This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Options" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Options   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazoptions Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
Options for the Beginner and Beyond - W. Edward Olmstead
ISBN: 0132655683
Publication Date: 2012-12-19
Master option trading strategies one step at a time! Options for the Beginner and Beyond, Second Edition teaches options through brief, carefully-paced lessons on option concepts and trading strategies, crystal-clear definitions, and plenty of real trading examples. Every lesson builds on the one preceding it, explaining options in plain English, and guiding you all the way to advanced strategies covered in no other introductory tutorial. Drawing on his extensive experience teaching options trading to beginners -- and five years editing a leading options newsletter -- W. Edward Olmstead shows how to systematically control your risk, protect your investments, and maximize your profits. This new Second Edition integrates new coverage of weekly options throughout, and presents updated tax strategies every options trader needs to know. Olmstead shows you how to do all this, and much more: Select options with high profit potential Enter and exit trades Choose brokers Work with the Greeks, risk graphs, and LEAPs Use vertical, event producing, and calendar spreads Trade covered calls, straddles, strangles, married puts, and collars Master these and other sophisticated strategies: naked options, stock substitutes, backspreads, butteryfly spreads, iron condors, and double diagonals Implement effective end-of-year tax strategies Day trade indexes with options Use delta-neutral trading Leverage the theory of maximum pain; implied volatility, and Black-Scholes

Cover Art
Think Like an Option Trader - Michael Benklifa
ISBN: 0133065308
Publication Date: 2013-05-24
THE SECRET TO PROFITING FROM OPTIONS: THINK LIKE A PROFESSIONAL OPTION TRADER, NOT A STOCK TRADER! Understand the unique dynamics of options trades and markets Practical, concise insights based on actual option trading scenarios Master trade selection, risk management, and more By professional options trader Michael Benklifa, best-selling author of Profiting with Iron Condor Options Want to win in options? You must think like a professional option trader. Step #1: Get rid of the habits you learned in stock trading: they're killing you! Step #2: Understand the real dynamics of options markets: they are radically, fundamentally different.   Example: When stock traders look at price, they see information. Option traders see probability, time, and volatility. Example: Stock trading is about having an information advantage. Option trading can be about exploiting a lack of information. Example: Stocks either go up or they don't. Option trades can be structured for a 90% probability of success.   With dynamics like these, option trading is like nothing else. Through practical, simple examples, Michael Benklifa will help you understand what's really going on here...so you can consistently build trades that earn profits and control risk!

Cover Art
How You Can Trade Like a Pro - Potter
ISBN: 0071825495
Publication Date: 2014-03-26
DO YOU WANT TO TAKE YOUR TRADING TO THE NEXT LEVEL? To earn a living as a trader, even part time, takes consistency. Most first-time investors find today's turbulent markets are anything but consistent. To keep from throwing your money away following obsolete tradingstrategies, you need a seasoned mentor like Sarah Potter to provide the latest insight, training, techniques, and action steps to become the trader you want to be. How You Can Trade Like a Pro holds the answer to fulfilling your dream of earning an income by trading. Written by an educator who now trades full time, this how-to book is unmatched in its clarity and to-the-point explanations. You will quickly develop a solid foundation of theory and professional techniques for tradingmultiple markets including options on stocks and ETFs as well as futures contracts. Unlike many nuts-and-bolts investing books, this holistic guide helps you through the technical and emotional process of trading, with Potter’s real-life stories of transitioning to a full-time trader and her humorous "Trading Tips" comic strips. Best of all, you can start with a small amount of capital and be confident you have the same advantages as the pros. How You Can Trade Like a Pro provides expert coverage on: Understanding the risks and rewards of the market Avoiding the emotional pitfalls of trading Creating your own trading plan and watch lists Also includes: A simple tracking system to optimize trading performance Proven trading strategies explained step-by-step A variety of expert tools for accurately identifying market trends If you want to be a trader or just want to take back control of your fi nances, this guide shows you how to empower yourself with the trading routine that best fits you. Not only will you avoid costly brokerage fees, but you will have the satisfaction of growing your wealth your own way. Take the first step today and learn How YouCan Trade Like a Pro. TAKE CONTROL OF YOUR WEALTH How You Can Trade Like a Pro is the cornerstoneguide to Sarah Potter’s proven system for designing and implementing a professional-grade trading routine custom fit to your personality and goals. Whether you want to supplement your income or embark on a new career in trading, Potter has developed the ideal support structure to help everyone interested in growing capital transition into active traders focused on making a profit. PRAISE FOR HOW YOU CAN TRADE LIKE A PRO: "How You Can Trade Like a Pro is an excellent tool for anyone interested in learning how to trade. As experts in this industry, we know the greatest barrier to entry is the terminology. Sarah breaks down complicated topics into simple terms. This book will give new investors the con dence to trade on their own." -- Liz Dierking and Jenny Andrews, The LIZ & JNY Show "Sarah Potter [offers] a fresh voice with essential information for active traders. Her comprehensive, inviting book is an informative A-to-Z compendium to helpnew traders find their path to profitable trading. TraderPlanet members vote her stories as some of the most popular on our site. We are sure you will find her writingto be engaging as well." -- Lane J. Mendelsohn, Founder and President, TraderPlanet.com

Cover Art
Understanding Options 2E - Michael Sincere
ISBN: 0071817840
Publication Date: 2014-01-06
THE OPTIONS INVESTING BESTSELLER--WITH CRITICAL NEW INSIGHT FOR TODAY'S TUMULTOUS MARKETS Written in an accessible, easy-to-read style, this new edition of Understanding Options provides everything you need to get started on the right foot in the increasingly popular options market. You'll learn what options are and how they work, their pros and cons, their relationship with stocks, and how to use them to gain leverage, generate extra income, and protect against adverse price movements. Understanding Options covers everything that has made it the go-to guide for novice investors--plus it has brand-new information and features, including: Updated facts, charts, and figures Expanded coverage of collars, credit and debit spreads,mini-options, the Greeks, and protective puts Key strategy insights from master options traders A critical look at trading options on ETFs Options simply are not as confusing as the other books make them seem. Written specifically for the novice, Understanding Options is the best, most inviting guide available for building a solid foundation in options investing.

Cover Art
Binary Options - Alex Nekritin
ISBN: 1118407245
Publication Date: 2012-12-17
The first comprehensive guide to trading a unique class of options to manage risk and make smarter bets during volatile trading Providing savvy market players with a way to react quickly to event-driven opportunities and trends, exchange traded binary options are a unique type of derivative instrument offering fixed risk and reward. Available on four asset classes-stock index futures, commodity futures, Spot Forex and economic data releases-they are distinctly different from regular put/call options in that their pay-out structure offers only two potential outcomes, or settlement values: 0 or 100. The first guide focusing exclusively on this fast-growing sector of the options market, Trading Binary Options examines the key differences between regular options trading and binary options trading and describes how binary trading is done. It also gives you the lowdown on the most successful binary trading strategies and how and when they should be deployed. Outlines a rigorous approach to trading directionally around specific events, such as an earnings release, a shift in currencies, or a release of economic data Provides the first comprehensive coverage of an increasingly popular but poorly understood trading instrument Offers in-depth discussions of the six characteristics that distinguish binaries from other options and that make them such an attractive vehicle for hedging risk and improving returns

Cover Art
Commodity Option Pricing - Ephraim Clark; Iain J. Clark
Call Number: HG6046 .C5736 2014eb
ISBN: 1119944511
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Commodity Option Pricing: A Practitioner's Guide covers commodity option pricing for quantitative analysts, traders or structurers in banks, hedge funds and commodity trading companies. Based on the author's industry experience with commodity derivatives, this book provides a thorough and mathematical introduction to the various market conventions and models used in commodity option pricing. It introduces the various derivative products typically traded for commodities and describes how these models can be calibrated and used for pricing and risk management. The book has been developed with input from traders and examples using real world data, together with relevant up to date academic research. The book includes practical descriptions of market conventions and quote codes used in commodity markets alongside typical products seen in broker quotes and used in calibration. Also discussed are commodity models and their mathematical derivation and volatility surface modelling for traded commodity derivatives. Gold, silver and other precious metals are addressed, including gold forward and gold lease rates, as well as copper, aluminum and other base metals, crude oil and natural gas, refined energy and electricity. There are also sections on the products encountered in commodities such as crack spread and spark spread options and alternative commodities such as carbon emissions, weather derivatives, bandwidth and telecommunications trading, plastics and freight. Commodity Option Pricing is ideal for anyone working in commodities or aiming to make the transition into the area, as well as academics needing to familiarize themselves with the industry conventions of the commodity markets.

Cover Art
Keene on the Market - Andrew Keene
ISBN: 1118590767
Publication Date: 2013-07-29
A leading expert unveils his unique methodology for options trading Options provide a high leverage approach to trading that can significantly limit the overall risk of a trade or provide additional income. Yet, many people fail to capitalize on this potentially lucrative opportunity because they mistakenly believe that options are risky. Now options expert Andrew Keene helps aspiring investors to enter this sector by explaining the principles of the options market and showing readers how to utilize calls and puts successfully. Leading options expert Andrew Keene demystifies the basics of options trading Debunks the myth that call purchases are synonymous with being bullish and that put purchases are bearish Lays out in detail two distinct proprietary trading plans readers can follow Explains how to trade using market maker techniques and tricks from the trading floor to help with his probabilities in options trading Andrew Keene is best known for reading unusual options activity and seeing what others don't. Now he shares what he knows in a book that opens the opportunities of options trading to any investor.

Cover Art
Getting Started in Advanced Options - Michael C. Thomsett
ISBN: 1118343638
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
An illustrated, easy-to-read guide to advanced options trading In Getting Started in Advanced Options, Illustrated Edition, bestselling author Michael C. Thomsett uses nontechnical, easy-to-follow language to demystify the options markets, distinguishing the imagined risks from the real ones and arming investors with the facts they need to make more informed decisions. This illustrated edition includes colourful illustrations, including charts and graphs that make complex subject matter easy to understand. Fully updated to cover the latest changes in the markets, the book introduces advanced strategies and concepts that every successful trader needs. It covers how options can reduce risk, spread strategies, hedges and straddles, swing trading with options, options on futures and indexes, synthetic positions based on options, risks and taxes, choosing stocks for options trading, and more. An ideal illustrated companion volume to Michael C. Thomsett's Getting Started in Advanced Options Updated to include the latest changes and newest information on the markets Loaded with easy-to-understand graphs, charts, and other illustrations This new illustrated addition to the Getting Started In series makes advanced options trading easy to understand with clear examples, handy illustrations, and plain-English explanations.

Cover Art
Getting Started in Options - Michael C. Thomsett
ISBN: 0470480033
Publication Date: 2009-11-09
An easy-to-read and updated guide to the dynamic world of options investing During the recent market turmoil, option trading volume actually increased, but many are still unsure of the opportunities that options present, simply because they don't fully understand how this market works. With Getting Started in Options, Eighth Edition, author Michael C. Thomsett looks to change this. In non-technical, easy-to-follow terms, this accessible guide thoroughly demystifies the options markets, distinguishes the imagined risks from the real ones, and arms investors with the facts they need to make more informed decisions. Opens with an introduction commenting on the recent market turmoil and the growing importance of options Contains new chapters on futures and index options Includes sidebar definitions and easy-to-follow examples that anyone can understand Besides new examples, updated charts, and timely additions to reflect important changes in the markets, this edition also includes discussions on other important options issues, such as: how to calculate options returns; "test run" activities to try out new theories; and much more.

Cover Art
Trading Options in Turbulent Markets - Larry Shover
ISBN: 1118343549
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Top options expert Larry Shover returns to discuss how to interpret, and profit from, market volatility Trading Options in Turbulent Markets, Second Edition skillfully explains the intricacies of options volatility and shows you how to use options to cope, and profit from, market turbulence. Throughout this new edition, options expert Larry Shover reveals how to use historical volatility to predict future volatility for a security and addresses how you can utilize that knowledge to make better trading decisions. Along the way, he also defines the so-called Greeks-delta, vega, theta, and gamma-and explains what drives their values and their relationship to historic and implied volatility. Shover then provides effective strategies for trading options contracts in uncertain times, addressing the decision-making process and how to trade objectively in the face of unpredictable and irrational market moves. Includes a new chapter of the VIX, more advanced material on volatility suitable for institutional or intermediate options trader, and additional volatility-based strategies Answers complex questions such as: How does a trader know when to tolerate risk and How does a successful trader respond to adversity? Provides a different perspective on a variety of options strategies, including covered calls, naked and married puts, collars, straddles, vertical spreads, calendar spreads, butterflies, condors, and more As volatility becomes a greater focus of traders and investors, Trading Options in Turbulent Markets, Second Edition will become an important resource for in-depth insights, practical advice, and profitable strategies.

Cover Art
Trading Weekly Options - Russell Rhoads
ISBN: 111861612X
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
A comprehensive resource for understanding and trading weekly options Weekly options are traded on all major indices, as well as high volume stocks and ETFs. They continue to surge in popularity, accounting for as much as twenty percent of daily options volume. And while existing options strategy can be used with weeklys, they are particularly conducive to premium selling strategies and short-term trades based on a news item or technical pattern. With this timely guide, and its companion video, you'll learn exactly how to use weeklys to make more money from option selling strategies and how to make less expensive bets on short-term market moves. Written by Russell Rhoads, a top instructor at the CBOE's Options Institute, Trading Weekly Options + Video skillfully explains the unique pricing and behavioral characteristics of weekly options and shows how to take advantage of those unique features using traditional option strategies. The first book and video combination product focused solely on weekly options Outlines the most effective trading strategies associated with weekly options, including taking advantage of the accelerating time-decay curve when an option approaches expiration Filled with the practical, real-world insights of author Russell Rhoads, an expert in this field Created with both the experienced and beginning option traders in mind, this book and video package will help you make the most of your time trading weekly options.

Cover Art
Volatility Surface and Term Structure - Kin Keung Lai; Jerome Yen; Shifei Zhou; Hao Wang
ISBN: 0415826209
Publication Date: 2013-09-02
This book provides different financial models based on options to predict underlying asset price and design the risk hedging strategies. Authors of the book have made theoretical innovation to these models to enable the models to be applicable to real market. The book also introduces risk management and hedging strategies based on different criterions. These strategies provide practical guide for real option trading. This book studies the classical stochastic volatility and deterministic volatility models. For the former, the classical Heston model is integrated with volatility term structure. The correlation of Heston model is considered to be variable. For the latter, the local volatility model is improved from experience of financial practice. The improved local volatility surface is then used for price forecasting. VaR and CVaR are employed as standard criterions for risk management. The options trading strategies are also designed combining different types of options and they have been proven to be profitable in real market. This book is a combination of theory and practice. Users will find the applications of these financial models in real market to be effective and efficient.

Cover Art
Options Made Easy - Guy Cohen
ISBN: 0133087891
Publication Date: 2013-04-23
Master option trading, visually, hands-on -- and discover the powerful, easy-to-use OVI indicator that leads the market, revealing what the world's savviest option traders are doing right now! Learn option trading from the newest edition of Guy Cohen's international best-seller Options Made Easy, which has earned a worldwide reputation for its simplicity, clarity and hands-on practicality. With outstanding graphics for step-by-step learning, this easy tutorial packed with real trades is designed to reinforce every new trader's learning experience. Using plain English and clear illustrations to explain each key trading strategy, Cohen avoids complex math while effortlessly delivering the practical knowledge traders need. Now, in this eagerly-anticipated Third Edition, Cohen updates all examples and data, utilizing the market's new option symbols throughout, and presenting a more streamlined, focused, and up-to-date review of relevant chart patterns and technical analyses. Most important, he thoroughly introduces his breakthrough OVI indicator, revealing how it captures the implications of actual option transaction data, and presents signals even beginners can use to earn consistent profits. Step by step, Cohen walks traders through: Filtering for stocks and selecting the right strategy for each situation Implementing proven strategies for income, including covered calls and bull put spreads Trading volatility through straddles and strangles Using butterflies and condors to trade rangebound markets Understanding trading psychology and its impact on option trades And much more

Cover Art
Profiting with Synthetic Annuities - Michael Lovelady
ISBN: 0132929112
Publication Date: 2012-06-21
Options-based "synthetic annuities" give investors the ability to generate higher returns, provide better downside protection, and utilize risk more efficiently than pure stock and bond-based portfolios. Now, this strategy's creator shows exactly how to use them to support a wide range of trading and investing goals. Hedge fund manager Michael Lovelady shows how synthetic annuities blend the best features of traditional portfolios with the risk management discipline of quantitative investing, increasing current yields while also reducing volatility. Michael presents this new strategy with unique graphics and simplified models that any investor or trader can use, and demonstrates its value in the context of today's key market trends. He illuminates the entire "ecosystem" of theories, products, and tools surrounding synthetic annuities, and shows exactly how to integrate them with other investment and portfolio management techniques.

Cover Art
Trading Binary Options - Abe Cofnas; Addison Wiggin (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0470952849
Publication Date: 2011-12-13
An essential guide to the fast growing area of binary options Long the province of professional traders, binary options are now offered to retail investors through the North American Derivative Exchange (Nadex) and a growing group of online brokerages. Now, with this new book, author Abe Cofnas explains how independent traders and investors can use binary options to speculate on price movements and global events. The great appeal of binary options is that they are less complex than conventional options and provide a simple method to trade based on an opinion of where the market is headed over a certain period of time. Engaging and informative, this reliable guide reveals how binary options work, what are the best binary options trading strategies, and when to use them. Identifies the various markets in which binaries are available Offers insights on how binary options allow for opportunities to speculate on the direction of a market and receive a substantial payout Provides suggestions as to which markets provide the best liquidity and lowest trade execution expenses As the first book solely devoted to this topic, Binary Options will provide retail traders with an authoritative guide to trading this exciting new market.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip