This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Mutual Funds" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Mutual Funds   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazmutualfunds Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Morningstar Investment Research Center  Icon
    Includes a mutual funds Screener tool to allow you to view a list of funds based on specified criteria: by category, various performance measures, Morningstar risk ratings and more... Explore full mutual fund profiles including quotes, interactive charts, performance, risk statistics, management information, portfolio structure, expense information, fund analysis reports and more.
  • NetAdvantage
    Another strong mutual fund Screener tool that includes filters for performance and risk, fund expenses, technical measures and more. Each fund in your results lists will link to an S&P Capital IQ "Mutual Fund Report", compact but dense with useful information.

Internet Resources

  • Mutual Fund Education Alliance
    A national trade association with the stated goal of "informing and educating the investing public about how they can use mutual funds to achieve important lifetime goals". Their Investors Center includes basic education and commentary publications.
  • Yahoo! Finance - Mutual Funds Center
    Includes news and education articles and a brief list of quotes for top performing mutual funds.
  • Mutual Fund Observer
    Sometimes irreverent and occasionally off-topic, but an all-in-all interesting blog on mutual funds and related issues + discussion board, brief fund profiles and regular updates about major fund events (manager changes etc) and links to further resources.
 

Books

Cover Art
The Fund Industry - Robert Pozen; Theresa Hamacher; Don T. Phillips (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0470634251
Publication Date: 2011-02-08
Every investor, student of finance and participant in the mutual fund industry needs to read this book The Fund Industry details how mutual funds are marketed, regulated, and invested in stocks and bonds. The book also describes the critical factors needed to choose a specific fund for your investment or retirement plan, including what to look for when reading prospectuses, shareholder reports and third party reviews. In addition, the book: Discusses the spread of mutual funds to Asia, Europe, and Latin America Compares mutual funds to other investment vehicles such as hedge funds and ETFs Shows how to sort mutual funds by categories and subcategories based on security type and investment objective Other titles by Pozen: Too Big to Save? How to Fix the U.S. Financial System, also by Wiley Fundamentals of the Fund Industry is the most in-depth and up-to-date guide to navigating the mutual fund industry, written in an accessible style with many examples and charts.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Professionally Managed Assets - Keith R. Fevurly
ISBN: 143026019X
Publication Date: 2013-11-25
This practical guide provides a comprehensive overview of professionally managed assets, or investments in which all portfolio decisions and rebalancing are delegated to a fund manager or third-party advice service. Savvy investors looking to achieve a better understanding of the nuances, benefits, and drawbacks of using these products will find the answers they are looking for in The Handbook of Professionally Managed Assets, no matter whether they would like to learn more about mutual funds or hedge funds. There is a considerable lack of knowledge among the investing public about how to properly construct a well-diversified portfolio of investments that includes a selection of professionally managed assets. As a long-standing financial planner, attorney, and educator, Keith Fevurly remedies this issue in The Handbook of Professionally Managed Assets by clearly presenting the major categories of professionally managed assets and revealing the best tactics for investing in these vehicles. Along the way, he reveals each asset's risks and rewards, and he also provides the in-depth knowledge and information investors need to confidently select the right assets for their portfolios. Filled with valuable insights for everyone from financial professionals to individual investors, The Handbook of Professionally Managed Assets stands alone in its ability to shed light on the many investment vehicles that fall under the larger umbrella of professionally managed assets. With topics as wide-ranging as mutual funds, closed-end funds, unit investment trusts, exchange traded funds, hedge funds, managed futures, and more, this invaluable resource will give you the information you need to build a prosperous financial future for yourself and your clients.  What you'll learn Among other topics, The Handbook of Professionally Managed Assets will cover: Why financial advisors and sophisticated individual investors should use professionally managed assets as part of an overall investment strategy. Mutual funds, including the history of their growth in the financial industry and the differences between actively and passively managed mutual funds. The proper use of Unit Investment Trusts (UITs), particularly in the context of municipal bond trusts, which is the primary asset included in a UIT. Who invests in hedge funds, including whether or not you should decide to invest in hedge funds as a self-directed investor. Why managed futures are great assets to include in a risk-mitigating investment strategy for high-worth clients. Who this book is for Designed specifically for professional investment advisors and sophisticated individual investors, The Handbook of Professionally Managed Assets will answer the myriad of questions financial professionals have about everything from mutual funds to managed futures. Table of Contents Understanding Professionally Managed Assets Why Professionally Managed Assets? The Growth of Mutual Funds Long-Term Investing in Mutual Funds Mutual Fund Performance Measures and Selection Criteria Closed-End Funds Unit Investment Trusts Exchange-Traded Funds Hedge Funds Managed Futures Private Equity Funds Limited Partnerships and Real Estate Investment Trusts Individually and Separately Managed Accounts Variable and Variable Universal Life Insurance Variable Annuities Summary of the Present and Future of Professionally Managed Assets Glossary

Cover Art
Common Sense on Mutual Funds - John C. Bogle; David F. Swensen (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0470138130
Publication Date: 2009-12-02
John C. Bogle shares his extensive insights on investing in mutual funds Since the first edition of Common Sense on Mutual Funds was published in 1999, much has changed, and no one is more aware of this than mutual fund pioneer John Bogle. Now, in this completely updated Second Edition, Bogle returns to take another critical look at the mutual fund industry and help investors navigate their way through the staggering array of investment alternatives that are available to them. Written in a straightforward and accessible style, this reliable resource examines the fundamentals of mutual fund investing in today's turbulent market environment and offers timeless advice in building an investment portfolio. Along the way, Bogle shows you how simplicity and common sense invariably trump costly complexity, and how a low cost, broadly diversified portfolio is virtually assured of outperforming the vast majority of Wall Street professionals over the long-term. Written by respected mutual fund industry legend John C. Bogle Discusses the timeless fundamentals of investing that apply in any type of market Reflects on the structural and regulatory changes in the mutual fund industry Other titles by Bogle: The Little Book of Common Sense Investing and Enough. Securing your financial future has never seemed more difficult, but you'll be a better investor for having read the Second Edition of Common Sense on Mutual Funds.

Cover Art
White Collar Crime in the Mutual Fund Industry - Andrew Peterson
ISBN: 1593325169
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Peterson examines conditions and structures that led to abuses in the mutual fund industry. He seeks to provide understanding of not only the scandal's causes and its effects on investors, but also the regulatory response and reformation process. He breaks the scandal down into three parts: its root causes, regulatory responses by various actors, and attempts at reform and regulation. Key themes (e.g., why attorney generals were more successful in prosecuting this scandal than the SEC) are then identified to aid in a holistic understanding of the market timing and late trading scandal. The findings should help advance our understanding of financial scandals and white-collar crime.

Cover Art
Never Buy Another Stock Again - David Gaffen
ISBN: 0137071558
Publication Date: 2010-11-23
Want to build long-term, sustainable wealth? Then stay out of the stock market! That's radically different advice from what the "experts" have served up for decades... but look at the miserable results those pundits have delivered! Investors who've chosen equity-based buy-and-hold approaches have seen their assets decline dramatically: not just for a year, but often for decades. Fortunately, there are better ways to invest-- and Never Buy Another Stock Again reveals them. Renowned Reuters financial journalist David Gaffen first explains why stocks are an even worse short- and long-term investment than you realize. Next, he shows how to create a balanced portfolio that reflects a "big-picture," holistic approach, intelligently incorporating cash, real estate, retirement funds, savings, and other holdings. Gaffen's strategies rely primarily on investments outside the stock market, while identifying strictly limited roles for mutual funds and ETFs. Readers will learn how to: dramatically reduce investing costs that can kill your returns; invest in an environment where double-digit returns can never be expected; overcome huge flaws in conventional diversification strategies; and offset risks associated with existing equity ownership.

Cover Art
Mutual Fund Performance and Performance Persistence - Peter Lückoff
ISBN: 3834927805
Publication Date: 2011-01-13
Peter Lückoff investigates why fund flows and manager changes act as equilibrium mechanisms and drive the performance of both previously outperforming and previously underperforming funds back to average levels.

Cover Art
Mutual Funds - Robert W. Kolb; John A. Haslem (Editor)
Call Number: HG4530 .M88 2010
ISBN: 0470499095
Publication Date: 2009-11-02
An authoritative, must-read guide to making more informed decisions about mutual funds Providing a balance of theory and application, this authoritative book will enable you to evaluate the various performance and risk attributes of mutual funds. It covers a broad range of topics, including understanding the advantages and disadvantages of mutual funds, evaluating stock/bond allocations within fund portfolios, assessing fund diversification risk, measuring fund returns and risk, and making fund buy/sell decisions. While informative chapters combine clear summaries of existing research with practical guidelines for mutual fund analysis, step-by-step decision checklists guide you through the selection of various mutual funds. Puts the risks and rewards of mutual fund investing in perspective Skillfully examines how to select and evaluate the best mutual funds Outlines mutual fund service advantages and disadvantages Discusses the long- and short-term effectiveness of mutual funds Covering major theoretical and management issues in mutual fund analysis and portfolio management, this book is an authoritative guide.

Cover Art
Mutual Funds for Dummies - Consumer Dummies Staff; Eric Tyson
Call Number: HG4930 .T97 2010
ISBN: 0470623217
Publication Date: 2010-07-13
Position your portfolio for growth with one of America's bestselling mutual fund books Indicators are pointing to a rebound in mutual funds, and investors are returning! Newly revised and updated, Mutual Funds For Dummies, 6th Edition, provides you with expert insight on how to find the best-managed funds that match your financial goals. With straightforward advice and a plethora of specific up-to-date fund recommendations, personal finance expert Eric Tyson helps you avoid fund-investing pitfalls and maximize your chances of success. This revised edition features expanded coverage of ETFs, fund alternatives, and research methods Tyson provides his time-tested investing advice, as well as updates to his fund recommendations and coverage of tax law changes Sample fund portfolios and updated forms show you exactly how to accomplish your financial goals Pick the best funds, assemble and maintain your portfolio, evaluate your funds' performance, and track and invest in funds online with Mutual Funds For Dummies, 6th Edition!

Cover Art
Industrial Dynamics and the Evolution of Markets in the Mutual Fund Industry - Andreas Mattig
ISBN: 3834919381
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
The asset management, and more specifically the mutual fund industry, is facing major strategic challenges. Although the market is growing overall, its growth attracts a steady stream of new entrants and new products that jeopardize the position and profitability of (large) incumbent firms. In order to cope with this setting, Andreas Mattig focuses on a holistic market model to sketch the mutual fund industry structure. This allows to propose a new measurement approach and to track the industrial dynamics. Based on these theoretical contributions, he concentrates on governance aspects and moulds the results into a practice-oriented strategic framework.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip