This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Investment Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Investment Analysis   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazinvestmentanalysis Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Internet Resources

Journals

 

Books

Cover Art
Applied Equity Analysis and Portfolio Management - Robert A. Weigand
ISBN: 1118630912
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
A "hands-on" guide to applied equity analysis and portfolio management From asset allocation to modeling the intrinsic value of a stock, Applied Equity Analysis and Portfolio Management + Online Video Course offers readers a solid foundation in the practice of fundamental analysis using the same tools and techniques as professional investors. Filled with real-world illustrations and hands-on applications, Professor Weigand's learning system takes a rigorous, empirical approach to topics such as analyzing the macro-finance environment, sector rotation, financial analysis and valuation, assessing a company's competitive position, and reporting the performance of a stock portfolio. Unlike typical books on this subject--which feature chapters to read and exercises to complete--this resource allows readers to actively participate in the learning experience by completing writing exercises and manipulating interactive spreadsheets that illustrate the principles being taught. The learning system also features instructional videos that demonstrate how to use the spreadsheet models and excerpts from the author's blog, which are used to depict additional examples of the analysis process. Along the way, it skillfully outlines an effective approach to creating and interpreting outputs typically associated with a top-down money management shop -- including a macroeconomic forecasting newsletter, detailed stock research reports, and a portfolio performance attribution analysis. Covers topics including active and passive money management, fundamental analysis and portfolio attribution analysis Companion streaming videos show how to use free online data to create yourown analyses of key economic indicators, individual stocks, and stock portfolios A valuable resource for universities who have applied equity analysis and portfolio management courses Practical and up-to-date, the book is an excellent resource for those with a need for practical investment expertise.

Cover Art
The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis - Nicolas Schmidlin
ISBN: 1118843096
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis: A value investor's guide with real-life case studies covers all quantitative and qualitative approaches needed to evaluate the past and forecast the future performance of a company in a practical manner.nbsp; Is a given stock over or undervalued? How can the future prospects of a company be evaluated? How can complex valuation methods be applied in practice? The Art of Company Valuation and Financial Statement Analysis answers each of these questions and conveys the principles of company valuation in an accessible and applicable way. Valuation theory is linked to the practice of investing through financial statement analysis and interpretation, analysis of business models, company valuation, stock analysis, portfolio management and value Investing. The book's unique approach is to illustrate each valuation method with a case study of actual company performance.nbsp; More than 100 real case studies are included, supplementing the sound theoretical framework and offering potential investors a methodology that can easily be applied in practice. Written for asset managers, investment professionals and private investors who require a reliable, current and comprehensive guide to company valuation, the book aims to encourage readers to think like an entrepreneur, rather than a speculator, when it comes to investing in the stock markets. It is an approach that has led many to long term success and consistent returns that regularly outperform more opportunistic approaches to investment.

Cover Art
The Five Mistakes Every Investor Makes and How to Avoid Them - Peter Mallouk
ISBN: 1118929004
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Identify mistakes standing in the way of investment success With so much at stake in investing and wealth management, investors cannot afford to keep repeating actions that could have serious negative consequences for their financial goals. The Five Mistakes Every Investor Makes and How to Avoid Them focuses on what investors do wrong so often so they can set themselves on the right path to success. In this comprehensive reference, readers learn to navigate the ever-changing variables and market dilemmas that often make investing a risky and daunting endeavor. Well-known and respected author Peter Mallouk shares useful investment techniques, discusses the importance of disciplined investment management, and pinpoints common, avoidable mistakes made by professional and everyday investors alike. Designed to provide a workable, sensible framework for investors, The Five Mistakes Every Investor Makes and How to Avoid Them encourages investors to refrain from certain negative actions, such as fighting the market, misunderstanding performance, and letting one′s biases and emotions get in the way of investing success. Details the major mistakes made by professional and everyday investors Highlights the strategies and mindset necessary for navigating ever-changing variables and market dilemmas Includes useful investment techniques and discusses the importance of discipline in investment management Provides additional content and resources on a companion website A reliable resource for investors who want to make more informed choices, this book steers readers away from past investment errors and guides them in the right direction.

Cover Art
All about Value Investing - Faerber
ISBN: 0071811125
Publication Date: 2013-11-19
MASTER THE STRATEGY THAT MADE WARREN BUFFETT THE WORLD'S MOST SUCCESSFUL INVESTOR One way to make a killing in the market is by identifying underappreciated stocks, purchasing them at less than their intrinsic value, and selling them for profit. It's called value investing, and it's how Ben Graham, David Dodd, and Warren Buffett made their fortunes. Now, the secrets of value investing are available to you in this easy-to-understand guide. All About Value Investing covers all practical aspects of this winning investing strategy. Avoiding complicated theories and technical explanations, it shows you how value investing works and how you can use it to draw amazing profits from the stock market. Learn how to: Read balance sheets and income statements to research possible investments Use fundamental analysis to project a company's future earnings Construct a value investing portfolio suited to your specific needs Use a variety of funds in lieu of individual stocks inyour value investing portfolio

Cover Art
Asset Rotation - Matthew P. Erickson
ISBN: 1118779193
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
An all-weather, tactical approach to asset management utilizing Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) In Asset Rotation, portfolio management pioneer Matthew P. Erickson demonstrates a time-tested approach to asset management that has worked throughout the history of capital markets, in good times and bad. Providing investors with strong participation in rising markets, but more importantly with a discipline to reduce participation in prolonged declines. Over time this revolutionary approach has yielded superior returns, with significantly reduced levels of risk; providing the engine for true, long-term sustainable growth. The investment world as we know it has changed, and the paradigm has shifted. What has worked in the past may no longer work in the future. No longer may bonds be regarded as a safe haven asset class, as for the first time in generations, investors in fixed income face losses as interest rates rise from historical all-time lows. For those adhering to a conventional Modern Portfolio Theory based investment approach to asset management, what was once regarded as safe and stable, may very well soon become our greatest impediment. Asset Rotation provides investors with a practical solution for today′s real world problems. This tactical approach to asset management provides us with concrete proof that there is indeed a better way. We are standing on the precipice of an Investment Renaissance . What was previously impossible, is now possible. Find out how. Presents an easy-to-understand price momentum-based approach to investing Illustrates the benefits of asset rotation Offers a systematic approach for securing a sound financial future Provides further insights as to how to customize your own asset rotation portfolio Matthew Erickson gives investors a hands-on resource for how to navigate an increasingly difficult investment landscape, by providing them with keen insights into the most rapidly growing segment of the investment markets.

Cover Art
The Economist Guide to Investment Strategy (3rd Ed) - The Economist Staff; Peter Stanyer
ISBN: 1610393910
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Supported by numerous charts and detailed analysis, The Economist Guide to Investment Strategy outlines how to construct investment strategies appropriate for individual investors. It looks at the risks and opportunities of uncomplicated strategies and it comes with wealth-warnings for those who wish to explore more sophisticated and fashionable investment approaches. It emphasizes the importance of taking into account insights from behavioral analysis as well as the principles of traditional finance. It highlights how habitual patterns of decision-making can lead any of us into costly mistakes, and it stresses how markets are most dangerous when they appear to be most rewarding.

Cover Art
Building Algorithmic Trading Systems - Kevin Davey
ISBN: 1118778987
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
Develop your own trading system with practical guidance and expert advice In Building Algorithmic Trading Systems: A Trader's Journey From Data Mining to Monte Carlo Simulation to Live Training, award-winning trader Kevin Davey shares his secrets for developing trading systems that generate triple-digit returns. With both explanation and demonstration, Davey guides you step-by-step through the entire process of generating and validating an idea, setting entry and exit points, testing systems, and implementing them in live trading. You'll find concrete rules for increasing or decreasing allocation to a system, and rules for when to abandon one. The companion website includes Davey's own Monte Carlo simulator and other tools that will enable you to automate and test your own trading ideas. A purely discretionary approach to trading generally breaks down over the long haul. With market data and statistics easily available, traders are increasingly opting to employ an automated or algorithmic trading system?enough that algorithmic trades now account for the bulk of stock trading volume. Building Algorithmic Trading Systems teaches you how to develop your own systems with an eye toward market fluctuations and the impermanence of even the most effective algorithm. Learn the systems that generated triple-digit returns in the World Cup Trading Championship Develop an algorithmic approach for any trading idea using off-the-shelf software or popular platforms Test your new system using historical and current market data Mine market data for statistical tendencies that may form the basis of a new system Market patterns change, and so do system results. Past performance isn't a guarantee of future success, so the key is to continually develop new systems and adjust established systems in response to evolving statistical tendencies. For individual traders looking for the next leap forward, Building Algorithmic Trading Systems provides expert guidance and practical advice.

Cover Art
Cycle Analytics for Traders + Downloadable Software - John F. Ehlers
ISBN: 1118728513
Publication Date: 2013-11-18
A technical resource for self-directed traders who want to understand the scientific underpinnings of the filters and indicators used in trading decisions This is a technical resource book written for self-directed traders who want to understand the scientific underpinnings of the filters and indicators they use in their trading decisions. There is plenty of theory and years of research behind the unique solutions provided in this book, but the emphasis is on simplicity rather than mathematical purity. In particular, the solutions use a pragmatic approach to attain effective trading results. Cycle Analytics for Traders will allow traders to think of their indicators and trading strategies in the frequency domain as well as their motions in the time domain. This new viewpoint will enable them to select the most efficient filter lengths for the job at hand. Shows an awareness of Spectral Dilation, and how to eliminate it or to use it to your advantage Discusses how to use Automatic Gain Control (AGC) to normalize indicator amplitude swings Explains thinking of prices in the frequency domain as well as in the time domain Creates an awareness that all indicators are statistical rather than absolute, as implied by their single line displays Sheds light on several advanced cookbook filters Showcases new advanced indicators like the Even Better Sinewave and Decycler Indicators Explains how to use transforms to improve the display and interpretation of indicators

Cover Art
Getting Started in Chart Patterns - Thomas N. Bulkowski
ISBN: 1118859200
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Your plain-English guide to understanding and using technical chart patterns Chart pattern analysis is not only one of the most important investing tools, but also one of the most popular. Filled with expert insights and practical advice from one of the best in the business, Getting Started in Chart Patterns, Second Edition helps new and seasoned traders alike profit by tracking and identifying specific chart patterns. Substantially revised and expanded, this new edition stay true to the original, with author Thomas Bulkowski's frank discussion of how trading behavior can affect the bottom line. Interwoven throughout the technical presentations are fascinating anecdotes drawn from the author's quarter-century as a professional trader that vividly demonstrate how one of the best in the business leverages the power of chart patterns. Includes additional charts for ETFs and mutual funds Introduces more than 40 key chart formations, as well as trading tactics that can be used in conjunction with them Supplies actual trades, with their corresponding dollar amounts If you're looking to gain a better understanding of this discipline, look no further than the Second Edition of Getting Started in Chart Patterns.

Cover Art
The Investor's Paradox - Brian Portnoy
Call Number: HG4529.5 .P678 2014
ISBN: 113727848X
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
We're all familiar with "choice overload," whether on a trip to the grocery store, or while flipping through satellite TV channels. And while it's human to want all of the options, the surprising truth is that the more choice we have, the less satisfied we are. And nowhere is this more true - or more dangerous - than in our investments. Despite the troubled global economy, there are tens of thousands of mutual funds, hedge funds, exchange-traded funds, and other vehicles waiting to take your money. For help, individual and institutional investors alike turn to financial managers, though they are often no better equipped than the average person to assess and manage risk. In The Investor's Paradox, hedge fund expert Brian Portnoy explains how to sift through today's diverse investment choices and solve even the most daunting portfolio problems. Drawing on cutting-edge research in behavioral economics, social psychology and choice theory, Portnoy lays bare the biases that interfere with good decision-making, and gives readers a set of basic tools they can use to tell the good from the bad. Along the way, he demystifies hedge funds, cuts through the labyrinth of the modern financial supermarket, and debunks popular myths, including the idea that mutual funds can "beat the market."

Cover Art
Keynes's Way to Wealth - John F. Wasik
ISBN: 0071815473
Publication Date: 2013-11-18
“Mr. Wasik’s distillation of how Keynes made--and then remade--his fortune is instructive. And the principles that Keynes followed have stood the test of time. As Mr. Wasik adds, 'The object of investing is to ensure prosperity, not to become obsessed with making money.'" The New York Times John Maynard Keynes indelibly made his mark on global economics... Few people know, however, that he was also a daring,steel-nerved investor who built a multimilliondollarfortune in the stock market while providing financial counsel to the likes of Winston Churchill and FDR. Now, you can learn from--and imitate--Keynes's success by examining the story of his lifeand investment strategies, masterfully told by awardwinning author John F. Wasik. As you follow Keynes from his early years with theBloomsbury Group, through two world wars and the Great Depression Keynes's theories and practices come to life by way of the historic and personal events that shaped them. Like today's investors, Keynes faced markets roiled by panic, inflation, deflation, widespread unemployment, and war--and he developed a core set of principles to prosper in every climate. With the individual investor in mind,this straightforward guide makes it easy for investorsat all levels to implement the action-oriented strategiespresented in each of the 10 chapters and start investing like Keynes today by: Buying and holding quality stocks Ignoring short-term news Building diversified portfolios Trading contrary to market momentum Getting the most out of dividend stocks Using the eloquent insight of a seasoned investmentwriter, author John F. Wasik digs down into what investments Keynes owned, how he bought and sold them, how his theories guided his investments, and vice versa. He illustrates why Keynes's ideas, insights, and portfolio strategies have withstood the test of time, and how they will continue to produce financial gains for dedicated investors. In a nutshell, Wasik delivers a pragmatic guide to the style of portfolio management practiced by such Keynes followers as Benjamin Graham, Warren Buffett, andCharles Munger. The smart money gets richer in all types of weather,and so can you by following Keynes's Way to Wealth. PRAISE FOR KEYNES'S WAY TO WEALTH: "Intelligent investing ultimately depends on having an intelligent theory of the economy. This story of Keynes's life as an investor illustrates this beautifully." -- Robert Shiller, professor of Economics, Yale University;New York Times columnist; and author of Finance and the Good Society "The great economist John Maynard Keynes speculated and lost big-time. Out of the ashes, he evolved some great long-term investment strategies that will work for every prudent investor. While picking up tips, you'll also find that this book is a great read." -- Jane Bryant Quinn, author of Making the Most of Your Money NOW "I'd always heard Keynes was a talented investor but never knew any of the details. John Wasik's excellent book uncovers that story and reveals Keynes's considerable investing skills. If you enjoy studying great investors, add this book to your list." -- Joe Mansueto, founder and CEO, Morningstar, Inc. "With the possible exception of Mark Twain, no one surpasses John Maynard Keynes as a source of pithy financial wisdom and sayings. Keynes’s Way to Wealth mines the reasoning and investment experiences behind his quotability, a bounty that will simultaneously edify, entertain, and augment your bottom line." -- William J. Bernstein, author and principal, Efficient Frontier Advisors

Cover Art
The Little Book of Market Wizards - Jack D. Schwager
ISBN: 1118858697
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
An accessible look at the art of investing and how to adopt the practices of top professionals What differentiates the highly successful market practitioners--the Market Wizards--from ordinary traders? What traits do they share? What lessons can the average trader learn from those who achieved superior returns for decades while still maintaining strict risk control? Jack Schwager has spent the past 25 years interviewing the market legends in search of the answers--a quest chronicled in four prior Market Wizards volumes totaling nearly 2,000 pages. In The Little Book of Market Wizards, Jack Schwager seeks to distill what he considers the essential lessons he learned in conducting nearly four dozen interviews with some of the world's best traders. The book delves into the mindset and processes of highly successful traders, providing insights that all traders should find helpful in improving their trading skills and results. Each chapter focuses on a specific theme essential to market success Describes how all market participants can benefit by incorporating the related traits, behaviors, and philosophies of the Market Wizards in their own trading Filled with compelling anecdotes that bring the trading messages to life, and direct quotes from the market greats that resonate with the wisdom born of experience and skill Stepping clearly outside the narrow confines of most investment books, The Little Book of Market Wizards focuses on the value of understanding one's self within the context of successful investing.

Cover Art
The Pillars of Finance - Guy Fraser-Sampson
ISBN: 1137264055
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
In The Pillars of Finance, author and finance expert Guy Fraser-Sampson challenges the fundamental conventions of modern finance. He asserts that, at its core, finance is not the highly scientific, modern discipline that most would claim, but has in fact stood still for the past 50 years. Central to the book are the main pillars of the financial markets – risk, return, and value – pillars of financial practice that are not properly understood by the industry, as began to become clear in 2007. Instead, the industry is blinded by a quantitative maze, obsessed with mathematical solutions, stochastic models, and normal distributions, which, although they have a place, should not provide the bedrock of the global marketplace. The author also looks at the industry's overreliance on past performance. Historical data is the foundation of financial forecasting and derivatives pricing, and while much can be gleaned from the past, it cannot and should not be seen as a mirror of the future. Finally, the author provides solutions to these issues, which include the need for the industry to undergo a transformation similar to that which occurred in the Modernist movement in other fields. He argues for a return to more qualitative and informed approaches to finance, bringing back intuition, skill, responsibility, and competency. Drawing from many fields of knowledge, including philosophy, psychology, and history, he encourages readers to question everything, rather than tamely accepting conventional wisdom. The Pillars of Finance is a lively and provocative read, challenging some of the core beliefs of modern finance. It will spark fierce debate and prove a popular read for anyone interested in modern finance.

Cover Art
Risk-Return Analysis - Harry M. Markowitz; Kenneth A. Blay
ISBN: 007181793X
Publication Date: 2013-09-17
The two most important words Harry Markowitz ever wrote are "portfolio selection." In 1952, when everyone in the stock market was looking for the next hot stock, as a doctoral candidate, he proposed to look at many, diverse stocks--a portfolio. He laid the first cornerstone of Modern Portfolio Theory and defended the idea that strategic asset growth means factoring in the risk of an investment. More than 60 years later, the father of modern finance revisits his original masterpiece, describes how his theory has developed, and proves the vitality of hisrisk-return analysis in the current global economy. Risk-Return Analysis opens the door to agroundbreaking four-book series giving readers a privileged look at the personal reflections and current strategies of a luminary in finance. This first volume is Markowitz''s response to what he calls the "Great Confusion" that spread when investors lost faith in the diversification benefits of MPT during the financial crisis of 2008. It demonstrates why MPT never became ineffective during the crisis, and how you can continue to reap the rewards of managed diversification into the future. Economists and financial advisors will benefit from the potent balance of theory and hard data on mean-variance analysis aimed at improving decision-making skills. Written for the academic and the practitioner withsome math skills (mostly high school algebra), this richly illustrated guide arms you with: Concrete steps to accurately select and apply the right risk measures in a given circumstance Rare surveys of a half-century of literature covering the applicability of MPT Empirical data showing mean and riskmeasure used to maximize return in the long term PRAISE FOR RISK-RETURN ANALYSIS "Harry Markowitz invented portfolio analysis and presented the theory in his famous 1952 article and 1959 book. Nobody has greater insight into the process than Harry. No academic or practitioner can truly claim to understand portfolio analysis unless they have read this volume." -- Martin J. Gruber, Professor Emeritus and Scholar in Residence, Stern School of Business, New York University "Surveying the vast literature inspired by [Markowitz''s] own 1959 book has stimulated an outpouring of ideas. He builds on the strengths and limitations of the important papers in order to come up with a position that should silence a lot of critics." -- Jack Treynor, President, Treynor Capital Management "The authors do not overlook various criticisms of the MPT, but rather address them convincingly. This excellent book is an essential reference for academics and practitioners alike." -- Haim Levy, Miles Robinson Professor of Finance, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel "Markowitz''s groundbreaking publications on Portfolio Selection prescribe a methodology that a rational decision-maker can follow to optimize his investment portfolio in a risky world. . . . Thischallenging new book clarifies many common misconceptions about modern portfolio theory." -- Roger C. Gibson, author of Asset Allocation and Chief Investment Officer, Gibson Capital, LLC "Contain[s] great wisdom that every economist, portfolio manager, and investor should savor page by page." -- Andrew W. Lo, Charles E. and Susan T. Harris Professor and Director, Laboratory for Financial Engineering, MIT Sloan School of Management "[Markowitz''s] monumental work in the 1950s would be sufficient to qualify as a lifetime achievement for most mortals, but he keeps spouting fresh insights like lightning flashes year after year, and penetrating ever deeper into the theory, mathematics, and practice of investing." -- Martin Leibowitz, Managing Director, Global Research Strategy, Morgan Stanley "Risk-Return Analysis is a wonderful work in progress by a remarkable scholar who always has time to read what matters, who has the deepest appreciation of scientific achievement, and who has the highest aspirations for the future." -- Enterprising Investor (CFA Institute)

Cover Art
Strategic Value Investing - Stephen Horan; Thomas Robinson; Robert Johnson
ISBN: 0071781668
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Benjamin Graham referred to it as his "margin of safety." Seth Klarman favors it over all other investment methods. Warren Buffett uses it to make millions for his investors. It's called value investing, and you can make it work wonders for your portfolio. All you need is money to invest, a little patience--and this book. Strategic Value Investing reveals everything you need to know to build a world-class portfolio using value investing as your north star. Written by experts on valuation and financial analysis, this comprehensive guide breaks it all down into an easy-to-implement process. The authors explain the ins and outs of determining when a stock is undervalued, then purchasing it and selling it for a profit when the rest of the world learns what you knew all along. With Strategic Value Investing, you'll learn how to: Distinguish between the various measures of value, including going concern, replacement value, fair market value, book value, and intrinsic value Identify undervalued companies before everyone else, and know what to look for, what to avoid, when to buy, and when to sell The authors teach you how to establish a dispassionate value investing philosophy tailored to your needs. Equally important, they provide the tools you need to adhere to this often contrarian approach regardless of your emotions or crowd sentiment. Get in before the crowd--and get out when the price is right with Strategic Value Investing. Praise for Strategic Value Investing "A book that has much the same character as a good value investor: calm, disciplined, with a grasp both of broad theory and of how to apply it." --JOHN AUTHERS, senior investment columnist, Financial Times "This comprehensive look at valuation techniques is not only insightful, but can be easily put to use by individual and professional investors alike." --CHARLES ROTBLUT, CFA, Vice President, the American Association of Individual Investors "Offers a sound fundamental perspective for those looking to deepen their analysis around stocks. A great resource for all types of value investors." --HEATHER BRILLIANT, CFA, global head of equity research at Morningstar and member of the CFA Institute Board of Governors "This book is of Real Value! It updates the pioneering work of Ben Graham and Phillip Fisher, blending the valuation techniques of the masters (such as Warren Buffett) and provides institutional and individual investors the A to Z of value investing from a practitioner perspective." --JOHN MAGINN, CFA, EVP & CIO, Mutual of Omaha (retired) and coeditor of Managing Investment Portfolios "An actionable road map for implementing a disciplined value investing strategy. Very much in the Ben Graham style. The sophisticated individual investor will find this comprehensive digest a continual and timeless reference." --WALLACE FORBES, CFA, President of Forbes Investors Advisory Institute, Division of Forbes magazine "Many books propose to help you learn how to become a better value investor. This one, which is bound to become a staple of every value investor's library, delivers on its promise." --ROBERT POWELL, editor of Retirement Weekly and columnist of "MarketWatch"

Cover Art
Technical Analysis for Dummies® - Barbara Rockefeller
ISBN: 1118779614
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
A simple, straightforward guide to the fundamentals of technical analysis Technical analysis is a collection of techniques designed to help you make trading decisions in securities markets. Technical Analysis For Dummies helps you take a hard-headed look at what securities prices are actually doing rather than what economists or analysts say they should be doing, giving you the know-how to use that data to decide whether to buy or sell individual securities. Since the publication of the first edition, readers have been faced with many changes, such as new interest rates, looming bank crises, and adjusting market climates. This new edition provides an updated look at unique formulas and key indicators, as well as refreshed and practical examples that reflect today today's financial atmosphere. Determine how markets are performing and make decisions using real data Spot investment trends and turning points Improve your profits and your portfolio performance With straightforward coverage of concepts and execution, Technical Analysis For Dummies shows you how to make better trading decisions in no time.

Cover Art
Why Moats Matter - Heather Brilliant; Elizabeth Collins
ISBN: 1118760239
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
Incorporate economic moat analysis for profitable investing Why Moats Matter is a comprehensive guide to finding great companies with economic moats, or competitive advantages. This book explains the investment approach used by Morningstar, Inc., and includes a free trial to Morningstar's Research. Economic moats?or sustainable competitive advantages?protect companies from competitors. Legendary investor Warren Buffett devised the economic moat concept. Morningstar has made it the foundation of a successful stock-investing philosophy. Morningstar views investing in the most fundamental sense: For Morningstar, investing is about holding shares in great businesses for long periods of time. How can investors tell a great business from a poor one? A great business can fend off competition and earn high returns on capital for many years to come. The key to finding these great companies is identifying economic moats that stem from at least one of five sources of competitive advantage?cost advantage, intangible assets, switching costs, efficient scale, and network effect. Each source is explored in depth throughout this book. Even better than finding a great business is finding one at a great price. The stock market affords virtually unlimited opportunities to track prices and buy or sell securities at any hour of the day or night. But looking past that noise and understanding the value of a business's underlying cash flows is the key to successful long-term investing. When investors focus on a company's fundamental value relative to its stock price, and not where the stock price sits today versus a month ago, a day ago, or five minutes ago, investors start to think like owners, not traders. And thinking like an owner will makes readers better investors. The book provides a fundamental framework for successful long-term investing. The book helps investors answer two key questions: How can investors identify a great business, and when should investors buy that business to maximize return? Using fundamental moat and valuation analysis has led to superior risk-adjusted returns and made Morningstar analysts some of the industry's top stock-pickers. In this book, Morningstar shares the ins and outs of its moat-driven investment philosophy, which readers can use to identify great stock picks for their own portfolios.

Cover Art
Alternative Investments - H. Kent Baker; Greg Filbeck
ISBN: 1118241126
Publication Date: 2013-03-25
A comprehensive guide to alternative investments that reveals today's latest research and strategies Historically low interest rates and bear markets in world stock markets have generated intense interest in alternative investments. With returns in traditional investment vehicles relatively low, many professional investors view alternative investments as a means of meeting their return objectives. Alternative Investments: Instruments, Performance, Benchmarks, and Strategies, can put you in a better position to achieve this difficult goal. Part of the Robert W. Kolb Series in Finance, Alternative Investments provides an in-depth discussion of the historic performance, benchmarks, and strategies of every major alternative investment market. With contributions from professionals and academics around the world, it offers valuable insights on the latest trends, research, and thinking in each major area. Empirical evidence about each type of alternative investment is featured, with research presented in a straightforward manner. Examines a variety of major alternative asset classes, from real estate, private equity, and commodities to managed futures, hedge funds, and distressed securities Provides detailed insights on the latest research and strategies, and offers a thorough explanation of historical performance, benchmarks, and other critical information Blends knowledge from the conceptual world of scholars with the pragmatic view of practitioners in this field Alternative investments provide a means of diversification, risk control, and return enhancement and, as such, are attractive to many professional investors. If you're looking for an effective way to hone your skills in this dynamic area of finance, look no further than this book.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip