Topics of Interest & Other Helpful Guides
Guides from our Government Information Librarian, Laura Sare
- Congressional Information
- Federal Government Information
- FOIA Freedom of Information Act
- Government Shutdown
- International Government
- Law - Federal
- Law - Texas
- Tax Time
- Texas Government Information
Additional subject specific resources are available through subject guides in:
Getting Books & Articles Delivered . . .
You can set up a Get It For Me (Document Delivery Service) account to ask the
- Scan up to 50 pages for items not already available electronically
- Request to borrow materials owned by other universities or research centers
- Get items delivered to PSEL from other campus libraries
* The Libraries may send print materials through campus mail to faculty only. The Policy Sciences & Economics Library staff will also deliver library materials to patrons with offices or mailboxes in the Bush complex.
Getting Online Course Readings and Textbooks . . .
Library Reserves provides a print collection of textbooks as well as electronic access to articles, chapters and other course materials (including streaming videos) at http://library-reserves.tamu.edu/. If textbooks or print materials are on reserve at a campus library, their location and status will also indicated.
The first time you login, you will need to follow these steps:
- Login with your NetID
- On the left, click on Search Classes
- Enter the instructor's name OR the Department and Course Number
- From the list, click Add Class
It will only be necessary to do this the first time. Thereafter, the course will be listed in the Main Menu when you login.
For access to videos that your instructor has put on the streaming system, go to http://mediamatrix.tamu.edu and login with your NetID.
Citing Your Work: APSA Style
In almost all cases, the American Political Science Association (APSA) citation style is prescribed in this subject area. Check your syllabus and/or with your instructor to confirm their preference.
This brief two-page guide highlights the most used types of resources: APSA Citation Style Handout
The APSA Style Guide for Students of Political Sciences (2006) is available in print at PSEL (the new edition will be out in 2016).
See the guides below for help citing specific kinds of materials used for your research.
Country Regime Trends, 1946-2013
Online Reference Collections
- Political Science
- CQ Almanac
- Congress Collection
- Encyclopedia of American Government
- Public Affairs Collection
- CQ Researcher
- Supreme Court Collection
- Voting and Elections Collection
- CQ Weekly
Directories & Manuals
- Congressional Directory
- Washington Information Directory
- United States Government Manual
- Leadership Library on the Internet
- Government Affairs Yellow Book
Law & Legislation
- Supreme Court Compendium (CQ)
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 (Gale)
- U.S. Statutes at Large
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- LexisNexis Congressional
- Congressional Record
- Federal Register
- American State Papers, 1789-1838
- Declassified Documents
- Presidential Papers
- Public Papers of the Presidents
Keeping Track of Library Resources and Research Materials...
Set up your Bookbag to create and save lists of databases or journals for specific topical research. RefWorks will help organize your research and citations, making them accessible from any computer and allowing you to generate bibliographies easily in established formats.
Ebooks on Political Science
Policy Sciences & Economics Liaison Librarian
Chat With Us
Tell us what you think
Help us to make this guide useful...