This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Stocks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Stocks   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazstocks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Stock Exchanges

Other Internet Resources

  • Financial Visualizations
    Links to financial research, news, analysis and blogs.
  • U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
    An Education section, as well as information on regulations and enforcement...
  • Stock and Commodity Exchanges
    An amazing guide and a great place for links to national and regional markets, indices, reports, regulatory agencies and more.
  • ZACKS
    An investment research company. Site includes market overviews, equity research, stock screener tools and more...
  • MSN Money
    Investing section includes portfolio manager and stock scouter tools, stock-related news, top stock picks and more.
  • GOLDSHEET
    Directory of resources if you're attempting to research the value of an obsolete stock certificate.
  • BigCharts
    Includes both current and historical price quotes for equities as well as news and market/industry information. From MarketWatch.

Databases

Journals

 

Books

Cover Art
The Playbook - Mike Bellafiore
ISBN: 0132937646
Publication Date: 2013-07-09
Want to become a truly great trader - either for yourself or for a proprietary trading firm? This book will help you get there. This unique approach is the closest thing to signing up for a "trader boot camp" yourself! You'll learn by watching new traders walk through actual trades, explain what they've tried to do, and try to survive brutally tough expert critiques. One trade at a time, The Playbook reveals how professional traders must think in order to succeed "under fire," how they assess their own performance, and how they work relentlessly to improve. Using concrete, actionable setups drawn from his extensive trading and training experience, Bellafiore walks through an extraordinary array of trades, showing readers how to maximize profits and avoid disastrous hidden pitfalls. He covers support plays, bull-and-bear flags, opening drives, important intraday levels, bounce and fade trades, pullbacks, scalps, technical opportunities, consolidation, relative strength, market trades, and more. He also presents indispensable insights on psychology and trader development, based on his work with hundreds of traders on a major commodity exchange and an elite prop firm's trading desk. Packed with color, personality, and realism, this is an exciting guide to real-world trading.

Cover Art
Applied Equity Analysis and Portfolio Management - Robert A. Weigand
ISBN: 1118630912
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
A "hands-on" guide to applied equity analysis and portfolio management From asset allocation to modeling the intrinsic value of a stock, Applied Equity Analysis and Portfolio Management + Online Video Course offers readers a solid foundation in the practice of fundamental analysis using the same tools and techniques as professional investors. Filled with real-world illustrations and hands-on applications, Professor Weigand's learning system takes a rigorous, empirical approach to topics such as analyzing the macro-finance environment, sector rotation, financial analysis and valuation, assessing a company's competitive position, and reporting the performance of a stock portfolio. Unlike typical books on this subject--which feature chapters to read and exercises to complete--this resource allows readers to actively participate in the learning experience by completing writing exercises and manipulating interactive spreadsheets that illustrate the principles being taught. The learning system also features instructional videos that demonstrate how to use the spreadsheet models and excerpts from the author's blog, which are used to depict additional examples of the analysis process. Along the way, it skillfully outlines an effective approach to creating and interpreting outputs typically associated with a top-down money management shop -- including a macroeconomic forecasting newsletter, detailed stock research reports, and a portfolio performance attribution analysis. Covers topics including active and passive money management, fundamental analysis and portfolio attribution analysis Companion streaming videos show how to use free online data to create yourown analyses of key economic indicators, individual stocks, and stock portfolios A valuable resource for universities who have applied equity analysis and portfolio management courses Practical and up-to-date, the book is an excellent resource for those with a need for practical investment expertise.

Cover Art
Why Moats Matter - Heather Brilliant; Elizabeth Collins
ISBN: 1118760239
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
Incorporate economic moat analysis for profitable investing Why Moats Matter is a comprehensive guide to finding great companies with economic moats, or competitive advantages. This book explains the investment approach used by Morningstar, Inc., and includes a free trial to Morningstar's Research. Economic moats?or sustainable competitive advantages?protect companies from competitors. Legendary investor Warren Buffett devised the economic moat concept. Morningstar has made it the foundation of a successful stock-investing philosophy. Morningstar views investing in the most fundamental sense: For Morningstar, investing is about holding shares in great businesses for long periods of time. How can investors tell a great business from a poor one? A great business can fend off competition and earn high returns on capital for many years to come. The key to finding these great companies is identifying economic moats that stem from at least one of five sources of competitive advantage?cost advantage, intangible assets, switching costs, efficient scale, and network effect. Each source is explored in depth throughout this book. Even better than finding a great business is finding one at a great price. The stock market affords virtually unlimited opportunities to track prices and buy or sell securities at any hour of the day or night. But looking past that noise and understanding the value of a business's underlying cash flows is the key to successful long-term investing. When investors focus on a company's fundamental value relative to its stock price, and not where the stock price sits today versus a month ago, a day ago, or five minutes ago, investors start to think like owners, not traders. And thinking like an owner will makes readers better investors. The book provides a fundamental framework for successful long-term investing. The book helps investors answer two key questions: How can investors identify a great business, and when should investors buy that business to maximize return? Using fundamental moat and valuation analysis has led to superior risk-adjusted returns and made Morningstar analysts some of the industry's top stock-pickers. In this book, Morningstar shares the ins and outs of its moat-driven investment philosophy, which readers can use to identify great stock picks for their own portfolios.

Cover Art
Chronicles of a Million Dollar Trader - Don Miller
ISBN: 111862789X
Publication Date: 2013-06-24
In December 2007, after numerous starts, failures, restarts, and distractions, Don Miller set out to accomplish what few in the trading industry ever have--earn $1 million in a year. Far more than a book solely about trading, Miller's first book will take his insights to the financial markets, coupled with his trading experiences, and show traders what to do and how to do it to become successful. Consistent with his ongoing mission to increase the transparency in an industry that is too often clouded by smoke and mirrors, Miller chronicles the good, the bad, and the ugly of the world of trading in painstaking detail. Like Reminiscences of a Stock Operator, this book will discuss the journey of one of the industry's top traders, showcasing trading strategies that have made him more than 800% returns on his investments.

Cover Art
How to Make Money in Stocks Getting Started - Matthew Galgani; William O'Neil
ISBN: 0071810110
Publication Date: 2013-06-11
The #1 GROWTH STRATEGY for stock investing “To be a successful investor, start with the basics and stick to the rules. Matt’s book shows you how to do that. It may be the missing link you’ve been looking for.” —William J. O’Neil, Investor’s Business Daily Founder and Chairman “Getting Started takes the guesswork out of investing. Anyone can use these routines and checklists to become a successful investor.” —Amy Smith, How to Make Money in Stocks—Success Stories Through both bull and bear markets, Investor’s Business Daily’s CAN SLIM® Investment System has consistently been the #1 growth strategy, according to the American Association of Individual Investors. How to Make Money in Stocks—Getting Started shows you how to put the CAN SLIM System to work for you. Using an easy-to-follow game plan designed for busy people, you’ll discover: 2 simple rules to protect your money 3 critical factors to consider before you buy Buying & Selling Checklists to help you capture – and keep – solid gains Easy-to-follow routines How to spot—and deal with—major changes in market direction Action Steps and online videos to quickly start using what you learn Getting Started is the latest addition to the bestselling How to Make Money in Stocks series launched by CAN SLIM creator and Investor’s Business Daily founder William J. O’Neil. Millions of investors have used O’Neil’s strategy to build financial peace of mind. Now it’s your turn! So whether you’re new to the stock market and a little nervous about jumping in—or if you’ve been investing for awhile, but aren’t yet achieving the kind of results you want—How to Make Money in Stocks—Getting Started gives you a clear, step-by-step path to investing success.

Cover Art
The Big Trade - Peter Pham
ISBN: 111849895X
Publication Date: 2013-02-12
A powerful, profitable, and elegantly simple system for traders Markets can be extraordinarily complex, and unfortunately most trading systems are too. The Big Trade presents a new system that helps filter out the noise. It leaves behind only meaningful signals you need to listen to in order to make profitable trades. Employing simple math and charts, it codifies the past behavior of traders in your favourite stock to assist you to recognize high probability trading patterns. Peter Pham's system breaks with traditional analytical tools and rejects the theory of predictability. Instead, it lets traders understand both how markets are structured and how they behave. The result is a simple action plan that is as effective and applicable for day traders as it is for generational investors. Blending his personal story and analytical techniques, The Big Trade guides traders of all experience level to find the probability that a stock price will rise or fall in a particular time period. The Big Trade: Gives traders a powerful, yet simple trading methodology Was written by a trader with twelve years of both buy and sell side experience in global equities trading Is appropriate for most styles of trading, including institutional investing and day trading For traders who want a universal approach that works for any market at any time, The Big Trade offers a new and effective methodology for successful trading without gimmicks or magic formulas.

Cover Art
The Economics of the Global Stock Exchange Industry - Josanco Floreani; Maurizio Polato
Call Number: HG4551 .F526 2014
ISBN: 1137321822
Publication Date: 2013-11-14
Securities exchanges play a significant role in macroeconomics. They engage in the allocation process, which assures that savings are allocated to the most profitable investment opportunities. But what are the forces driving the supply side, namely, the services offered by exchanges? It is not just a matter of market microstructure and the rules governing the price discovery. Rather, it embraces a much wider perspective involving the balance of interests of multiple stakeholders, the competitive strategies of exchanges and other platform operators and the impact of regulation. This book provides an economic analysis of the stock exchange industry. It draws on theories from micro- and industrial economics to provide a detailed analysis of the industry structure, the strategic behaviour of key participants and a methodological framework for assessing the performance of stock exchanges. It provides an overview of the factors driving the consolidation of the industry, and examines the implications of ongoing changes in the regulatory environment. It investigates the functioning of securities exchanges and other trading platforms as firms, assuming an industrial organization perspective and focusing on the competitive behaviour of exchanges, regulation and governance arrangements and their impact on the structure of the industry.

Cover Art
Handbook of Research on IPOs - Mario Levis (Editor); Silvio Vismara (Editor)
ISBN: 1781955360
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Handbook of Research on IPOs provides a comprehensive review of the emerging trends and directions in the global initial public offerings (IPO) markets. The empirical evidence included in the book covers Europe, the US and the Far East, and presents a truly global perspective of IPO markets around the world and at the different stages of the entire IPO process. The Handbook is divided into six comprehensive parts: ¥ why, when and where firms go public ¥ preparation for the IPO ¥ transaction structure and governance at the IPO ¥ trading in the aftermarket ¥ the aftermarket performance of IPOs ¥ special types of IPOs. The chapters offer some important new insights into issues that will be of interest not only to the academic community but also to professionals involved in the preparation, structure and execution of such transactions, market regulators, and private and institutional investors.

Cover Art
Stocks for the Long Run - Jeremy J. Siegel
ISBN: 0071800514
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
The stock-investing classic--UPDATED TO HELP YOU WIN IN TODAY'S CHAOTIC GLOBAL ECONOMY Much has changed since the last edition of Stocks for the Long Run. The financial crisis, the deepest bear market since the Great Depression, and the continued growth of the emerging markets are just some of the contingencies directly affecting every portfolio in the world. To help you navigate markets and make the best investment decisions, Jeremy Siegel has updated his bestselling guide to stock market investing. This new edition of Stocks for the Long Run answers all the important questions of today: How did the crisis alter the financial markets and the future of stock returns? What are the sources of long-term economic growth? How does the Fed really impact investing decisions?Should you hedge against currency instability? Stocks for the Long Run, Fifth Edition, includes brand-new coverage of: THE FINANCIAL CRISIS Siegel provides an expert’s analysis of the most important factors behind the crisis; the state of current stability/instability of the financial system and where the stock market fits in; and the viability of value investing as a long-term strategy. CHINA AND INDIA The economies of these nations are more than one-third larger than they were before the 2008 financial crisis; you'll get the information you need to earn long-term profits in this new environment. GLOBAL MARKETS Learn all there is to know about the nature, size, and role of diversification in today’s global economy; Siegel extends his projections of the global economy until the end of this century. MARKET VALUATION Can stocks still provide 6 to 7 percent per year after inflation? This edition forecasts future stock returns and shows how to determine whether the market is overvalued or not. Essential reading for every investor and advisor who wants to fully understand the forces that move today's markets, Stocks for the Long Run provides the most complete summary available of historical trends that will help you develop a sound and profitable long-term portfolio.

Cover Art
The Part-Time Trader - Ryan Mallory
ISBN: 1118650050
Publication Date: 2013-10-28
Practical advice and easy-to-follow guidelines for part-time stock traders Millions of people trade stocks in their spare time, supplementing their nine-to-five income with extra profits on the market. And while there are plenty of books on the market that cater to the needs of full-time traders, there are precious few that focus on the trading strategies that are best suited for part-time traders who must balance the demands of other responsibilities while successfully navigating a changing and dynamic stock market. This handy guide equips part-time traders with all the necessary tools for successful trading--including guidance on pre-market/pre-work studies and how to make profitable trades without interfering with one's day job. The Part-Time Trader focuses entirely on those trading strategies best suited for part-timers, making trading both simpler and more profitable. One of the few books on trading intended and designed specifically for part-time traders with other jobs or responsibilities Includes online access to the author's proprietary trading system that offers easy-to-follow guidelines for traders who can't spend all day watching the markets Written by the co-founder of SharePlanner Inc., a popular financial website devoted to day-trading, swing-trading (both long and short), and exchange-traded funds For part-time traders who can't dedicate all their time to watching the markets and reading charts, The Part-Time Trader offers straightforward, profitable trading advice.

Cover Art
Stock Investing for Dummies® - Paul Mladjenovic
ISBN: 1118376781
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
The fast and easy way to grow your stock investments in today's changing market The changes, events and conditions affecting stock investors since the recent economic crisis have been dramatic. Today's economic and financial landscape offers new challenges and opportunities for investors and money managers. This new edition of Stock Investing For Dummies provides you with the information you need to protect and grow your stock investments in today's changing market. Stock Investing For Dummies contains 25 percent new and revised material designed to help investors navigate an ever-changing stock market with: information on ETFs, a safer way to be more diversified in the stock market; new rules, exchanges, and investment vehicles; the latest on the European debt crisis; and much more. Explores how technological changes mean new products, services, and ways of doing business Shows you how to use the latest research and information available Covers how (and why) to protect yourself Stock Investing For Dummies is for anyone new to investing in the stock market who is looking for a trusted, comprehensive reference to make sure their investments grow.

Cover Art
Profitable Day and Swing Trading - Harry Boxer
ISBN: 1118714873
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
Harry Boxer′s proven techniques for short-term traders Written in easy-to-understand language, Profitable Day and Swing Trading + Website explains the trading tactics that draw on price, volume, and pattern recognition. Highly regarded trader Harry Boxer offers the information needed to recognize chart patterns, identify trades, and execute entries and exits that will maximize profits and limit losses. Boxer also reveals his concept of price-volume surges as the key to identifying the most lucrative trades. Throughout the book, Boxer describes his routine for preparing for each trading day, selecting stocks to monitor, and how he keeps track of prices and executes trades. Step by step, this indispensible resource provides the strategies for opening range gaps, the breakouts, and the techniques that have sustained Boxer during his storied Wall Street career. Most notably, he reveals how to trade rising channels following an opening gap or high-volume breakout. Boxer also shows how his strategies can be applied for both day trading and swing trading. Offers the winning strategies for day and swing traders Shows how to recognize the signs and patterns that will lead to successful trades Reveals how to spot a technical price "event" on high volume Written by acclaimed trader Harry Boxer who has more than 45 years of successful trading experience For anyone who wants to tap into acclaimed trader Harry Boxer′s winning tactics, this book has it all.

Cover Art
Stocks under Rocks - Peter F. Ricchiuti
ISBN: 0133399095
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
Find great stocks "in your own backyard": master do-it-yourself research techniques for uncovering today's best small-cap equity opportunities! Peter Ricchiuti reveals the secrets of Tulane University's Burkenroads Reports program, where he and 200+ business students work together to uncover less-followed, frequently misunderstood, and seemingly un-sexy companies that often produce superior investment returns. Their research on these "orphan stocks" powers The Burkenroad Mutual Fund, which has outperformed 99% of all stock funds over the past eleven years. You've seen them on CNBC, CNN, and the Nightly Business report... read about them in the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times. Now, Ricchiuti shows how they do it - and how some well-informed stock sleuthing can pay off big for you, too. You'll discover why "underfollowed" small-cap equities now offer exceptional investment opportunities, and how to leverage the surprising hidden advantages available to individual investors - including the ability to trade in stocks that don't generate the volume and liquidity institutional investors require. Fact is, there's very little innovative equity research on Wall Street anymore. That gives you a powerful advantage - and Ricchiuti gives you the principles and simple techniques you need to take advantage of it. Stocks Under Rocks will be the next classic for every personal investor who wants to find great investments and have fun doing it!

Cover Art
Understanding Stocks 2E - Michael Sincere
ISBN: 0071830332
Publication Date: 2014-01-06
THE NEW EDITION OF THE STOCK INVESTING CLASSIC--PACKED WITH STRATEGIES FOR TODAY'S MARKET REALITIES You don't have to be a financial expert to make great money in the stock market. You just need to know the basics of the market, when to invest, and how to avoid being an easy mark for more sophisticated investors. Understanding Stocks, Second Edition, contains all the key material that made the first edition so popular—plus critical new information you need to succeed in a highly transformed investing landscape. This go-to guide shows how to do everything from opening an account to making informed decisions when evaluating stocks and trading. Brand-new material covers: Short selling Commodities and bonds Fundamental and technical analysis Market indicators ETFs High-frequency trading Containing new interviews with successful traders who reveal all their secrets, Understanding Stocks puts you on the path to stock market success by showing how to keep from losing your money before it's been given a chance to truly work for you.

Cover Art
Algorithmic Trading - Ernie Chan
ISBN: 1118460146
Publication Date: 2013-05-28
Praise for Algorithmic Trading "Algorithmic Trading is an insightful book on quantitative trading written by a seasoned practitioner. What sets this book apart from many others in the space is the emphasis on real examples as opposed to just theory. Concepts are not only described, they are brought to life with actual trading strategies, which give the reader insight into how and why each strategy was developed, how it was implemented, and even how it was coded. This book is a valuable resource for anyone looking to create their own systematic trading strategies and those involved in manager selection, where the knowledge contained in this book will lead to a more informed and nuanced conversation with managers." -DAREN SMITH, CFA, CAIA, FSA, Managing Director, Manager Selection & Portfolio Construction, University of Toronto Asset Management "Using an excellent selection of mean reversion and momentum strategies, Ernie explains the rationale behind each one, shows how to test it, how to improve it, and discusses implementation issues. His book is a careful, detailed exposition of the scientific method applied to strategy development. For serious retail traders, I know of no other book that provides this range of examples and level of detail. His discussions of how regime changes affect strategies, and of risk management, are invaluable bonuses." -Roger Hunter, Mathematician and Algorithmic Trader

Cover Art
Charting Secrets - Louise Bedford
ISBN: 1118543181
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
A leading Australian trader shows you how to succeed on the sharemarket with proven charting techniques Now completely revised with the latest trading information, this revised edition of bestselling author Louise Bedford's Charting Secrets is the perfect guide for beginners and experienced traders and chartists alike. Unlike other books on trading, you'll find no get-rich-quick schemes here. Bedford believes that successful trading is a matter of study and hard work, just like any other job. With this in mind, Charting Secrets serves as a workbook that will have you practising what you read and mastering charting techniques as you go. The book begins with explanations of charting patterns and methods and includes sample charts for you to practise on, as well as step-by-step solutions that allow you to compare your results to hers. Features practical charting advice and sample charts that let readers learn techniques as they read Covers charting basics, as well as candlestick charting and system development, macro reversal and continuation patterns, trading psychology, and much more Written by a bestselling author known as one of Australia's most compelling speakers on trading Whether you're new to the trading game or an experienced trader looking to polish your charting techniques, Charting Secrets will show you how to turn potential into profit.

Cover Art
Get Started in Shares - Glen Arnold
ISBN: 0273771221
Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Investing can be fun as well as rewarding.  It could certainly earn you much more than you could gain by sticking your money in a bank account. It really does not require much to make money from the stock market - just an understanding of a few simple concepts and the following of a few rules.   Written by the UK’s most successful writer on investing, Get Started in Shares explains in very clear and simple terms what shares are, how they are traded and what to look out for as an owner of shares.    This is a straight-talking guide to the mysteries of investing that assumes no prior knowledge and will build up your understanding of investing in a series of easy steps.  

Cover Art
Shock Markets - Robert Webb; Alexander R. Webb
ISBN: 0132337959
Publication Date: 2013-03-29
Don't fear crises: use them as opportunities to make money! Shock Markets shows traders and investors exactly how to do it -- with exceptional detail, not vague handwaving. Robert Webb and Alexander Webb offer meticulous breakdowns of recent crises, revealing how they impacted both individual stocks and the market as a whole -- and helping you create detailed game plans for profiting from future shocks. By fusing real-life trading examples with rigorous moment-by-moment analysis of price changes, they give you tools to survive and thrive in even the most volatile markets. This accessible, actionable book answers crucial questions like: What moves stock prices? What moves the overall market? How can you profit from understanding catalysts that precipitate sudden sharp changes in stock prices? From the actions of corporate executives to regulatory decisions, earnings announcements to merger deals, lawsuits to settlements, macroeconomic reports to the policy actions of foreign governments, seemingly remote factors can have a huge, sudden impact on stocks in today's interconnected markets. Shock Markets illuminates these catalysts, and demonstrates their shifting behavior during fads, fashions, bubbles, crashes, and market crises. The focus is completely practical: helping savvy traders uncover profit where others find only peril.

Cover Art
Think Like the Great Investors - Colin Nicholson
ISBN: 1118587146
Publication Date: 2013-09-30
Achieve a new level of investing and trading success by defeating your worst enemy--yourself Successful trading relies on three vital skills: market analysis, money management, and decision-making. The first two are straightforward skills anyone can learn, but the third is much more difficult. Your ability to make the right decisions isn't based on hard facts, but psychological realities like your own temperament, your own biases, and the biases of other traders. In essence, you can only master the stock market when you master yourself first, and that starts with making the right decisions habitually. Think Like the Great Investors is organised into four distinct parts that show you how to understand your own temperament, the psychology of the market as a whole, your own biases and decision-making errors, and how to practically apply your understanding of these factors into your decision-making system. Written by highly respected investment teacher, speaker, and writer Colin Nicholson Ideal for both inexperienced traders who want to lower their risk as well as experienced traders who lack that one final piece in the trader's skillset For anyone looking for that final piece of the investing puzzle, the answer is right here. With Think Like the Great Investors, you'll leap beyond the final hurdle to super-successful investing . . . yourself.

Cover Art
Trading Beyond the Matrix - Van K. Tharp
ISBN: 1118525663
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
How to transform your trading results by transforming yourself In the unique arena of professional trading coaches and consultants, Van K. Tharp is an internationally recognized expert at helping others become the best traders they can be. In Trading Beyond the Matrix: The Red Pill for Traders and Investors, Tharp leads readers to dramatically improve their trading results and financial life by looking within. He takes the reader by the hand through the steps of self-transformation, from incorporating "Tharp Think"--ideas drawn from his modeling work with great traders--making changes in yourself so that you can adopt the beliefs and attitudes necessary to win when you stop making mistakes and avoid methods that don't work. You'll change your level of consciousness so that you can avoiding trading out of fear and greed and move toward higher levels such as acceptance or joy. A leading trader offers unique learning strategies for turning yourself into a great trader Goes beyond trading systems to help readers develop more effective trading psychology Trains the reader to overcome self-sabotage that obstructs trading success Presented through real transformations made by other traders Advocating an unconventional approach to evaluating trading systems and beliefs, trading expert Van K. Tharp has produced a powerful manual every trader can use to make the best trades and optimize their success.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip