Get Started Table of Contents
Contents for Get Started page:
- About this Subject Guide
- Sampling of Book & Article Databases
- Sample of Reference Books
- ACCESS Various Types of Databases
- ACCESS Specific E-Journals
- Did You Know That...?
- Important Library Links
- Librarian Contact Info
- Chat With Us
Also notice the TABS along the top of this guide
Comments (0)
IMPORTANT Library Links
About the Nuclear Engineering Subject Guide...
Howdy! The purpose of this guide is to enable identification, access and retrieval of information important to study and research in nuclear engineering.
Use the tabs along the top for more details on how to identify, access and retrieve specific kinds of information:
- Books, book chapters, etc. — books on a topic, specific books, reference books, technical reports, etc.
- Articles & papers — scholarly, trade, popular magazine, newspaper articles, conference papers, etc.
- Data
- Theses & Dissertations
- Standards & Patents
- Use the Searching Tips for information on how to construct a more efficient search
- Use the Writing Resources tab above for information on technical writing, citation styles, reference management software, and more...
Sampling of Book & Article Databases
The list below is a small sample, but use the tabs above ("Find Books", "Find Articles", "Find Data") for more comprehensive lists of recommended book and article databases.
- American Nuclear Society Journals Online

- Compendex & Inspec
Search simultaneously or separately — together they cover engineering and computer science. INSPEC includes Physics Abstracts. They index articles, reports, book chapters dissertations, and more. Limit a search to a particular document type (just articles, just books, etc.) Use the "Find text@TAMU" button for document retrieval options. - Safari Tech Books Online
E-book database that contains computer manuals and other books on computer science and technology, including books on C+programming, SolidWorks, MatLab and much more. - ScienceDirect
Provides access to the full text of many books and journals. - SpringerLink Books (MetaPress)Online books published by Springer
- Web of Knowledge
Indexes journal articles & conference papers only
Sampling of Reference Books (dictionaries, encyclopedias & handbooks)
- Encyclopedia of Physical Science & Technology / Robert Meyers, editor (Online)
E-book. Notice, when viewing a section of the book, the related reference works and the related articles. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (Online)
Part of CRC ChemNetBase — click on the link for the Handbook of Chemistry & Physics - Handbook of physical quantities / edited by Igor S. Grigoriev and Evgenii Z. Meilikhov. CRC Press 1997
Located in Evans Reference — 1st floor. Call number: QC61 .H36 1997 - Nuclear Engineering HandbookIncluded in CRC EngNetBase (e-book database)
- Handbook of medical imaging. Volume 1, Physics and psychophysics [electronic resource] / Jacob Beutel, Harold L. Kundel, and Richard L. Van Metter, editors.
ACCESS Various Types of Databases (article databases, e-book databases, data databases, etc.)
ACCESS Specific E-journals
Did you know that...?
- "Get It For Me" is a valuable and time saving service!
GIFM will: 1) scan articles & chapters (<= 50 pages) for you free of charge; 2) borrow material (books, videos, maps etc.) not owned by TAMU from another library; 3) courier material located in a given library (ex. MSL) to your preferred pick up library (ex. Evans); 4) deliver material to faculty offices. - Library guides help identify resources needed for research, class assignments and projects.
Click on the subject area (i.e. engineering) on the left for a list of subject and class guides. - There's a subject librarian for that!
Use the contact information on the right side of this guide to make an appointment with your librarian. - Anyone can suggest a class or topic guide
Don't see a subject or class guide that you need? Suggest one! - Anyone can suggest the library purchase material
Suggest that the library purchase a book, movie, map, journal, database, etc. - Instructors can schedule a library sesssion for a class or research/lab group
Schedule a library session (full class length, or 15 minute overview) for a specific class, or for a research or lab group. - The list of library forms provides an overview of its services
Subject Guide |
![]() |
Chat With Us
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Regular Chat Hours
| Mon - Thu |
10 am - 10 pm |
| Fri |
10 am - 6 pm |
| Sat | 2 pm - 6 pm |
| Sun | 2 pm - 10 pm |


Loading...
