This is the "Frequently Requested Materials" page of the "Map Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Map Resources   Tags: map gis cartography cushing, maps, resourceguide  

Quick reference guide to map resources.
Last Updated: May 24, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/maps Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Frequently Requested Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Information

Location
Room 202 of the Sterling C. Evans Library

Contact
(979) 845-1024
maps-gis@library.tamu.edu

Hours

Services

Frequently Requested Matierials

Over 250,000 maps are held on the 2nd Floor of Evans Library.  Here is a description of the most commonly requested maps and links to digital versions, when available. 

Topographic maps

We have an extensive collection of United States Geological Survey 7.5 Minute Topographic Series (1:24,000 scale).  We also have topographic maps at 1:50,000, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000 scale for many parts of the United States.  Our topographic maps cover various years, some going back to the 19th century.  The 7.5-minute map series was officially completed in 1992, and the program has recently been replaced by The National Map. Topographic maps from the 7.5-minute program, as well as various derived products, are available for sale from USGS.

The collection also includes topographic maps from numerous countries and regions around the world. 

Google Earth

Google Earth is available at all OAL computers.  If it is not easily found, search it by name in the programs search box.

Travel Maps, City Maps

We have street maps for cites and regions, locally and around the world.  We also have maps and guides of the US National Parks.  The travel guide books, including those from Lonely Planet, Fodor's and other publishers, are found in the general collections.  Search LibCat with the place of interest and keyword "description and travel guidebooks."

Soil Surveys

We hold the copies of the county soil surveys published by the Department of Agriculture.  Some are also available online, http://soils.usda.gov/survey/printed_surveys/

General Reference Resources

We maintain a significant reference collection containing items such as, The New Handbook of Texas, Texas Almanac, Texas Gazetteer, National Gazetteer of the United States, Omni Gazetteer, Guide to USGS Publications, the World Almanac, and the Statistical Abstract of the U.S.  We also have many GIS manuals and books from ESRI.

Flood Insurance Rate Maps from FEMA

These include Texas communities that are in the Flood Insurance Program.  Some are available online through the FEMA Flood Map Service Portal.

Aerial Photography

We have a collection of modern and historical aerial photographs of the Brazos County area. Aerials at 1:2000 scale include the years 1940, 1977, 1982, 1988, and 1994.  We also have recent satellite imagery of the county.  View the Historic 1940's Aerials of Brazos County online.

Atlases

We have a substantial collection of national atlases from all over the world.  We also have special themed atlases including those on social, environmental, physical and military topics.   

Base/Outline Maps

We hold the Facts on File’s Historical Maps on File and Geography on File, both of which are freely available to photocopy.  Outline maps of the world and US can be found at About.com.

Geological Maps

The collection contains geologic maps on every state, and most countries, with extensive coverage of Texas.  We hold maps from many state geologic surveys.  A wide range of geologic maps can also be found at the USGS National Geologic Map Database.  

The library holds the complete run of the Geologic Atlas of the United States, created by the USGS during the late 19th and middle 20th centuries. This set consists of 227 folio volumes, each including topographic and geologic maps and sections of selected geographic areas in the United States, together with a descriptive text, charts and photographs.  Digitized copies are available in the library's repository.

The library contains the complete set of the Geologic Atlas of Texas in paper.  The digital version was created by the Texas Water Development Board, Groundwater Resources Division.  

Historical Maps

We have both originals and reproductions of historic maps representing Texas, the United States and the world. Among our reprint collections are maps from the Historic Urban Plans collection.  To find these maps in the catalog, search Historic Urban Plans (Firm).  You may also view historic maps online at the Library of Congress’ American Memory and at the David Rumsey Collection.

Nautical/Aeronautical/Celestial Charts

We collect the following government produced series: TPC (Tactical Pilotage Charts); ONC (Operational Navigational Charts); GNC (Global Navigational Charts) and Sectional Aeronautical Charts.  We also have a number of world nautical charts and celestial charts.  Digital version of NOAA's Nautical charts can be found on their On-Line Chart Viewer

Place Names & Gazetteers

We hold gazetteers of place names approved by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.  Also, see the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) on the web for place names within the US and its territories.  Information about foreign geographic feature names can be obtained from the GEOnet Names Server (GNS).

Thematic Maps and Atlases

Among the many topics in our collection are social or demographic maps and atlases, as well as the topics of ecology, land use, climate data, and economic data.

USGS Resources 

The U.S. Geologic Survey provides an extensive listing of resources including:

Geospatial Data and Mapping Websites list: Listing includes links to:

  1. Free spatial data from USGS & partners
  2. Purchase USGS products
  3. Other sites of interest

USGS Education Online resources for educators.

      

    Map Librarian

    Profile Image
    Sierra Laddusaw
    Contact Info
    Map & GIS Library
    Evans, 2nd Floor
    979.845.1024
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip