This is the "Online Resources" page of the "FINC JOB - Finance Job Search" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FINC JOB - Finance Job Search   Tags: resourceguide  

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincjob Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Let Us Know How We're Doing!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Interview Preparation

  • TAMU Career Center - Finance Majors
    The Career Center is an excellent place to go to for assistance in your job search. They've even organized some of their resources by major and have Career Coordinators specifically focused on helping Mays Business School students!
  • Monster - Job Interview Advice
    From well-known job listing site Monster.com, advice for acing your interview.
  • Forbes
    Obviously this is a big-name business magazine that covers a lot of other topics too, but they often have interview and job prep advice columns as well, especially in their Leadership section.

Career Resources

  • The Occupational Outlook Handbook
    Provides a generic description of many types of jobs and includes information on the nature of work, job growth projections, and average annual salaries.
  • Careers.org
    Occupation Profiles include good overview of the expectations, duties and educational requirements for jobs, as well as linking to job listings within each profile.
  • What Can I Do With This Major? - Finance
    Lots of good information on possible areas and employers you might pursue with a Finance major; also a portal with links to Professional Associations, Occupational Outlook Information, Miscellaneous Career Information and Job Postings.

Industry Resources

  • IBIS World
    A collection of Industry Market Research Reports organized by NAICS/Industry Codes. These codes are used to group types of businesses so you can find other like businesses using these codes. It is possible to search theses code.The reports are useful for understanding the current and expected trends within an industry. Each report provides detailed analysis on major industry players, industry performance, and future outlook.
  • Orbis
    In case you need global industry reports, and reports by specific geographic region, this database provides access to industry and region reports.
  • BizMiner
    The best place to find local industry information: What is the state of XYZ industry in the city or metropolitan area of ___? Ideal if you're looking into working within a particular industry and a specific and narrow geographic area.

Company Resources

  • Mergent Online
    Provides current and historical financial data, links to extensive lists of SEC filings and several years of annual reports for U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Special strengths of this database include delineations of debt and equity structure and hard to find annual reports for international companies. Allows user to download financials to Microsoft Excel.
  • Factiva  
      
    Offers flexible searching of a collection of news and business information from authoritative sources from more than 150 countries. This collection includes the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, and the Associated Press. It never hurts to be informed about current events and in particular business news and events with the potential to impact your industry.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Under "Search By Content Type" choose "Dossier" under the Companies heading to locate company information. Resource provides capability to develop targeted company list based upon geographic location, size, industry, etc. Includes both articles and company information.
  • Hoover's Premium
    Get a good sense of the company's history, financials and closest competitors. Also includes links to latest news stories and even a glimpse at the most recent Tweets associated with the company!
  • PrivCo
    One of the very few places you might find some history, funding and other financial information if the company you're interested in is a private one.

City Information & Cost of Living Sites

  • American City Business Journals
    Provides comprehensive coverage of local business news and information from major metropolitan cities across the country with American City Business Journals.
  • Sperling's Best Places  
      
    A social networking website that connects professionals around the world. Members can obtain industry, company, and employment insight. Great resource for learning more about a company and obtaining access to key insiders.
  • CNN Money - Cost of Living Calculator
    A tool that lets you compare comparable salaries in two cities; what would you need to earn in another city to maintain your current standard of living?
  • Numbeo
    User-contributed cost of living measurements from around the world; how much will a gallon of gas cost you if you're considering moving to Copenhagen?

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tom Sullivan
Contact Info
Phone: (979) 845-2902
Send Email

Be Social

  • Linkedin.com
    A social networking website that connects professionals around the world. Members can obtain industry, company, and employment insight. Great resource for learning more about a company and obtaining access to key insiders. You can also add your resume, a link to your eportfolio (if you have one) and education information to your Linkedin profile to potentially catch the eye of an employer searching the site for qualified candidates.

Salary Calculators

  • Salary.com
    Perhaps the most popular salary calculator; useful to help you determine what the salary for a given job in a given location should likely be... Gives you a good place to start in negotiations.
  • PayScale Salary Calculator
    A more detailed salary calculator that tries to take into account years of experience, education, etc. in determining mean salary for those in YOUR particular situation/geographic area. Provides customized report page.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip