This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Valuation (Company)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Valuation (Company)   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazvaluation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

Databases

 

Books

Cover Art
The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis - Nicolas Schmidlin
ISBN: 1118843096
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis: A value investor's guide with real-life case studies covers all quantitative and qualitative approaches needed to evaluate the past and forecast the future performance of a company in a practical manner.nbsp; Is a given stock over or undervalued? How can the future prospects of a company be evaluated? How can complex valuation methods be applied in practice? The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis answers each of these questions and conveys the principles of company valuation in an accessible and applicable way. Valuation theory is linked to the practice of investing through financial statement analysis and interpretation, analysis of business models, company valuation, stock analysis, portfolio management and value Investing. The book's unique approach is to illustrate each valuation method with a case study of actual company performance.nbsp; More than 100 real case studies are included, supplementing the sound theoretical framework and offering potential investors a methodology that can easily be applied in practice. Written for asset managers, investment professionals and private investors who require a reliable, current and comprehensive guide to company valuation, the book aims to encourage readers to think like an entrepreneur, rather than a speculator, when it comes to investing in the stock markets. It is an approach that has led many to long term success and consistent returns that regularly outperform more opportunistic approaches to investment.

Cover Art
Deep Value - Tobias E. Carlisle
ISBN: 1118747968
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
The economic climate is ripe for another golden age of shareholder activism Deep Value: Why Activist Investors and Other Contrarians Battle for Control of Losing Corporations is a must-read exploration of deep value investment strategy, describing the evolution of the theories of valuation and shareholder activism from Graham to Icahn and beyond. The book combines engaging anecdotes with industry research to illustrate the principles and methods of this complex strategy, and explains the reasoning behind seemingly incomprehensible activist maneuvers. Written by an active value investor, Deep Value provides an insider′s perspective on shareholder activist strategies in a format accessible to both professional investors and laypeople. The Deep Value investment philosophy as described by Graham initially identified targets by their discount to liquidation value. This approach was extremely effective, but those opportunities are few and far between in the modern market, forcing activists to adapt. Current activists assess value from a much broader palate, and exploit a much wider range of tools to achieve their goals. Deep Value enumerates and expands upon the resources and strategies available to value investors today, and describes how the economic climate is allowing value investing to re-emerge. Topics include: Target identification, and determining the most advantageous ends Strategies and tactics of effective activism Unseating management and fomenting change Eyeing conditions for the next M&A boom Activist hedge funds have been quiet since the early 2000s, but economic conditions, shareholder sentiment, and available opportunities are creating a fertile environment for another golden age of activism. Deep Value: Why Activist Investors and Other Contrarians Battle for Control of Losing Corporations  provides the in-depth information investors need to get up to speed before getting left behind.

Cover Art
How to Measure Anything - Douglas W. Hubbard
ISBN: 1118539273
Publication Date: 2014-03-17
Now updated with new measurement methods and new examples, How to Measure Anything shows managers how to inform themselves in order to make less risky, more profitable business decisions This insightful and eloquent book will show you how to measure those things in your own business, government agency or other organization that, until now, you may have considered "immeasurable," including customer satisfaction, organizational flexibility, technology risk, and technology ROI. Adds new measurement methods, showing how they can be applied to a variety of areas such as risk management and customer satisfaction Simplifies overall content while still making the more technical applications available to those readers who want to dig deeper Continues to boldly assert that any perception of "immeasurability" is based on certain popular misconceptions about measurement and measurement methods Shows the common reasoning for calling something immeasurable, and sets out to correct those ideas Offers practical methods for measuring a variety of "intangibles" Provides an online database (www.howtomeasureanything.com) of downloadable, practical examples worked out in detailed spreadsheets Written by recognized expert Douglas Hubbard--creator of Applied Information Economics--How to Measure Anything, Third Edition illustrates how the author has used his approach across various industries and how any problem, no matter how difficult, ill defined, or uncertain can lend itself to measurement using proven methods.

Cover Art
Private Firm Valuation and M and A - Kerstin Dodel
ISBN: 1119978785
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
A comprehensive guide to the changing face of valuation in private firm M&A transactions Based on the author's extensive professional experience as well as her rigorous academic research, this book describes a more sensible approach to using discounts in private company valuations and provides readers with a deeper appreciation for the need to weigh a much broader range of influences on value in the M&A process. Does the idiosyncrasy of family-owned business influence transaction multiples? What of regional market differences and differing market environments over time? How do you estimate the influence of the subprime on the transaction process? With the help of fascinating case studies drawn from an eclectic array of M&A transactions, including a beauty contest, author Kerstin Dodel answers those and other central questions about the M&A process. Among other things, she vividly demonstrates that the ultimate price paid in such a transaction reflects not only a target company's unique characteristics, but the varying motivations and expectations of each of the participants within the context of a competitive M&A process. Dodel has an extensive background in the profession and her research draws upon rigorous scholarship and her years of working at Credit Suisse First Boston, Deutsche Bank, and other leading global financial institutions Emphasis is given to the post credit crunch environment, and responding to regulators' increasing rejection of over-simplified procedures for firm valuation

Cover Art
Corporate Valuation - Robert Holthausen; Mark Zmijewski
Call Number: HG4028.V3 H6 2014
ISBN: 9781618530363
Publication Date: 2013-05-20
The book consists of six parts. Part I (Chapters 1 through 4) presents an overview of valuation issues and topics, how valuation is used in practice, and discusses the basic tools needed to value a company. These tools include analyzing financial statements, measuring performance, understanding and measuring cash flows, and creating a financial model. Part II (Chapters 5 through 7) discusses the discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation model, including the residual income valuation model. This part of the book rigorously demonstrates the equivalence of the alternative forms of the DCF valuation model and when each of the forms is more appropriate to use. Part III (Chapters 8 through 11) discusses how to measure the various costs of capital used in the different valuation frameworks. Part IV (Chapter 12) discusses how to value and measure the cost of capital for warrants, options, and other equity-linked securities. Part V (Chapters 13 and 14) discusses the conceptual framework and practical application of the market multiple valuation method. Finally, Part VI (Chapters 15 through 17) applies and extends these valuation frameworks to specific settings such as highly leveraged transactions, mergers and acquisitions, and cross-border valuations. (description from amazon.com)

Cover Art
Integrated Bank Analysis and Valuation - Sandy Chen
Call Number: HG1707.7 C44 2014
ISBN: 1137307455
Publication Date: 2013-12-19
The financial crisis that began in 2007 exposed many flaws in modern financial practice and highlighted much need for change. Key among those needs is a way of understanding how and why banks fail or succeed. Integrated Bank Analysis and Valuation provides readers with a practical guide to the ROIC for Banks methodology - one of the few ways of both understanding what makes a bank tick and getting a fundamentally robust indication as to how much a bank is worth. It provides all the necessary tools for use in the real environment of investment banking to analyse banks results, evaluate strategic options and assess regulatory changes – with an eye towards whether a bank is creating or destroying value. Up-to-date case studies of ten of the world's largest banks show how integrated ROIC analysis and valuation works in practice, and the accompanying website features ROIC spreadsheets for each of these banks, so that each step of analysis and valuation can be explored in detail. Written by a leading banks analyst, Integrated Bank Analysis and Valuation: A Practical Guide to the ROIC Methodology translates the complexity of banks into a simpler, clearer language – that can be applied by analysts, regulators and students in practice.

Cover Art
Valuation: the Market Approach - S. Bernstrom
ISBN: 1118903927
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
The market approach aims to establish the value of a company based on how similar firms are priced on the stock exchange or through company transactions. Using the market approach, price-related indicators such as price to earnings, sales and book values are utilised. An ever-present problem however, is that different valuation multiples and valuation methodologies tend to provide the analyst with contradictory outputs. The solution to this problem so far has been to claim that the market approach is more art than science, thus providing the analyst with the freedom to alter the multiples at their own discretion to reach a uniform value or range. Valuation: The Market Approach puts an end to this problem, providing the reader with a rational scientific-based understanding and the necessary tools to perform a sound market approach valuation, or if reviewing such valuations, provide the tools to challenge the work of the arts-based senior experts. The book begins with an in-depth review of the basics; which is then applied in a detailed worked example. Step-by-step, the reader's expertise is built towards a complete understanding and implementation of the market approach, not only on a standalone basis but also in relation to the DCF methodology. The book is aimed at the seasoned professional, but will also be invaluable to students as they apply their academic knowledge to the real world of valuation and M&A. About the author: SETH BERNSTROM is a Director at the Valuations practice of PwC. He has 15 years of experience as a valuation expert with a special focus on private equity, with long-running engagements in Valuation for some of the leading Nordic private equity houses. Additionally, he provides valuation support and valuation-related advisory services to large and medium-sized Nordic and (Nordic-based) global companies. In addition to his regular work at PwC, he also acts as Visiting Lecturer on valuation at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm. Furthermore, he often gives lectures and seminars on valuation at other leading Nordic universities, investment banks, companies, and organizations. He holds a Master of Science in Business Administration and Economics from the Stockholm University School of Business.  

Cover Art
Energy Finance - Betty Simkins; Russell Simkins
ISBN: 1118017129
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
Thought leaders and experts offer the most current information and insights into energy finance Energy Finance offers the most up-to-date information and compelling insights into the finance and economics of energy. With contributions from today's thought leaders who are experts in various areas of energy finance and economics, the book provides an overview of the energy industry and addresses issues concerning energy finance and economics. The book focuses on a range of topics including corporate finance relevant to the oil and gas industry as well as addressing issues of unconventional, renewable, and alternative energy. A timely compendium of information and insights centering on topics related to energy finance Written by Betty and Russell Simkins, two experts on the topic of the economics of energy Covers special issues related to energy finance such as hybrid cars, energy hedging, and other timely topics In one handy resource, the editors have collected the best-thinking on energy finance.

Cover Art
Financial Modeling and Valuation - Paul Pignataro
ISBN: 1118558766
Publication Date: 2013-07-10
Written by the Founder and CEO of the prestigious New York School of Finance, this book schools you in the fundamental tools for accurately assessing the soundness of a stock investment. Built around a full-length case study of Wal-Mart, it shows you how to perform an in-depth analysis of that company's financial standing, walking you through all the steps of developing a sophisticated financial model as done by professional Wall Street analysts. You will construct a full scale financial model and valuation step-by-step as you page through the book. When we ran this analysis in January of 2012, we estimated the stock was undervalued. Since the first run of the analysis, the stock has increased 35 percent.  Re-evaluating Wal-Mart 9months later, we will step through the techniques utilized by Wall Street analysts to build models on and properly value business entities. Step-by-step financial modeling - taught using downloadable Wall Street models, you will construct the model step by step as you page through the book. Hot keys and explicit Excel instructions aid even the novice excel modeler. Model built complete with Income Statement, Cash Flow Statement, Balance Sheet, Balance Sheet Balancing Techniques, Depreciation Schedule (complete with accelerating depreciation and deferring taxes), working capital schedule, debt schedule, handling circular references, and automatic debt pay downs. Illustrative concepts including detailing model flows help aid in conceptual understanding. Concepts are reiterated and honed, perfect for a novice yet detailed enough for a professional. Model built direct from Wal-Mart public filings, searching through notes, performing research, and illustrating techniques to formulate projections. Includes in-depth coverage of valuation techniques commonly used by Wall Street professionals. Illustrative comparable company analyses - built the right way, direct from historical financials, calculating LTM (Last Twelve Month) data, calendarization, and properly smoothing EBITDA and Net Income. Precedent transactions analysis - detailing how to extract proper metrics from relevant proxy statements Discounted cash flow analysis - simplifying and illustrating how a DCF is utilized, how unlevered free cash flow is derived, and the meaning of weighted average cost of capital (WACC) Step-by-step we will come up with a valuation on Wal-Mart Chapter end questions, practice models, additional case studies and common interview questions (found in the companion website) help solidify the techniques honed in the book; ideal for universities or business students looking to break into the investment banking field.

Cover Art
The Economics of Business Valuation - Patrick Anderson
Call Number: HG4028.V3 A56 2012
ISBN: 0804758301
Publication Date: 2013-04-10
For decades, the market, asset, and income approaches to business valuation have taken center stage in the assessment of the firm. This book brings to light an expanded valuation toolkit, consisting of nine well-defined valuation principles hailing from the fields of economics, finance, accounting, taxation, and management. It ultimately argues that the "value functional" approach to business valuation avoids most of the shortcomings of its competitors, and more correctly matches the actual motivations and information set held by stakeholders. Much of what we know about corporate finance and mathematical finance derives from a narrow subset of firms: publicly traded corporations. The value functional approach can be readily applied to both large firms and companies that do not issue publicly traded stocks and bonds, cannot borrow without constraints, and often rely upon entrepreneurs to both finance and manage their operations. With historical side notes from an international set of sources and real-world exemplars that run throughout the text, this book is a future-facing resource for scholars in economics and finance, as well as the academically minded valuation practitioner.

Cover Art
Mathematics of the Financial Markets - Alain Ruttiens
ISBN: 1118513452
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
The book aims to prioritise what needs mastering and presents the content in the most understandable, concise and pedagogical way illustrated by real market examples. Given the variety and the complexity of the materials the book covers, the author sorts through a vast array of topics in a subjective way, relying upon more than twenty years of experience as a market practitioner. The book only requires the reader to be knowledgeable in the basics of algebra and statistics. The Mathematical formulae are only fully proven when the proof brings some useful insight. These formulae are translated from algebra into plain English to aid understanding as the vast majority of practitioners involved in the financial markets are not required to compute or calculate prices or sensitivities themselves as they have access to data providers. Thus, the intention of this book is for the practitioner to gain a deeper understanding of these calculations, both for a safety reason - it is better to understand what is behind the data we manipulate - and secondly being able to appreciate the magnitude of the prices we are confronted with and being able to draft a rough calculation, aside of the market data. The author has avoided excessive formalism where possible. Formalism is securing the outputs of research, but may, in other circumstances, burden the understanding by non-mathematicians; an example of this case is in the chapter dedicated to the basis of stochastic calculus. The book is divided into two parts: First, the deterministic world, starting from the yield curve building and related calculations (spot rates, forward rates, discrete versus continuous compounding, etc.), and continuing with spot instruments valuation (short term rates, bonds, currencies and stocks) and forward instruments valuation (forward forex, FRAs and variants, swaps & futures); Second, the probabilistic world, starting with the basis of stochastic calculus and the alternative approach of ARMA to GARCH, and continuing with derivative pricing: options, second generation options, volatility, credit derivatives; This second part is completed by a chapter dedicated to market performance & risk measures, and a chapter widening the scope of quantitative models beyond the Gaussian hypothesis and evidencing the potential troubles linked to derivative pricing models.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip