ASHE Higher Education Report (formerly ASHE-ERIC) series has been published in cooperation with the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE). Each monograph is the definitive analysis of a tough higher education problem, based on thorough research of pertinent literature and institutional experiences. Noted practitioners and scholars write the reports, with experts providing critical reviews of each manuscript before publication.
  • College Teaching
    College Teaching publishes peer-reviewed articles on how instructors across all academic disciplines can improve student learning. Each issue includes practical ideas and new strategies for successful teaching. Topics may range from research on teaching methods, educational technologies, classroom management, and assessment and grading, to faculty development, course design, and interdisciplinary teaching.
  • International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education
    The International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (ISSN 1812-9129) provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. The IJTLHE provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise. The specific emphasis of IJTLHE is the dissemination of knowledge for improving higher education pedagogy. Electronic distribution of IJTLHE maximizes global availability.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip