This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Microforms" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using microfilm and microfiche in the library.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/microforms Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are Microforms?

Microforms reproduce materials in a long lasting format that saves space. The Library has over 4 million microforms in different physical formats, including:

Microfilm (reels of film):

microfilm reel

Microfiche (flat plastic sheets):

microfiche flat plastic sheet

Microcard Opaque (flat sheets of paper):

microcard opaque

Microfilm cartridge:

microfilm cartridge

which requires a special adapter that can be borrowed from the first floor AskUs desk:

microfilm adapter

 

How is the microform collection organized?

The Library's microform collection is located on the second floor of the Evans Library.

Click to view the
Microform Collection Map

 

What can be found in the TAMU Libraries microform collection?

Visit the collections tab above to learn more about what is in our microforms collection.

microform area on 2nd floor of Evans Library

 

How can I look up microforms?

You can use LibCat, our library catalog,  to locate microforms as you would with other library materials. However, be aware that many materials can only be found using some specialized indexes, such as the "Guide to the Microform Collections  in the Sterling C. Evans Library" which can be found on the collections tab above.

Some microform sets are accompanied by a guide or finding aid. A guide lists what material is on each reel or fiche, similar to a table of contents. Many guides also include a subject index. The microform guides are shelved near the microform cabinets.

microform indexes

For assistance in determining what microforms the Library owns, visit the librarians in the Consultation Area on the first floor of the Evans Library or call 979-845-3731.

You can also make an appointment with a librarian to discuss your research. 

 

Can I check microforms out?

Most microforms can be checked out from the library for the same length of time as their print equivalents. The library will also loan most microforms to other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. Portable microfiche readers can also be checked out by researchers affiliated with Texas A&M.

 

How can I digitize the microforms?

Scanners with computers are available to digitize pages from microforms at no charge.

microform digitizer and OAL computer

Digitizing Instructions

You can then save the data to a USB drive, or email the file to yourself.  Students can print copies using their OAL print allocation.  The nearest OAL printer is located on the second floor of Evans Library near the microtext collection.

EVANS LIBRARY

Digitizers and the microform collection are located on the second floor of Evans Library.  For help using the digitizing equipment, visit the Ask Us Desk on the first floor of the Evans Library or call 979-845-3731.

WEST CAMPUS LIBRARY

There is also a digitizer and some microforms located on the first floor of West Campus Library.  For help using the digitizing equipment, visit the Ask Us Desk on the first floor of West Campus Library or call  979-845-2111

OTHER OPTIONS

You may also request copies of materials in microform through Get It for Me. Subject to that service’s guidelines, the item will be scanned into a digital format for your use. In general, staff cannot digitize entire microforms.

Some microforms are also available in electronic form. For help in checking whether digitized versions exist of microforms, contact the librarians in the Consultation Area.

Program Coordinator

Profile Image
Bill Page
Contact Info
Send Email

AskUs Team

Profile Image
Chance Medlin
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Help! I need somebody!

For your convenience, we have placed a phone in the microform area on the column by the desk.  You can pick up the receiver and it will call the first floor AskUs desk.  We are here to help!

Evans Library 2nd floor microform help phone

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip