This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Materials Science & Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Materials Science & Engineering   Tags: subjectguide  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/mse Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Howdy! This guide provides information about our materials science and engineering information resources available at the University Libraries.

Please contact me for individual consultation, group instruction, library purchase recommendations, and suggestions for this guide.

Be sure to check the materials science and engineering class guides if you are working on a class assignment.

 

Catalog Search (LibCat)

Enter Search Terms:

Choose a Search Type:


  Help


LibCat (Main Library Catalog)

 

E-Journal Search


Journal Abbreviations

Engineering Standards

Please see the our Standards Guide for additional information about searching and accessing standards.

  • SAI Global Standards
    Provides immediate access to the current ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code and active ASTM standards, as well as a searchable database of standards from over 300 issuing organizations.
 

E-Journal Search


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

If you are new to a topic, a brief definition or encyclopedia article may be the place to start. Kirk-Othmer and Ullmann's are excellent places to learn about chemical processes and chemicals.

  • Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology
    This 11-volume set contains approximately 1,800 articles focusing on functional phenomena, structural phenomena, fundamental core theory, structural materials, polymers and materials chemistry, and functional materials.
  • Materials Science and Technology
    Online version of Wiley's 24-volume Materials Science and Technology encyclopedia. Covers metals, ceramics, glasses, polymers, semiconductors, and composites.
  • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
    Contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, industrial production, and process diagrams. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
  • Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
    Like Kirk-Othmer, Ullmann's contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, industrial production, process diagrams and unit operations in chemical engineering. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
  • Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
    Contains over 500 articles. Major topic categories include additives, applications, biomaterials, characterization and analysis, classification, computers in polymer science, degradation, morphology, polymeric materials, polymerization reactions, polymer properties, processing and finishing, surfaces and interfaces, and testing.
  • Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
    Compilation of technical data and short descriptions of thousands of chemicals, chemical phenomena, trade names, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
  • Merck Index
    Contains brief entries on the synthesis, use, biological activity, and property data on over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.

Handbooks

Handbooks are a great place for property data, constants, or related material. Below are a few handbooks, please see the Handbooks/Books tab above for many more.

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    The handbook for chemistry. Extensive collection of physical constants, property data, mathematical tables, and conversion factors.
  • Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook
    Provides physical property data for chemicals/materials, engineering formulas, as well as individual chapters on units operations (e.g., Process Control, Distillation, Heat Transfer Equipment, etc.).
  • CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook
    Contains data on engineered materials organized by material properties.
  • ASM Materials Information Online
    Collection of handbooks and other resources focused primarily on metals and ceramics. Includes the 24-volume ASM Handbook with individual volumes on properties and selection, corrosion, fatigue and facture, and various types of testing/evaluation. The ASM Desk Editions includes the Engineering Materials Handbook (polymers and ceramics) and the Metals Handbook.
  • SpringerMaterials: Landolt-Bornstein Database
    SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-BoĢˆrnstein New Series, a unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. Contains an extensive collection of physical property data.

Databases - Searching the journal literature

Search these resources to locate journal articles, conference papers, and other literature on a particular topic. Once you find an article you like, click the "Find Text @ TAMU" button within the database to obtain the full-text or request through our Get It For Me service. NOTE: If you already have a citation to a particular article, you'll use our "e-Journals" search to check online access or LibCat for print. Please see the Journals/Databases tab above for many more databases.

  • Compendex
    Covers all areas of engineering. Indexes journals, magazines, conference proceedings and some technical reports. Should be used for every chemical engineering literature search. Coverage is 1884-present.
  • SciFinder
    Comprehensive database for chemistry, biochemistry, materials science, and related subjects. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, and some technical reports. Coverage 1800s-present.
  • Web of Science
    This multidisciplinary citation database indexes over 7,000 science journals, as well as conference proceedings. Coverage 1900-present.
  • ProQuest Technology Research Database
    Comprehensive engineering database comprised of the Materials Research Database with METADEX, High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the Engineering Research Database.

Science & Engineering Librarian

Profile Image
David E. Hubbard
Contact Info
111J Evans Library
(979)862-1902
hubbardd@library.tamu.edu
Send Email
 

Office Hours

Please feel free to contact me at any time via email, phone or in-person. In addition to Evans Library Room 111J, I can also be found in Chemistry Building Room 117 on the following days/times during the Fall and Spring semesters:

Thursday 10:00 am - Noon
Friday 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

 

Chat With Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Citation/Bibliographic Managers

This software not only allows you to store and manage citations downloaded from databases and other sources, but works with word processing software (e.g., Word) to properly format your citations.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip