This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Real Estate" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Real Estate   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazrealestate Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Texas A&M University Real Estate Center

  • Texas A&M University Real Estate Center  Icon
    The Center is the largest publicly funded organization devoted to real estate research in the nation; staff conduct research on financial, socioeconomic, public policy, trade, legal, land use and local market analysis issues. Site provides access to research, news, education opportunities, and data.

Databases

  • Business Source Complete
    Premier source for scholarly and other articles on all business topics.
  • Factiva
    Premier source especially for business-related news articles.
  • IBISWorld  Icon
    Broad coverage and in-depth industry reports including 'Real Estate Appraisal in the US', 'Real Estate Sales & Brokerage in the US' and 'Real Estate Asset Management and Consulting in the US', among others.
  • Hoover's Premium
    Look up real estate companies, the industry, or individual people. Also a list building tool; build a list of all real estate companies that match your desired criteria.
  • NetAdvantage
    Company and Industry profiles; includes Real Estate Investment Trusts reports.
  • PrivCo
    One of the only places you'll be able to find information on private real estate companies, sometimes even some financial information (generally hard to come by for private companies). Also the only place to explore private market investors, venture capital funding, private M&A deals and private equity deals in the real estate industry.
  • Mergent Online  Icon
    A good source for public company financials, but the coolest feature is the ability to build your own competitors list and then create a comparative report (which can include your sub-industry averages).

Internet Resources

Journals

 

Books

Cover Art
The Real Estate Wholesaling Bible - Than Merrill
ISBN: 1118807529
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Make loads of money without ever swinging a hammer or dealing with tenants Wholesaling is by far the quickest and easiest way to make a killing in the world of real estate investing. Think of it as the "day trading" of real estate, except it is far simpler and less risky. In fact, when you learn how to do it the right way, you won't take on any risk at all. The Real Estate Wholesaling Bible teaches you everything you need to know to profit from real estate wholesaling, without any money, credit, or experience to get started. This rapidly expanding business is simple, profitable, and perfect for today's real estate market. Plus, it's an ideal system for making money even in the toughest of real estate markets. All you will need to get started is a computer, an Internet connection, this book, some passion, and a lot of curiosity. Teaches the mechanics of how to wholesale real estate, including exactly how to find, analyze, finance, and sell wholesale deals like clockwork Explains how to actually build a business and develop systems that are not dependent on you as the business owner Shows how to develop a turn-key, systems-dependent business that serves as a vehicle to all the people it touches: the owners, employees, and the community Many real estate investors idea of success focuses squarely on profitability. Author Than Merrill believes success happens when your real estate investment business is not only profitable, but also gives you the time to enjoy your life and fulfill your passions and dreams.

Cover Art
Real Estate Economics - Nicholas Pirounakis
ISBN: 0415676355
Publication Date: 2013-01-25
Cap off your wardrobe with a hat for every occasion—it’s one of the smallest, most creative projects to knit. Stay warm with a Nordic stocking cap or cool in summer straw. Have a fling with a Scottish tam. Or try a chenille helmet, a stylish cloche, a pansy beret, or a mosaic fez. Twenty-two in all.

Cover Art
Fixing and Flipping Real Estate - Marty Boardman
ISBN: 1430246448
Publication Date: 2012-12-11
Let''s face it-fixing and flipping houses is sexy. Who doesn''t love the idea of buying a rundown, mold-infested shack and transforming it into someone''s dream home for massive profits? Reality TV shows make it look so easy. A little paint here, some new kitchen cabinets there, and presto! The house is sold for big bucks and everyone lives happily ever after. If only it were that simple. Fixing and flipping houses is a business. In order for a business to survive, prosper, and grow, systems must be put in place. Fixing and Flipping Real Estate: Strategies for the Post-Boom Era is a book that breaks down the four essential components of a fix-and-flip business, giving you the building blocks to efficiently buy and sell 1 to 20 properties a month in today''s post-boom era housing market. You''ll learn about each of the boxes:   Acquisition-How to find and buy a profitable real estate deal. Rehabbing-How to systematically remodel a house and how not to underimprove, or overimprove, your property. Sales-How to sell your flip for the highest possible price in the shortest possible time. Raising Capital-How to get the capital you need to grow your business, including using other people''s money, for your real estate deals without getting sued or going to jail. In the post-real estate boom era, fixing and flipping is again a solid business--especially in the “sand” states-Arizona, California, Nevada, Texas, and Florida, among others. It''s also a good bet in states as diverse as North Carolina and Washington State. And with the real estate market projected to bottom out nationally in 2012 (this time for real), there are plenty of houses to be renovated and plenty of money to be made by the enterprising in all fifty states. This book shows real estate investors everything they need to know to get started fixing and reselling houses either as a substantial sideline or a full-on business. What you''ll learn Readers will learn how to:   Buy bank-owned houses, short sales from underwater homeowners, and foreclosures at auction. Determine your target neighborhood, price point, and property. Calculate accurately repair expenses, holding, and closing costs. Negotiate with contractors, tradespeople,  and suppliers for the best pricing. Get distressed home sellers and Realtors calling you first about great deals. Use other people''s money to help you reach your financial goals. Manage risk and invest conservatively and responsibly in real estate to protect your capital. Improve greatly your chances of success by fixing and flipping houses as a business rather than as a hobby or a lark. Who this book is for If you''ve ever thought about supplementing your current income by fixing and flipping a house, or quitting your job to make flipping houses your full-time business, then Fixing and Flipping Real Estate: Strategies for the Post-Boom Era is the book you need. It is for motivated, entrepreneurial self-starters who want to earn an extra $10,000 to $200,000 a year while reducing the risk any real estate investment entails. Table of Contents Begin with the End in Mind Identifying Your Niche Analyzing Deals Acquisition Strategies Common Mistakes First Steps Team Building What to Fix Cost Control Common Mistakes Selling Your House Contract Analysis Talking with Lenders Influencing Appraisals  Low Appraisals Settlement Statements Common Mistakes in Selling Creating a Track Record Where Is the Money? Types of Investors Partnerships: Equity Partners Private Money: Debt Partners Conclusion Scope of Work Independent Contractor Agreement Deed of Trust and Assignment of Rents Promissory Note Sample HUD Settlement Statement IRS Form W-9

Cover Art
The Real Estate Solar Investment Handbook - Aaron Binkley
ISBN: 0415660386
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
The Real Estate Solar Investment Handbook explains the business case for property professionals to pursue solar projects. A project's value is determined by its potential risks and rewards; these are explained thoroughly in terms understood by the real estate industry. This book provides a framework for practical decision-making, with each chapter addressing a step in the process, from project idea to completion. Written from the perspective of the commercial real estate industry professional, it will help investors evaluate opportunities and execute projects that offer solid risk-adjusted investments. For property owners, investors, landlords, service providers, and all those looking to invest in solar on commercial property, The Real Estate Solar Investment Handbook will guide you through all the steps needed to gain years of revenue from a project.

Cover Art
Real Estate - Peter Dent; Michael Patrick; Xu Ye
ISBN: 0415591449
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
Traditional studies of the property market have tended to focus solely on commercial and legal issues, but the growing importance of the issue of sustainability means that a different approach is needed. This new textbook provides an overview of property within a market context, examining the complex nature of property rights and issues related to both investors and occupiers. At the same time it assesses property from the perspective of financial, social and environment sustainability.  Topics covered range from the characteristics of property and depreciation, to ownership and development through to investments and sustainability reporting. The book concludes with key skills in sustainable knowledge needed by those working in the real estate industry. Written by an author team of experienced property professionals, this essential introductory textbook is well suited for property, planning and architecture students on undergraduate, graduate and conversion courses, as well as those on CPD and training programmes in related areas.

Cover Art
Making Money with Rental Properties - Idiot's Guide - Kimberly Smith; Lisa Iannucci
ISBN: 1615644318
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
It takes an incredible amount of know-how to be a successful landlord. Idiot's Guides: Making Money with Rental Properties is written by experts who have made the mistakes and learned the lessons. They have become successful at spotting high-rent properties, buying them at the right price and time, and finding tenants who pay on time and stay for the long haul. Loaded with practical tips for the new or prospective landlord, you will quickly learn what to do and what not to do when getting into the rental property game.

Cover Art
Global Property Investment - Andrew E. Baum; David Hartzell
ISBN: 1444335286
Publication Date: 2012-01-17
Developments in the sophistication of global real estate markets mean that global real estate investment is now being executed professionally. Thanks to academic enquiry, professional analysis and entrepreneurial activity, backed by the globalisation of all investment activity, there is now an available body of material which forms the basis of this scholarly but practical summary of the new state of this art. The measurement, benchmarking, forecasting and quantitative management techniques applied to property investments are now compatible with those used in other asset classes, and advances in property research have at last put the ongoing debate about the role of real estate onto a footing of solid evidence. The truly global scope and authorship of this book is unique, and both authors here are singularly well qualified to summarise the impact and likely future of global innovations in property research and fund management. Between them, they have experienced three real estate crashes, and have observed at first hand the creation of the real estate debt and equity instruments that led to the global crisis of 2008-9. Global Property Investment: strategies, structure, decisions offers a unique perspective of the international real estate investment industry with: a close focus on solutions to real life investment problems no excessive theoretical padding a target of both students and professionals highly qualified dual-nationality authorship With many cases, problems and solutions presented throughout the book, and a companion website used for deeper analysis and slides presentations (see below), this is a key text for higher-level real estate students on BSc, MSc, MPhil and MBA courses worldwide as well as for practising property professionals worldwide in fund management, investment and asset management, banking and real estate advisory firms.

Cover Art
Super Agent - Joseph Callaway; JoAnn Callaway
ISBN: 1118834259
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
“Super Agent is the best and most comprehensive book I’ve read on what real estate agents do, how to do it, and why. The Callaways explain where to find buyers and sellers and how to work with them, what activities are most productive, budgeting funds when building a business, the necessity of strong affiliate relationships, loyalty considerations, social media and advertising that works, developing a strong referral network and much more. This is a book that every real estate agent should own.”—Marge Lindsay, West USA Realty, Past President of the Arizona Association of Realtors “In the course of reading Super Agent, I realized that after 10 years of my own real estate career, I am one of those agents who has become distracted by the next “shiny object.” Super Agent lays out all the fundamentals you really need to focus on to become the “Super Agents” that the Callaways are today. As Joseph says after each chapter, “You can do this!” And you know what? After 10 years in the business and reading this book, I am now saying, “Yes I can!”—Richie Laser, REALTOR, President and CEO, Follow Up Results Reading Super Agent is like spending a day with two of the most successful real estate agents in America. Joseph and JoAnn Callaway sell 300 to 500 high-end homes per year. Now they share the secrets of their incredible success. Based on those Callaways’ core concepts of honesty, competence, and caring, Super Agent is filled with practical, money-making advice that will turn beginner and veteran real estate agent alike into a Super Agent. Every chapter is a lesson in the fundamentals of listing and selling more real, including: The five superpowers that make you a super agent The secrets of super time management, how best to use assistants, and how to run a super team The two quick fixes that can double your income overnight without so much as one new client With tested tips and tactics and a unique and positive approach, Super Agent will inspire and propel you to build a steady stream of buyers and sellers, get more listings, and close more deals.

Cover Art
Compendium of International Real Estate and Construction Issues - Raymond Abdulai
ISBN: 1624170846
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
In the global economy, real estate and construction issues are constantly changing and the dynamic nature of these issues accelerates the rate at which the changes take place. This process has far-reaching implications for stakeholders (practitioners, academics and policy makers) in the real estate and construction sectors. There is thus the need for cutting edge research that would continuously identify, monitor, and evaluate the dynamics of these changes in order to assist stakeholders to improve upon practice, policy formulation, teaching and learning. Real estate and construction issues are interconnected. However, they are often treated as if they are not. To remedy this misrepresentation, there is the need for research that engages with these issues to be conducted in an integrated manner. This book, which is the first of a series on these issues, is in response to that need. This book integrates research in these interrelated disciplines from an international perspective.

Cover Art
Real Estate Concepts - Ernie Jowsey (Editor)
ISBN: 0415857422
Publication Date: 2014-08-25
The essential reference tool for all real estate, property, planning and construction students. Real Estate Concepts provides built environment students with an easy to use guide to the essential concepts they need to understand in order to succeed in their university courses and future professional careers. Key concepts are arranged, defined and explained by experts in the field to provide the student with a quick and reliable reference throughout their university studies. The subjects are conveniently divided to reflect the key modules studied in most property, real estate, planning and construction courses. Subject areas covered include: Planning Building surveying Valuation Law Economics, investment and finance Quantity surveying Construction and regeneration Sustainability Property management Over the 18 alphabetically arranged subject specific chapters, the expert contributors explain and illustrate more than 250 fully cross-referenced concepts. The book is packed full of relevant examples and illustrations and after each concept further reading is suggested to encourage a deeper understanding. This book is an ideal reference when writing essays, assignments and revising for exams.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip