This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Financial Statement Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Financial Statement Analysis   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazstatementanalysis Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

 

E-Books

Cover Art
The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis - Nicolas Schmidlin
ISBN: 1118843096
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis: A value investor's guide with real-life case studies covers all quantitative and qualitative approaches needed to evaluate the past and forecast the future performance of a company in a practical manner.nbsp; Is a given stock over or undervalued? How can the future prospects of a company be evaluated? How can complex valuation methods be applied in practice? The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis answers each of these questions and conveys the principles of company valuation in an accessible and applicable way. Valuation theory is linked to the practice of investing through financial statement analysis and interpretation, analysis of business models, company valuation, stock analysis, portfolio management and value Investing. The book's unique approach is to illustrate each valuation method with a case study of actual company performance.nbsp; More than 100 real case studies are included, supplementing the sound theoretical framework and offering potential investors a methodology that can easily be applied in practice. Written for asset managers, investment professionals and private investors who require a reliable, current and comprehensive guide to company valuation, the book aims to encourage readers to think like an entrepreneur, rather than a speculator, when it comes to investing in the stock markets. It is an approach that has led many to long term success and consistent returns that regularly outperform more opportunistic approaches to investment.

Cover Art
The Comprehensive Guide to How to Read a Financial Report - John A. Tracy; Tage C. Tracy
ISBN: 1118735714
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
A comprehensive guide to reading and understanding financial reports Financial reports provide vital information to investors, lenders, and managers. Yet, the financial statements in a financial report seem to be written in a foreign language that only accountants can understand. This comprehensive version of How to Read a Financial Report breaks through that language barrier, clears away the fog, and offers a plain-English user's guide to financial reports. The book features new information on the move toward separate financial and accounting reporting standards for private companies, the emergence of websites offering financial information, pending changes in the auditor's report language and what this means to investors, and requirements for XBRL tagging in reporting to the SEC, among other topics. Makes it easy to understand what financial reports really say Updated to include the latest information financial reporting standards and regulatory changes Written by an author team with a combined 50-plus years of experience in financial accounting This comprehensive edition includes an ancillary website containing valuable additional resources With this comprehensive version of How to Read a Financial Report, investors will find everything they need to fully understand the profit, cash flow, and financial condition of any business.

Cover Art
Reading Financial Reports for Dummies® - Lita Epstein
ISBN: 1118761936
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Discover how to decipher financial reports Especially relevant in today's world of corporate scandals and new accounting laws, the numbers in a financial report contain vitally important information about where a company has been and where it is going. Packed with new and updated information, Reading Financial Reports For Dummies, 3rd Edition gives you a quick but clear introduction to financial reports-and how to decipher the information in them. New information on the separate accounting and financial reporting standards for private/small businesses versus public/large businesses New content to match SEC and other governmental regulatory changes New information about how the analyst-corporate connection has actually changed the playing field The impact of corporate communications and new technologies New examples that reflect current trends Updated websites and resources Reading Financial Reports For Dummies is for investors, traders, brokers, managers, and anyone else who is looking for a reliable, up-to-date guide to reading financial reports effectively.

Cover Art
Analyzing Financial Statements for Non-Specialists - Jim O'Hare
ISBN: 0415624738
Publication Date: 2013-01-30
All business organizations produce financial statements and the information communicated (or hidden) on these has never been more important to understand following the global financial crisis. Analyzing Financial Statements for Non-Specialists introduces this topic without assuming prior training and study in accounting - as such it is perfect for students and managers who need to build their understanding of financial statements without taking an entire degree in accounting. With features such as end of chapter questions, topics for further discussion and brimming with real-world examples, this concise new textbook provides a comprehensive resource that will be welcomed by lecturers and instructors charged with delivering classes on financial statements.

Cover Art
Analysis of Financial Statements - Pamela Peterson Drake; Frank J. Fabozzi
ISBN: 1118299981
Publication Date: 2012-11-06
The fully update Third Edition of the most trusted book on financial statement analysis Recent financial events have taught us to take a more critical look at the financial disclosures provides by companies. In the Third Edition of Analysis of Financial Statements, Pamela Peterson-Drake and Frank Fabozzi once again team up to provide a practical guide to understanding and interpreting financial statements. Written to reflect current market conditions, this reliable resource will help analysts and investors use these disclosures to assess a company's financial health and risks. Throughout Analysis of Financial Statements, Third Edition, the authors demonstrate the nuts and bolts of financial analysis by applying the techniques to actual companies. Along the way, they tackle the changing complexities in the area of financial statement analysis and provide an up-to-date perspective of new acts of legislation and events that have shaped the field. Addresses changes to U.S. and international accounting standards, as well as innovations in the areas of credit risk models and factor models Includes examples, guidance, and an incorporation of information pertaining to recent events in the accounting/analysis community Covers issues of transparency, cash flow, income reporting, and much more Whether evaluating a company's financial information or figuring valuation for M&A's, analyzing financial statements is essential for both professional investors and corporate finance executives. The Third Edition of Analysis of Financial Statements contains valuable insights that can help you excel at this endeavor.

Cover Art
How to Understand Business Finance - Brian Helweg-Larsen; Robert Cinnamon; Bob Cinnamon
ISBN: 0749460202
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
The modern marketplace is increasingly unpredictable and there is an ever-greater need for non-financial managers to understand the financial and management accounting process.How to Understand Business Finance is not written by an accountant and actually relates to running a business in a real market. It provides a quick and effective course from the perspective of the pursuit of business growth, and describes a business proceeding from initial set-up through its first year of trading. As well as learning how to understand the balance sheet and profit and loss account, readers will also grasp the principles of: market dynamics; budgeting and forecasting; fixed and variable costs; break-even analysis; the difference between profit and cash; financial ratios for measuring business performance; investment appraisal; stock market ratios; shareholder value; financial measures for improving business performance, and much more.

 

Print Books

Cover Art
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Financial Statements - David Worrell
Call Number: HG4027.7 .W675 2014
ISBN: 1440829357
Easy to read and full of engaging stories, this book teaches the basics of true financial management--re-made just for small businesses. It's perfect for entrepreneurs who want to get more from their accounting without getting stuck in the details. The author examines each of the three major financial statements and explains both how and why business owners should utilize these powerful tools to create a more stable, more profitable business. Whether one's business has one employee or 100, the small business owner will gain a deeper understanding of why finance is so critical to survival and growth. Written by an experienced CFO and entrepreneur, "The Entrepreneur's Guide to Financial StatementS" uses illustrations, real-life stories, and crystal-clear writing to show business owners the importance of "the numbers" and the critical nature of finance to the survival, profitability, and growth of their small businesses.

Cover Art
Analysis Without Paralysis - Babette E. Bensoussan; Craig S. Fleisher
Call Number: HD38.7 .B4555 2013
ISBN: 0133101029
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
Since the publication of the original edition, the importance of interpreting business data has become mission critical for professionals in all types of businesses.  These professionals have discovered the benefits of business analysis to address their organizations most crucial strategic and tactical challenges.  The Second Edition of this successful guide to business analysis, shows readers how to apply analytical tools without having to mire themselves in advanced math or arcane theory. Analysis Without Paralysis teaches readers the fundamentals of business analysis through the use of 12 core tools. Each tool will make the way readers assess and interpret their business' data more effective, accurate, and actionable.  Accessibly written, the authors walk readers through the entire business analysis process and then explain each of today's most valuable analysis tools so business professionals will be able to make better decisions about their company's strategy and operations--and achieve better results.  The Second Edition includes three new analytical tools and updates all of the prior edition's data and examples. For each tool, the authors present clear descriptions, context, rationales, strengths, weaknesses, step-by-step instructions, and case study examples.   "This title should be on any business manager's shelf wanting to make better decisions using analysis."  --UK Competitive Intelligence Forum (UK CIF)

Cover Art
How to Keep Score in Business - Robert Follett
Call Number: HF5681.B2 F59 2012
ISBN: 0132849259
Publication Date: 2012-01-10
In How to Keep Score in Business, Second Edition, long-time CEO Robert Follett shows you exactly how to "keep score" in business by reading and interpreting company financials. Step by step, Follett helps you capture crucial insights buried in balance sheets, income statements, and other key reports. Follett shows how to apply core tools for analyzing financial reports and investment opportunities, and demystifies key accounting terms every business decision-maker and investor needs to know. You'll learn how to uncover a company's true financial position through its balance sheet and income statements-and identify crucial information those documents may not be showing. Follett demonstrates how to use modern ROI tools to evaluate performance or analyze potential investments; how to track ongoing changes in a company's financial position; how to build cash flow budgets for more effective planning; and how to use common analysis ratios (without misusing them). Practical from start to finish, this fully updated book won't transform you into an accountant-but it will help you work more confidently with financial professionals, make smarter business decisions, and choose better investments.

Cover Art
Financial Reporting, Financial Statement Analysis and Valuation - Clyde P. Stickney; Paul Brown; James M. Wahlen; Stephen P. Baginski; Mark Bradshaw
Call Number: HF5635 .S857 2011
ISBN: 0324789416
Publication Date: 2010-08-10
Wahlen/Baginski/Bradshaw is a balanced, flexible, and complete Financial Statement Analysis book that is written with the premise that students learn financial statement analysis most effectively by performing the analysis on actual companies. Students learn to integrate the concepts from economics, finance, business strategy, accounting, and other business disciplines through the integration of a unique six-step process.

Cover Art
Financial Statement Analysis - John Wild; K. R. Subramanyam
Call Number: HF5681.B2 W4963 2009
ISBN: 0073379433
Publication Date: 2008-05-19
Financial Statement Analysis, 10e, emphasizes effective business analysis and decision making by analysts, investors, managers, and other stakeholders of the company. It continues to set the standard in showing students the keys to effective financial statement analysis. The textbook is set up in a three part framework which makes this textbook one of the best selling books in the market. It begins with an overview (chapters 1-2), followed by accounting analysis (chapters 3-6) and then financial analysis (chapters 7-12). The book presents a balanced view of analysis, including both equity and credit analysis, and both cash-based and earnings-based valuation models. The tenth edition is aimed at accounting and finance classes, and the professional audience – as it shows the relevance of financial statement analysis to all business decision makers. The authors: 1. Use numerous and timely “real world” examples and cases 2. Draw heavily on actual excerpts from financial reports and footnotes 3. Focus on analysis and interpretation of financial reports and their footnotes 4. Illustrate debt and equity valuation that uses results of financial statement analysis 5. Apply a concise and succinct writing style to make the material accessible

Cover Art
Financial Statements - Thomas R. Ittelson
Call Number: HF5681.B2 I74 2009
ISBN: 1601630239
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Topics include how the balance sheet, income statement, and cash flow statement work together, and other accounting and financial topics.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip