This is the "Class Resources" page of the "NUTR 430 - Community Nutrition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NUTR 430 - Community Nutrition   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Aug 31, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/nutr430 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Class Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

NUTR 430 Electronic Course Reserves

Get access to electronic class materials by logging into the Course Reserves system with your NetID.

 

Using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

Searching in PubMed for articles can be easier if you use Medical Subject Headings.  For help using MeSH, watch this brief video.

Citing & Writing Help

For this class, you will use American Medical Association (AMA) style to cite references.  This handout provides an overview of AMA Style.

The AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors (10th Ed.) is available online.  It is also available in print at the Medical Sciences Library (call number: WZ 345 A512 2007).

 

Finding Print & E-Books at TAMU

Community nutrition print and e-books available at TAMU can be found by searching the two library catalogs: LibCat and the MSL Catalog.

 

What if we don't have instant full text access?

Have the full text for an article or other material that we don't have electronic access to sent to an A&M library for pickup or emailed to you using Get It For Me.

Article Databases

The database you use will depend on the research topic you are exploring.

  • PubMed MEDLINE
    The MEDLINE database has been developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and provides scholarly literature on nutrition and food science as it relates to medicine and human health topics. Don't forget that in PubMed you can use medical subject headings (MeSH) to help you build a search and find articles on a topic.
  • CINAHL
    This database includes literature on allied health and nutrition, including some journals not available in MEDLINE.
  • Social Sciences Full-Text
    Search this database for articles that explore behavioral and social influences on eating.
  • Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
    Search here for research published in business journals, which may include consumer research on eating behaviors (such as label reading or nutrition policy)
  • AGRICOLA
    Provides access to some articles and reports on USDA programs and community nutrition.

U.S. Governmental Reports

Evidence-Based Guidelines

Health & Nutrition Statistical Data

Looking for U.S. or region-specific health or nutrition data? Check some of the following:

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Arwen Meador
Contact Info
Medical Sciences Library
174D
979-458-0616
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jenni Simonsen
Contact Info
Medical Sciences Library
Room 172
979.862.1050
Send Email
 

Chat With Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip