This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Portfolio Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Portfolio Management   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazportfolio Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Morningstar  Icon
    The Investment Research Center database includes a portfolio management/assessment tool.

Internet Resources

  • Yahoo! Finance
    Includes a 'My Portfolio' tracking/assessment tool.
  • Google Finance
    Includes a build your own portfolio tool.
  • SigFig
    Primarily an alternative asset management site, but their Portfolio Tracker tool is currently free.
 

Books

Cover Art
The 3 Simple Rules of Investing - Michael Edesess; Kwok L. Tsui; Carol Fabbri; George Peacock
ISBN: 1626561621
Publication Date: 2014-06-16
Over the past several decades, there's been an explosion of investment strategies, products, services, and advisors. Yet, as longtime investment industry insiders show in this powerful exposé, almost all the popular investment strategies and products are based on confusion and deception and don't work, and almost all investment services and advisors cost far more than they are worth. The book first explains three simple rules of investing - and why Wall Street and most of the investment industry does not want you to know them. Then the authors examine each of the prevailing claims and recommendations espoused by investment industry professionals as well as journalists and explain, one by one, why each is wrong and not only costly to investors but also enormously enriching to investment firms and advisors. The result is the most powerful guide yet published for what investors should and should not do to protect and grow their investments.

Cover Art
Applied Equity Analysis and Portfolio Management - Robert A. Weigand
ISBN: 1118630912
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
A "hands-on" guide to applied equity analysis and portfolio management From asset allocation to modeling the intrinsic value of a stock, Applied Equity Analysis and Portfolio Management + Online Video Course offers readers a solid foundation in the practice of fundamental analysis using the same tools and techniques as professional investors. Filled with real-world illustrations and hands-on applications, Professor Weigand's learning system takes a rigorous, empirical approach to topics such as analyzing the macro-finance environment, sector rotation, financial analysis and valuation, assessing a company's competitive position, and reporting the performance of a stock portfolio. Unlike typical books on this subject--which feature chapters to read and exercises to complete--this resource allows readers to actively participate in the learning experience by completing writing exercises and manipulating interactive spreadsheets that illustrate the principles being taught. The learning system also features instructional videos that demonstrate how to use the spreadsheet models and excerpts from the author's blog, which are used to depict additional examples of the analysis process. Along the way, it skillfully outlines an effective approach to creating and interpreting outputs typically associated with a top-down money management shop -- including a macroeconomic forecasting newsletter, detailed stock research reports, and a portfolio performance attribution analysis. Covers topics including active and passive money management, fundamental analysis and portfolio attribution analysis Companion streaming videos show how to use free online data to create yourown analyses of key economic indicators, individual stocks, and stock portfolios A valuable resource for universities who have applied equity analysis and portfolio management courses Practical and up-to-date, the book is an excellent resource for those with a need for practical investment expertise.

Cover Art
Asset Rotation - Matthew P. Erickson
ISBN: 1118779193
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
An all-weather, tactical approach to asset management utilizing Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) In Asset Rotation, portfolio management pioneer Matthew P. Erickson demonstrates a time-tested approach to asset management that has worked throughout the history of capital markets, in good times and bad. Providing investors with strong participation in rising markets, but more importantly with a discipline to reduce participation in prolonged declines. Over time this revolutionary approach has yielded superior returns, with significantly reduced levels of risk; providing the engine for true, long-term sustainable growth. The investment world as we know it has changed, and the paradigm has shifted. What has worked in the past may no longer work in the future. No longer may bonds be regarded as a safe haven asset class, as for the first time in generations, investors in fixed income face losses as interest rates rise from historical all-time lows. For those adhering to a conventional Modern Portfolio Theory based investment approach to asset management, what was once regarded as safe and stable, may very well soon become our greatest impediment. Asset Rotation provides investors with a practical solution for today′s real world problems. This tactical approach to asset management provides us with concrete proof that there is indeed a better way. We are standing on the precipice of an Investment Renaissance . What was previously impossible, is now possible. Find out how. Presents an easy-to-understand price momentum-based approach to investing Illustrates the benefits of asset rotation Offers a systematic approach for securing a sound financial future Provides further insights as to how to customize your own asset rotation portfolio Matthew Erickson gives investors a hands-on resource for how to navigate an increasingly difficult investment landscape, by providing them with keen insights into the most rapidly growing segment of the investment markets.

Cover Art
Energy Trading and Risk Management - Iris Marie Mack
ISBN: 1118339339
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Anbsp;comprehensive overview of trading and risk management in the energy marketsnbsp; Energy Trading and Risk Management provides a comprehensive overview of global energy markets from one of the foremost authorities on energy derivatives and quantitative finance. With an approachable writing style, Iris Mack breaks down the three primary applications for energy derivatives markets - Risk Management, Speculation, and Investment Portfolio Diversification - in a way that hedge fund traders, consultants, and energy market participants can apply in their day to day trading activities.nbsp; Moving from the fundamentals of energy markets through simple and complex derivatives trading, hedging strategies, and industry-specific case studies, Dr. Mack walks readers through energy trading and risk management concepts at an instructive pace, supporting her explanations with real-world examples, illustrations, charts, and precise definitions of important and often-misunderstood terms. From stochastic pricing models for exotic derivatives, to modern portfolio theory (MPT), energy portfolio management (EPM), to case studies dealing specifically with risk management challenges unique to wind and hydro-electric power, the bookguides readers through the complex world of energy trading and risk management to help investors, executives, and energy professionals ensure profitability and optimal risk mitigation in every market climate. Energy Trading and Risk Management is a great resource to help grapple with the very interesting but oftentimes complex issues that arise in energy trading and risk management.

Cover Art
The Science of Algorithmic Trading and Portfolio Management - Robert Kissell
ISBN: 0124016898
Publication Date: 2013-10-14
The Science of Algorithmic Trading and Portfolio Management, with its emphasis on algorithmic trading processes and current trading models, sits apart from others of its kind. Robert Kissell, the first author to discuss algorithmic trading across the various asset classes, provides key insights into ways to develop, test, and build trading algorithms. Readers learn how to evaluate market impact models and assess performance across algorithms, traders, and brokers, and acquire the knowledge to implement electronic trading systems. This valuable book summarizes market structure, the formation of prices, and how different participants interact with one another, including bluffing, speculating, and gambling. Readers learn the underlying details and mathematics of customized trading algorithms, as well as advanced modeling techniques to improve profitability through algorithmic trading and appropriate risk management techniques. Portfolio management topics, including quant factors and black box models, are discussed, and an accompanying website includes examples, data sets supplementing exercises in the book, and large projects. Prepares readers to evaluate market impact models and assess performance across algorithms, traders, and brokers. Helps readers design systems to manage algorithmic risk and dark pool uncertainty. Summarizes an algorithmic decision making framework to ensure consistency between investment objectives and trading objectives.

Cover Art
Understanding Alternative Investments - Stephen Todd Walker
Call Number: HG4529.5 .W355 2014
ISBN: 1137370181
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Using ground-breaking, never before seen data on alternative investments, Stephen Todd Walker explores how to apply new risk measurements to an alternative portfolio. Through his 20+ years of expertise in finance, the author explains how to go about carefully selecting the best alternatives for you and the right time to invest in them, including real estate, hedge funds, private equity, venture capital, and more. Features of the book include: -Historical data showing alternative investment on the upswing -Tools to help identify and evaluate alternative investments -Insights into wave theory and how it works -The pros and cons of investments nbsp; The book shows the merits of owning alternative investmentsnbsp;and helps investors who want to create better, more diversified portfolios.

Cover Art
Asset Allocation - Roger Gibson
ISBN: 0071804188
Publication Date: 2013-05-21
The Definitive Guide to Strategic Asset Allocation Uniting theory and practice--the art and science of asset allocation Investors long to beat the market, and money managers accept that as their mandate. The sad reality is that most money managers underperform the market, and individualinvestors do even worse. Investors also face emotional challenges. The irrational exuberance of the 1990s, for instance, can as easily derail a sensible investment strategy as the market panic accompanying the GlobalFinancial Crisis. Since Roger Gibson wrote the first edition of this book over 25 years ago, his multiple-assetclass investment approach has given investors a disciplined strategy for mitigating risks and realizing their financial goals through widely varying market environments. Grounded in the principles of modern portfolio theory, this fifth edition of his investing classic explains how and why asset allocation works. Gibson demonstrates how adding new asset classes to a portfolio improves its risk-adjusted returns and how strategic asset allocation uses,rather than fights, the forces of the capital markets to achieve financial success. New topics in this edition include: The success of multiple-asset-class investing during the stock market's "lost decade" Methods for forecasting long-term asset class returns and the limitations of prediction The dangers of market timing and the challenges involved in tactical asset allocation strategies--with insights from the field of behavioral finance Observations from the Global SIDONI Financial Crisis of 2008 and what it means for the multiple-asset-class investor With more than three decades of experience managing clients' portfolios and expectations, Gibson underscores the importance of identifying and working through the emotional and psychological traps that impede investment success. Join the quarter-century trend of Asset Allocation providing investors with a sound approach to financial well-being. PRAISE FOR ASSET ALLOCATION: "Roger Gibson has revolutionized the way financial advisors assemble portfolios for their clients. He is, without a doubt, the best and most articulate voice on the subject of asset allocation today." -- DON PHILLIPS, President, Investment Research, Morningstar, Inc. "[Gibson's book] should be of enormous benefit to the investor seeking the proper decision-making process. I congratulate [him] for treating the asset allocation subject in such depth and bringing this issue, which is the critical investment issue for all investors, to the forefront. It is the best overall piece of work I have seen." -- GARY P. BRINSON, President and CEO, GP Brinson Investments "I always look forward to each new edition of Roger Gibson's (now with Christopher Sidoni) asset allocation book. The extensive data is updated with new chapters on the financial crisis and forecasting. This practical book focuses on meeting investor objectives in a risky world." -- ROGER G. IBBOTSON, Yale Professor, Chairman of Zebra Capital Management, Founder of Ibbotson Associates, now a Morningstar Company "Roger Gibson's book should be a 'go-to' resource for every serious financial advisor." -- JOHN D. ROGERS, CFA, President and Chief Executive Officer, CFA Institute "The author balances a solid, understandable, and logical grasp of investment knowledge with an obvious input of practical experience. If all investment advisors would read and understand this book, clients would be far better off." -- DARWIN M. BAYSTON, CFA, Past President and CEO, The Association for Investment Management Research

Cover Art
Credit Portfolio Management - Michael H√ľnseler
ISBN: 0230391494
Publication Date: 2013-08-23
With the banking industry in flux and the credit business at its core, Credit Portfolio Management is a timely and practical guide on how to successfully manage a credit portfolio in light of a challenging market environment and increased regulatory scrutiny.Structured in line with a credit value chain, Part I deals with the framework in which credit risk is originated and managed. It comprises of three chapters: a brief description of the role that credit risk played in the financial crisis and thereafter; the credit risk strategies which aim at optimizing the risk/return profile of the portfolio under the condition of adequate capital; and finally an introduction to stress tests which support a proactive and forward looking approach to portfolio management by allowing the quantification of improbable but plausible outcomes.In Part II, conceptual aspects of an Active Credit Portfolio Management (ACPM) are discussed. It ranges from the description of the value proposition to a full credit cycle approach to portfolio management. Since in most organizations a loan transfer pricing scheme underpins the internal role of ACPM to optimize the risk and the return side of credit portfolio, it is given due consideration. Part II also reviews practical aspects of the implementation of ACPM, and dedicates a chapter to theaccounting symmetry of credit derivative hedges and loans. It concludes with an overview of regulatory capital relief.Part III focuses on the back end management of a credit portfolio where corrective actions are usually carried out by use of controversial credit default swaps. Michael provides a non technical, detailed description of CDS as a hedging tool for credit portfolio managers whilst also introducing other hedge instruments such as Loan CDS and sub-participations.A number of case studies are used throughout the book to illustrate the various topics in a real world setting.

Cover Art
Modern Portfolio Theory + Website - Jack Clark Francis; Dongcheol Kim
ISBN: 111837052X
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
A through guide covering Modern Portfolio Theory as well as the recent developments surrounding it Modern portfolio theory (MPT), which originated with Harry Markowitz's seminal paper "Portfolio Selection" in 1952, has stood the test of time and continues to be the intellectual foundation for real-world portfolio management. This book presents a comprehensive picture of MPT in a manner that can be effectively used by financial practitioners and understood by students. Modern Portfolio Theory provides a summary of the important findings from all of the financial research done since MPT was created and presents all the MPT formulas and models using one consistent set of mathematical symbols. Opening with an informative introduction to the concepts of probability and utility theory, it quickly moves on to discuss Markowitz's seminal work on the topic with a thorough explanation of the underlying mathematics. Analyzes portfolios of all sizes and types, shows how the advanced findings and formulas are derived, and offers a concise and comprehensive review of MPT literature Addresses logical extensions to Markowitz's work, including the Capital Asset Pricing Model, Arbitrage Pricing Theory, portfolio ranking models, and performance attribution Considers stock market developments like decimalization, high frequency trading, and algorithmic trading, and reveals how they align with MPT Companion Website contains Excel spreadsheets that allow you to compute and graph Markowitz efficient frontiers with riskless and risky assets If you want to gain a complete understanding of modern portfolio theory this is the book you need to read.

Cover Art
Mastering Illiquidity - Thomas Meyer; Peter Cornelius; Christian Diller; Didier Guennoc
ISBN: 1119952425
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
Arms investors with powerful new tools for measuring and managing the risks associated with the various illiquid asset classes With risk-free interest rates and risk premiums at record lows, many investors are turning to illiquid assets, such as real estate, private equity, infrastructure and timber, in search of superior returns and greater portfolio diversity. But as many analysts, investors and wealth managers are discovering, such investments bring with them a unique set of risks that cannot be measured by standard asset allocation models. Written by a dream team of globally renowned experts in the field, this book provides a clear, accessible overview of illiquid fund investments, focusing on what the main risks of these asset classes are and how to measure those risks in today's regulatory environment. Provides solutions for institutional investors in need of guidance in today's regulatory environment Offers detailed descriptions of risk measurement in illiquid asset classes, illustrated with real life case studies Helps you to develop reliable risk management tools while complying with the regulations designed to contain the individual and systemic risks arising from illiquid investments Features real-life case studies that capture an array of risk management scenarios you are likely to encounter

Cover Art
Portfolio and Programme Management Demystified - Paul Rayner; Geoff Reiss
ISBN: 0415558344
Publication Date: 2012-12-06
You're now responsible for a programme, or you've got a portfolio to manage? Where do you start? Right here! Projects are not simply the bread and butter of an organisation. Form them into programmes or portfolios and they can be prioritised and integrated to deliver change to your organization in line with your strategic vision. You will be able to control costs and risks and bring together a complex series of themes effectively. This overhauled second edition now combines portfolio management as a parallel theme with programme management, and it is brought in line with the current thinking of the Association for Project Management and the Project Management Institute. It is written for managers in both the public and private sectors. This new edition includes half a dozen short case studies (from Belgium's Fortis Bank, a software company, local government, and central government), along with more on cross-functional management. Together with Project Management Demystified, also from Routledge (third edition, 2007), it provides the tools to manage your projects, your programmes and your portfolio to a very high level.

Cover Art
Portfolio Management - Shan Rajegopal
ISBN: 1137023333
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
In Portfolio Management, Shan Rajegopal, a leading authority on innovation and project portfolio management, provides an integrated project portfolio management framework which links innovation, investment and implementation. A successful tried and tested method, this blueprint will be a hands-on guide for business executives.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip