- Evaluating Sources of Information: Guide created by the Purdue University Online Writing Lab (Owl). Provides advice for evaluating information.
- Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages: Cornell University guide to evaluating Web sources.
- Gallery of Hoax Websites: Collection of links to infamous disinformation on the WWW.
- Information and its Counterfeits: Propaganda, Misinformation and Disinformation: Defines and discusses how to identify propaganda, misinformation, and disinformation.
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
- Popular vs. Scholarly Articles--Guide: Describes how to identify both popular and scholarly articles.
- Peer Reviewed Journals: What does Peer Reviewed or Refereed Mean?
- Journal Citation Reports: This database allows users to identify the most cited scholarly journals in particular disciplines (rank journals by impact factor).
- Ulrich's Periodical's Directory: Provides basic information about popular and scholarly publications. If a periodical's title is preceded by the icon of a referee's jersey, it is peer reviewed.
About Scholarly Articles
What is a scholarly article?
Scholarly articles are those articles published in scholarly journals, covering academic and scientific research. Scholarly journals are often referred to as Refereed or Peer Reviewed.
How do I search for and find scholarly articles?
Search for scholarly articles using library search engines (also called databases). In the databases, look for links to limit by Academic Sources or Peer Review Sources. See the box above for database suggestions.
How can I tell if an article is scholarly?
- In general, scholarly articles:
- Are written for an academic audience
- Contain a credible list of citations/references
- Include in text citations
- Often contain an abstract, literature review, methodology, results, or discussion.
How can I be absolutely sure my journal article is scholarly?
- Go to a website called Ulrich's Periodical Directory
- Type in the Title of the journal in the upper right search box
- When you find the link to the journal, click on it
- Look for the Document Type to say "Journal; Academic/Scholarly"
Example Searches in OnePetro & Petroleum Abstracts
To search for classic articles by some of the ‘godfathers’ of well testing (use the Advanced Search in OnePetro) and try these authors in one field with Author selected and try ‘testing’ or ‘well testing’ in a field with Subject Terms or Abstract selected.
Arps, J J
Ramey, H J
Matthews, C S
Fetkovich, M J
For some current day pioneers in well testing, try a similar search strategy with these authors:
Blasingame, T A
Horne, R N
Note that you will want to not have a space in the initials when searcing by author in OnePetro.
To search for articles on rate transient analysis in both core databases, search for "rate transient analysis" in quotes in the Abstract.
To search for rate transient analysis in combination with other terms such as shale, simply add that term to another Abstract field in the search box.
Try other searches concerning unconventionals with other terms by using multiple fields selected as Abstract, such as:
Note that Petroleum Abstracts does not link to the articles by SPE. However, you can simply paste the SPE paper number into OnePetro and you're set with the PDF.