Resources To Support Scientific Writing
Health Professions
Health Promotion and Education Research Methods: Using the Five Chapter Thesis/ Dissertation Model (ebook) by Publication Date: 2010-10-22The main objective in writing a thesis or dissertation is to teach students how to conduct research in a planned and systematic way.
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals (ebook)Publication Date: 2019-03-25Helps students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation.
Journal article writing and publication : your guide to mastering clinical health care reporting standards (ebook)Publication Date: 2017Provides specific guidelines, based on the most commonly accepted reporting standards, for the preparation and writing of general research studies, intervention effectiveness studies, instrument development and testing studies, and case reports.
Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research (ebook)Publication Date: 2012-05-15For investigators who wish to learn how to organize, present, and publish results of their research. Written by an experienced clinical researcher and editor, it uses hundreds of examples, tables and figures to show how to produce successful abstracts, posters, oral presentations, and manuscripts for publication.
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare, 2e (ebook) by Publication Date: 2021-06-01Helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more.
Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing (print) by Publication Date: 2014Intended for scientists, medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing.
The books listed here are available through the library.
General Sciences
Getting Published in the Life Sciences (ebook) by Publication Date: 2011The goal of this book is to make it easier for scientists, especially those new to scientific writing, to write about their results and to get their manuscripts accepted in peer-reviewed journals. The book covers each step throughout the submission process.
Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing (ebook) by Publication Date: 2011The Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing offers researchers and research administrators a broad perspective on the process of initiating and conducting funded scientific research projects. Written for students and researchers in all fields and disciplines, this reference offers a holistic approach to conceiving and then converting new ideas into effective proposals. It focuses on the technical aspects of writing proposals rather than the fund-raising issues. Chapters provide full coverage of the scientific method, including information on how scientific research should be conducted.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper, 9e (ebook) by Publication Date: 2022-06-30Thoroughly updated throughout, this classic, practical text on how to write and publish a scientific paper takes its own advice to be "as clear and simple as possible."
Successful Scientific Writing (print) by Publication Date: 2014Step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. It covers all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication, ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics.
A citation style is the syntax in which the citation information is formatted. They vary from discipline to discipline.
Get citation style handouts/help
The following are style manuals which guide writers both in formatting citations and the text for a specific style.
AMA Manual of Style, 11e (ebook) by Publication Date: 2020-03-02The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing.
Scientific Style and Format, 8e (ebook) by Publication Date: 2014-05-07For more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers in the scientific community have turned to Scientific Style and Format for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation.
The ACS Style Guide, 3e (ebook) by Publication Date: 2006-07-20In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world.
Websites Helpful on How to Write Literature Reviews:
Systematic Reviews: find training/help on conducting systematic reviews
Ten Simple Rules for Writing a Literature Review: brief article from PLOS
Writing an Evidence-Based Clinical Literature Review: guidelines from American Family Physician
Literature Reviews: An Overview (video tutorial from NC State University Libraries)
Books (both e-book and print) Helpful on How to Write Literature Reviews:
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy, 6e (ebook) by Publication Date: 2020-12-23This text is an outstanding resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice. The hallmark of this text is the inclusion of the Matrix Method developed by the author which outlines one of the many ways to approach a literature review.
The literature review : six steps to success, 4e (ebook) by Publication Date: 2022-01-17Using the six-step model, you'll work seamlessly to narrow your research topic, focus your literature search, negotiate the myriad of books, periodicals, and reports about your topic--and, of course, write the review.
Writing the Literature Review: a practical guide (ebook) by Publication Date: 2018-09-24This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care (print) by Publication Date: 2010This step-by-step guide simplifies the process of reviewing published literature, provides a guide to searching, appraising and comparing literature, and offers practical tips on writing up.
- Article: "Preparing and Presenting Effective Research Posters"Article in Health Research and Educational Trust
- TAMU Writing Center - Research PostersLinks to poster creation and templates.
- The Basics - Academic Poster Resources - Yale University Library Research Guides at Yale UniversityGuidance, templates and examples from Yale University's Library
- Creating Effective Poster PresentationsWebsite from North Carolina State University with guidelines, examples, and videos on creating quality research posters
- TPGi Colour Contract AnalyzerUse TPGi's free colour contrast checker to optimize your content - including text and visual elements - for individuals with color-blindness or low vision impairments.
- Scientific Poster Making TutorialsMakesigns.com provides design tips and free poster templates
- F1000 Posters: The Open Poster Repository for Biology & MedicineOpen access submission of posters, articles, and slides with peer review and discussion (click on F1000Research tab, then click on Subjects tab, select subject, then filter by poster)
Need some help with scientific writing? The following links may provide the tips you need, whether you're writing as a student or a scholar:
- AuthorAID
Provides networking, mentoring, resources and training for researchers, especially of developing countries, in publishing their work
- AuthorAID's Resource Library
PowerPoint presentations, articles, books, videos, links on research writing
-
BioRenderUse your Texas A&M credentials to access this tool for building scientific figures and models
Duke University's Graduate School: Scientific Writing Resource: Includes lessons, examples and worksheets on best practices in scientific writing
- F1000 Research: Open for Science
Open access publishing platform of articles, posters and data offering transparent peer review and comments
- Instructions to Authors
University of Toledo provides links to instructions for authors in more than 6,000 Health/Life Science journals
- Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)
Paste in your article's title or abstract for suggestions as to which (biomedical) journal to submit for publication
-
National Association of Science Writers: articles and resources on best practices in scientific writing