This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Venture Capital" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Venture Capital   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazventure Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

  • National Venture Capital Association (NVCA)
    This is the trade association that represents the U.S. venture capital industry. The site includes information on relevant policy issues, statistics and research publications and overview information on the venture capital industry...
  • "Venture Capital"
    A nice introductory article to venture capital from the U.S. Small Business Administration.
  • "The Top 100 Venture Capital Firms"
    From Entrepreneur.com, the top 100 venture capital firms as of 2013. Also links to relevant news and educational articles.
  • Aggie Angel Network
    A not-for profit, that is, in it's own words, "dedicated to providing quality early-stage investment opportunities for accredited angel investors, and to assisting early-stage high-growth potential technology companies with fundraising and advisory services."
  • Angel Capital Association
  • "How Funding Works"
    A neat, informational infographic from Funders and Founders (fundersandfounders.com).

Databases

  • PrivCo  Icon
    Information on private market investors, venture capital funding companies and rounds, private equity deals and more.
 

Books

Cover Art
Venture Deals - Brad Feld; Dick Costolo (Foreword by); Jason Mendelson
ISBN: 1118443616
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
A full revised edition of the Wall Street Journal bestselling book on startups and entrepreneurship As each new generation of entrepreneurs emerges, there is a renewed interest in how venture capital deals come together. Yet there is little reliable information focused on venture capital deals. Nobody understands this better than authors Brad Feld and Jason Mendelson. For more than twenty years, they've been involved in hundreds of venture capital financings, and now, with the Second Edition of Venture Deals, they continue to share their experiences in this field with you. Engaging and informative, this reliable resource skillfully outlines the essential elements of the venture capital term sheet?from terms related to economics to terms related to control. It strives to give a balanced view of the particular terms along with the strategies to getting to a fair deal. In addition to examining the nuts and bolts of the term sheet, Venture Deals, Second Edition also introduces you to the various participants in the process and discusses how fundraising works. Fully updated to reflect the intricacies of startups and entrepreneurship in today's dynamic economic environment Offers valuable insights into venture capital deal structure and strategies Brings a level of transparency to a process that is rarely well understood Whether you're an experienced or aspiring entrepreneur, venture capitalist, or lawyer who partakes in these particular types of deals, you will benefit from the insights found throughout this new book.

Cover Art
The Official Gust Guide to Angel Investing - Reid Hoffman (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1118858255
Publication Date: 2014-04-28
PRAISE FOR ANGEL INVESTING “The world of entrepreneurial startups is where the most exciting and creative action is happening in today’s business world, which is why I was a strong supporter of the JOBS Act of 2012. No wonder millions of people are wondering how they can get involved as investors. There’s no better place to start than by reading David S. Rose’s Angel Investing.”—U.S. SENATOR CHARLES E. SCHUMER, Senate Finance Committee “From the best methods for finding and picking tomorrow’s big winners to proven techniques for adding value to any business you invest in, Angel Investing provides readers with everything they need to know to get started in this fascinating, fun—and lucrative—business arena.”—DAVID BACH, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Automatic Millionaire and Start Late Finish Rich, Angel Investor “As an angel investor and a long-time fan of David S. Rose, I was delighted to hear he finally captured his wit and wisdom in the pages of a book. David’s witty stories and angel investing principles — as well as his unsurpassed knowledge of his field — are teaching me so much more about investing than I’ve learned over the years doing it!”—BARBARA CORCORAN, Real Estate Mogul, Shark Tank star, Angel Investor “This is the most comprehensive and readable guide to angel investing ever written. The chapter on valuation and expectations lays out a clear framework for understanding one of the least well-known pitfalls in the angel world. And its emphasis on creating a win-win relationship with the entrepreneur is at the heart of being a long-term successful angel—and continuing to see the best deal flow. I recommend this book to anyone even thinking about making or receiving angel investments.”—HOWARD L. MORGAN, Founding Partner, First Round Capital “Angel Investing is an engaging, easy read, full of real stories and hard numbers, actual cases and a whole lot of good advice. David S. Rose brings tons of real-world knowledge to the subject that makes this required reading for every new angel.”—TIM BERRY, Author of Business Plan Pro, Entrepreneur, Angel Investor “Anyone with a checkbook can be an angel investor, but it takes insight to do it well. David S. Rose has written a terrific new book that will help would-be angels make money, rather than lose it. From explaining the value of diversification, to tips on evaluating deals, to offering up plans to attract good deals, Angel Investing will help you move from a money-losing amateur to a money-making professional angel. And if you’re an entrepreneur looking for angel money, you should read this book too. It will help you understand what knowledgeable angels are seeking and how they will evaluate you.”—SCOTT SHANE, author of Fool’s Gold? The Truth Behind Angel Investing in America

Cover Art
Banker′s Guide to Small Business Finance - Charles H. Green
ISBN: 1118837878
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
Detailed, actionable guidance for expanding your revenue in the face of a new virtual market Written by industry authority Charles H. Green, Banker′s Guide to New Small Business Finance explains how a financial bust from one perfect storm-the real estate bubble and the liquidity collapse in capital markets-is leading to a boom in the market for innovative lenders that advance funds to small business owners for growth. In the book, Green skillfully reveals how the early lending pioneers capitalized on this emerging market, along with advancements in technology, to reshape small company funding. Through a discussion of the developing field of crowdfunding and the cottage industry that is quickly rising around the ability to sell business equity via the Internet, Banker′s Guide to New Small Business Finance covers how small businesses are funded; capital market disruptions; the paradigm shift created by Google, Amazon, and Facebook; private equity in search of ROI; lenders, funders, and places to find money; digital lenders; non-traditional funding; digital capital brokers; and much more. Covers distinctive ideas that are challenging bank domination of the small lending marketplace Provides insight into how each lender works, as well as their application grid, pricing model, and management outlook Offers suggestions on how to engage or compete with each entity, as well as contact information to call them directly Includes a companion website with online tools and supplemental materials to enhance key concepts discussed in the book If you′re a small business financing professional, Banker′s Guide to New Small Business Finance gives you authoritative advice on everything you need to adapt and thrive in this rapidly growing business environment.

Cover Art
The Business of Venture Capital - Mahendra Ramsinghani
ISBN: 1118752198
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
The definitive guide to demystifying the venture capital business The Business of Venture Capital, Second Edition covers the entire spectrum of this field, from raising funds and structuring investments to assessing exit pathways. Written by a practitioner for practitioners, the book provides the necessary breadth and depth, simplifies the jargon, and balances the analytical logic with experiential wisdom. Starting with a Foreword by Mark Heesen, President, National Venture Capital Association (NVCA), this important guide includes insights and perspectives from leading experts. Covers the process of raising the venture fund, including identifying and assessing the Limited Partner universe; fund due-diligence criteria; and fund investment terms in Part One Discusses the investment process, including sourcing investment opportunities; conducting due diligence and negotiating investment terms; adding value as a board member; and exploring exit pathways in Part Two Offers insights, anecdotes, and wisdom from the experiences of best-in-class practitioners Includes interviews conducted by Leading Limited Partners/Fund-of-Funds with Credit Suisse, Top Tier Capital Partners, Grove Street Advisors, Rho Capital, Pension Fund Managers, and Family Office Managers Features the insights of over twenty-five leading venture capital practitioners, frequently featured on Forbes′ Midas List of top venture capitalists Those aspiring to raise a fund, pursue a career in venture capital, or simply understand the art of investing can benefit from The Business of Venture Capital, Second Edition . The companion website offers various tools such as GP Fund Due Diligence Checklist, Investment Due Diligence Checklist, and more, as well as external links to industry white papers and other industry guidelines.

Cover Art
The Little Book of Venture Capital Investing - Louis C. Gerken; Wesley A. Whittaker (As told to)
ISBN: 1118551982
Publication Date: 2014-01-13
A little book full of enormous value for novices and seasoned venture capitalists alike After having been thrown for a loop by the bursting of the tech bubble more than a decade ago, the venture capital industry suddenly has come roaring back to life over the past two years. In 2011 alone, more than $7.5 billion in venture capital was invested--representing more than a 19% increase over the previous year--in more than 966 companies. A majority of these companies reside in the life sciences, Internet, and alternative energy sectors. In today's weak job market, VC is more important than ever, since financing new tech, alternative energy, media, and other small to mid-sized companies is vital to creating new jobs. Written by Lou Gerken, a noted international authority on venture capital and alternative investments, this book tells you everything you need to know about the venture capital industry's important role in enhancing economic growth and employment. It is also the perfect go to primer on making venture capital investments to enhance portfolio returns. Highly accessible explanations of the ins and outs of venture capital for would-be investors and experienced VCs Highlights the historical VC track record, and offers expert advice and guidance on venture capital exposure, investment options, sourcing opportunities and due diligence Provides proven strategies for successful investment selection, timing, monitoring, and exiting for optimum returns Features endorsements from luminaries of the VC world, including Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers co-founder Frank Caulfield, and Dr. Art Laffer, among others

Cover Art
Perspectives on Finance and Innovation - James E. Daily (Editor); F. Scott Kieff (Editor); Arthur E. Wilmarth (Editor)
ISBN: 1138017957
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
Although much has been written about innovation in the past several years, not all parts of the innovation lifecycle have been given the same treatment. This volume focuses on the important first step of arranging financing for innovation before it is made, and explores the feedback effect that innovation can have on finance itself. The book brings together a diverse group of leading scholars in order to address the financing of innovation. The chapters address three key areas, intellectual property, venture capital, and financial engineering in the capital markets, in order to provide fresh and insightful analyses of current and future economic developments in financing innovation. Chapters on intellectual property cover topics including innovation in law-making, orphan business models, and the use of intellectual property to protect financial engineering innovations and developing intellectual property regimes in Brazil, Russia, India, and China. The book also covers the tax treatment of venture capital founders, the treatment of preferred stock by the Delaware Courts, asset-backed lending hedge funds, and corporate governance for small businesses after the Dodd-Frank financial reform bill. The book will be of interest to scholars, practitioners, and students in law, innovation, finance, and business.

Cover Art
The Entrepreneurial Bible to Venture Capital - Andrew Romans
Call Number: HG4751 .R66 2013
ISBN: 0071830359
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
40 leading venture capitalists come together to teach entrepreneurs how to succeed with their startup The Entrepreneurial Bible to Venture Capital is packed with invaluable advice about how to raise angel and venture capital funding, how to build value in a startup, and how to exit a company with maximum value for both founders and investors. It guides entrepreneurs through every step in an entrepreneurial venture from the legalities of raising initial capital to knowing when to change tactics. Andrew Romans is the co-founder and general partner of Rubicon Venture Capital, a venture capital fund that invests in privately held technology companies and enables its investors to co-invest along side the fund on a deal-by-deal basis via innovative sidecar funds right up to IPO or M&A exit. Romans is also the founder and general partner of The Founders Club, a venture capital equity exchange fund and investor in later stage liquidity transactions.

Cover Art
Introduction to Private Equity - Cyril Demaria
ISBN: 1118571924
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
This second edition of Introduction to Private Equity is more than an update, it reflects the dramatic changes which have affected an industry which is evolving rapidly, internationalizing and maturing fast. What is recognized as a critical yet grounded guide to the private equity industry blends academic rigour with practical experience. It provides a clear, synthetic and critical perspective of the industry from a professional who has worked at many levels within the industry; including insurance, funds of funds, funds and portfolio companies. The book approaches the private equity sector top-down, to provide a sense of its evolution and how the current situation has been built. It then details the interrelations between investors, funds, fund managers and entrepreneurs. At this point, the perspective shifts to bottom-up, how a private business is valued, how transactions are processed and the due diligence issues to consider before moving ahead. Introduction to Private Equity, Second Edition covers the private equity industry as a whole, putting its recent developments (such as secondary markets, crowdfunding, venture capital in emerging markets) into perspective. The book covers its organization, governance and function, then details the various segments within the industry, including Leveraged Buy-Outs, Venture Capital, Mezzanine Financing, Growth Capital, Distressed Debt, Turn-Around Capital, Funds of Funds and beyond. Finally, it offers a framework to anticipate and understand its future developments. This book provides a balanced perspective on the corporate governance challenges affecting the industry and draws perspectives on the evolution of the sector, following a major crisis.

Cover Art
Raising Entrepreneurial Capital - John B. Vinturella; Suzanne M. Erickson
ISBN: 0124016669
Publication Date: 2013-01-18
Raising Entrepreneurial Capital guides the reader through the stages of successfully financing a business. The book proceeds from a basic level of business knowledge, assuming that the reader understands simple financial statements, has selected a specific business, and knows how to write a business plan. It provides a broad summary of the subjects that people typically research, such as "How should your company position itself to attract private equity investment?" and "What steps can you take to improve your company's marketability?" Much has changed since the book was first published, and this second edition places effects of the global recession in the context of entrepreneurship, including the debt vs. equity decision, the options available to smaller businesses, and the considerations that lead to rapid growth, including venture capital, IPOs, angels, and incubators. Unlike other books of the genre, Raising Entrepreneurial Capital includes several chapters on worldwide variations in forms and availability of pre-seed capital, incubators, and the business plans they create, with case studies from Europe, Latin America, and the Pacific Rim. Combines solid theory with a practitioner's experience and insights Case studies illustrate theory throughout the book Updated to reflect the realities of the global economic recession

Cover Art
Venture Capital for Dummies - Consumer Dummies Staff; Peter K. Adams; Nicole Gravagna
ISBN: 1118642236
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
Secure venture capital? Easy. Getting a business up and running or pushing a brilliant product to the marketplace requires capital. For many entrepreneurs, a lack of start-up capital can be the single biggest roadblock to their dreams of success and fortune. Venture Capital For Dummies takes entrepreneurs step by step through the process of finding and securing venture capital for their own projects. Find and secure venture capital for your business Get your business up and running Push a product to the marketplace If you're an entrepreneur looking for hands-on guidance on how to secure capital for your business, the information in Venture Capital For Dummies gives you the edge you need to succeed.

Cover Art
The Future of Private Equity - Mark Bishop
ISBN: 0230354939
Publication Date: 2012-11-13
The private equity industry is at a cross-roads. In the easy money years between 2004 and 2008, it was awash with investment, debt was easily obtained and some rash, over-leveraged deals were done by the so-called "mega buyout" funds. Today, fund managers are dealing with the legacy of that era, while also figuring out how best to secure new investment and make attractive returns in the age of deleveraging. Many firms are succeeding, sometimes spectacularly, in both developed and emerging markets. Some have developed innovative new business models, while others have reinvented the old. This book contains exclusive interviews with the leaders of many of the world's most successful and innovative funds. These include: Steve Klinsky and Ajit Nedungadi of US growth investors New Mountain Capital and TA Associates; Jon Moulton and Wol Kolade of the British turnaround and growth specialists Better Capital and ISIS Equity Partners; Niten Malhan of Warburg Pincus' Indian operation; Derek Sulger, an Anglo-American who transitioned from setting up telecoms businesses in China to founding Lunar Capital, which backs indigenous entrepreneurs; pan-emerging market specialist Actis and innovative investors in Africa and the Middle East such as Citadel Capital's Hisham El-Khazindar and Abraaj's Mustafa Abdel-Wadood. These in-depth interviews tease out issues such as how private equity managers can best create enterprise value and out-perform public markets without returning to pre-crisis levels of leverage, techniques for differentiating a firm's capital, the sustainability of private equity in emerging markets, the role of the industry in low-income countries and alternatives to the established limited partnership governance model. The Future of Private Equity: Beyond the Mega Buyout is essential reading for anyone working in or with the private equity industry, anywhere in the world.

Cover Art
Hungry Start-Up Strategy - Peter S. Cohan
ISBN: 160994528X
Publication Date: 2012-11-05
After years of working with startups Peter Cohan discovered that, contrary to the conventional wisdom entrepreneurs start companies to feed their hunger to create the world they want to live in - not to maximize shareholder value or create a fortune for financiers. Based on first-hand work and research with hundreds of start-ups, Peter Cohan has created a strategy handbook to allow entrepreneurs to start small and finish big. He emphasizes that strategy for start-ups is always short-term strategy often with a six-month window or less. By keeping focus on the short-term, entrepreneurs can keep their visions and their companies under their own control. The game is to postpone any need for outside finance for as long as possible. Most existing strategy guides are geared to larger companies and are of limited use to small startups. Cohan's strategic model focuses on six decision points where the strategy for small companies is radically different than that for large compenies: 1. Setting Goals, 2. Picking Markets, 3. Raising Capital, 4. Building Teams, 5. Gaining Market Share, and 6, Adapting to Change.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip