This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - International Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - International Finance   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazinternational Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • International Financial Statistics
    This is also available in print format at WCL (see "Books" section), but online you can pull only specific statistics, or view charts comparing countries side-by-side.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)  Icon
    A premier source for international financial information. Create your own custom reports comparing your chosen data points across your specified countries.
  • Passport GMID
    Geared towards marketing, but the site has some economic and financial data and analysis reports, and information on consumer behavior and credit by country that may be of interest.
  • Uniworld Directories
    Basically two directories: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating In The United States.
  • Datastream Professional  Icon
    Datastream's specialty is a massive collection of global financial datasets.

Internet Resources

Journals

 

Books

Cover Art
The Handbook of International Trade and Finance - Anders Grath
ISBN: 0749469544
Publication Date: 2013-12-28
For anyone involved in international sales, finance, shipping and administration, or for those studying for academic or professional qualifications in international trade, The Handbook of International Trade & Finance offers an extensive and topical explanation of the key finance areas - including risk management, international payments and currency management. This essential reference resource provides the information necessary to help you to reduce risks and improve cash flow, identify the most competitive finance alternatives, structure the best payment terms, and minimize finance and transaction costs. This fully revised and updated 3rd edition also describes the negotiating process from the perspectives of both the buyer and the seller, providing valuable insight into the complete financing process, and covering key topics such as: - trade risks and risk assessment - export credit insurance - methods of payment - trade finance - bonds, guarantees and standby letters of credit - terms of payment - currency risk managementThe Handbook gives a complete and thorough assessment of all the issues involved in constructing, financing and completing a cross-border transaction and is an indispensable guide for anyone who deals with international trade.

Cover Art
International Financial Management - Jeff Madura
Call Number: HG3881 .M2765 2015
ISBN: 1133947832
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Prepare for success in international finance with this best-selling book's effective presentation of in-depth theory and practical applications. INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT 12E builds on the fundamental principles of corporate finance to provide the timely information and contemporary insights needed to prosper in today's global business environment. This book discusses a wide range of managerial topics using a strong corporate perspective and highlights financial reform and its impact on the international finance today. An emphasis on the most recent financial industry trends further prepares readers to understand and effectively manage within the dynamic field of international finance.

Cover Art
International Finance for Dummies - Consumer Dummies Staff; Ayse Evrensel
Call Number: HG3881 .E97 2013
ISBN: 111852389X
Publication Date: 2013-04-29
Want to get the most out of your International Finance course? Nowadays the value of daily foreign exchange trading is more than one hundred times the value of annual international trade in goods and services. As result of the great importance of international financial transactions, the subject of international finance continues to develop as fast as?or faster than?any other field in economics and finance. International Finance For Dummies sheds light on this increasingly important subject for the growing number of students required to take this course. If you're an undergraduate or MBA student enrolled in an international finance course, this hands-on, friendly guide gives you everything you need to succeed. Plus, it includes up-to-date information on the latest changes to International Finance Reporting Standards, its impact on a company's overall finances, and the various currencies and institutions available worldwide. Serves as an excellent supplement to your international finance texts Provides easy-to-understand explanations of complex material Brings you up-to-speed on the concepts and subject matter you need to know International Finance For Dummies is your ticket to scoring your highest in your international finance course.

Cover Art
The Death of Money - James Rickards
Call Number: HG221 .R513 2014
ISBN: 1591846706
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
#147;The next financial collapse will resemblenbsp;nothing in history. . . . Deciding uponnbsp;the best course to follow will requirenbsp;comprehending a minefield of risks, whilenbsp;poised at a crossroads, pondering thenbsp;death of the dollar.” The international monetary system has collapsed threenbsp;times in the past hundred years, in 1914, 1939, and 1971.nbsp;Each collapse was followed by a period of tumult: war,nbsp;civil unrest, or significant damage to the stability of thenbsp;global economy. Now James Rickards, the acclaimednbsp;author of Currency Wars, shows why another collapsenbsp;is rapidly approaching#151;and why this time, nothing lessnbsp;than the institution of money itself is at risk. The American dollar has been the global reservenbsp;currency since the end of the Second World War. If thenbsp;dollar fails, the entire international monetary system willnbsp;fail with it. No other currency has the deep, liquid poolsnbsp;of assets needed to do the job. Optimists have always said, in essence, that there’snbsp;nothing to worry about#151;that confidence in the dollarnbsp;will never truly be shaken, no matter how high ournbsp;national debt or how dysfunctional our government. Butnbsp;in the last few years, the risks have become too big tonbsp;ignore. While Washington is gridlocked and unable tonbsp;make progress on our long-term problems, our biggestnbsp;economic competitors#151;China, Russia, and the oilproducingnbsp;nations of the Middle East#151;are doing everythingnbsp;possible to end U.S. monetary hegemony. Thenbsp;potential results: Financial warfare. Deflation. Hyperinflation.nbsp;Market collapse. Chaos. Rickards offers a bracing analysis of these andnbsp;other threats to the dollar. The fundamental problem isnbsp;that money and wealth have become more and morenbsp;detached. Money is transitory and ephemeral, and it maynbsp;soon be worthless if central bankers and politicians continuenbsp;on their current path. But true wealth is permanentnbsp;and tangible, and it has real value worldwide. The author shows how everyday citizens who savenbsp;and invest have become guinea pigs in the centralnbsp;bankers’ laboratory. The world’s major financial players#151;national governments, big banks, multilateralnbsp;institutions#151;will always muddle through by patchingnbsp;together new rules of the game. The real victims of thenbsp;next crisis will be small investors who assumed that whatnbsp;worked for decades will keep working. Fortunately, it’s not too late to prepare for the comingnbsp;death of money. Rickards explains the power ofnbsp;converting unreliable money into real wealth: gold, land,nbsp;fine art, and other long-term stores of value. As he writes:nbsp;#147;The coming collapse of the dollar and the internationalnbsp;monetary system is entirely foreseeable. . . . Only nationsnbsp;and individuals who make provision today will survivenbsp;the maelstrom to come.”

Cover Art
The Dollar Trap - Eswar S. Prasad
ISBN: 0691161127
Publication Date: 2014-01-26
The U.S. dollar's dominance seems under threat. The near collapse of the U.S. financial system in 2008-2009, political paralysis that has blocked effective policymaking, and emerging competitors such as the Chinese renminbi have heightened speculation about the dollar's looming displacement as the main reserve currency. Yet, as The Dollar Trap powerfully argues, the financial crisis, a dysfunctional international monetary system, and U.S. policies have paradoxically strengthened the dollar's importance. Eswar Prasad examines how the dollar came to have a central role in the world economy and demonstrates that it will remain the cornerstone of global finance for the foreseeable future. Marshaling a range of arguments and data, and drawing on the latest research, Prasad shows why it will be difficult to dislodge the dollar-centric system. With vast amounts of foreign financial capital locked up in dollar assets, including U.S. government securities, other countries now have a strong incentive to prevent a dollar crash. Prasad takes the reader through key contemporary issues in international finance--including the growing economic influence of emerging markets, the currency wars, the complexities of the China-U.S. relationship, and the role of institutions like the International Monetary Fund--and offers new ideas for fixing the flawed monetary system. Readers are also given a rare look into some of the intrigue and backdoor scheming in the corridors of international finance. The Dollar Trap offers a panoramic analysis of the fragile state of global finance and makes a compelling case that, despite all its flaws, the dollar will remain the ultimate safe-haven currency.

Cover Art
Economics of International Financial System - Sukumar Nandi
Call Number: HG3881 .N294 2014
ISBN: 0415660238
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
Economics of the International Financial System offers an illuminating, engaging and lucid account of the working of 21st-century global political economy. From a macroeconomic perspective, it explores how major capitalist economies are closely integrated with each other in that none can remain unaffected by economic events around the globe. The book is one of the first in its genre to examine: the origin and relevance of international money as a concept and phenomenon; the structure of various money markets; the nature and functioning of major international financial institutions such as the World Bank, International Monetary Fund (IMF) and International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD); and the dynamics of the new world financial system that emerged after the demise of Bretton Woods system. This will form an essential reading for students and scholars of international monetary economics, international corporate finance, researchers, policymakers, bankers and financial executives.

Cover Art
Handbook of the International Political Economy of Monetary Relations - Thomas Oatley (Editor); W. Kindred Winecoff (Editor)
ISBN: 0857938363
Publication Date: 2014-08-30
'Here is an intellectual feast for anyone interested in the political economy of international monetary and financial systems, served up by an impressive collection of experts. Students and specialists alike can gorge themselves on the many fascinating analyses of core issues and latest debates in the field. Highly recommended for anyone with an appetite to learn more about global money and finance.'- Eric Helleiner, University of Waterloo, CanadaThis extensive Handbook provides an in-depth exploration of the political economy dynamics associated with the international monetary and financial systems. Leading experts offer a fresh take on research into the interaction between system structure, the self-interest of private firms, the political institutions within which governments make policy, and the ideas that influence beliefs about appropriate policy responses. Crucially they also assess how these factors have shaped the political economy of various facets of monetary and financial systems.

Cover Art
Macroeconomic Analysis and International Finance - Georgios P. Kouretas (Editor); Athanasios P. Papadopoulos (Editor); William Barnett (Contribution by)
ISBN: 1783507551
Publication Date: 2014-02-20
This volume contains new important research on banking institutions and performance in transition economies, economic growth and inequality and exchange rate economics and international finance. Topics include exchange rate exposure of firms, the relationship between monetary policy and house price shocks, economic interdependence of south-eastern European countries, China's exchange rate policy and economic growth, inequality and financial sector. Among the questions answered are: Is exchange rate volatility a significant determinant of average firm level exposure? Can we identify shocks that can be interpreted as loose monetary shocks, low inflation shocks, banks credit shocks and house price shocks? What are the main factors driving the relationship between banks and companies in transition economies? Does it matter for forecasting GDP growth whether the economy is in tranquil times or during a period of turbulence? Has economic growth played any role in reducing inequality in South Africa? Are global bilateral investment holdings characterized by strong persistence? And finally, Is China's international competitiveness fluctuates in consistency with PPP equilibrium?

Cover Art
Transnational Financial Regulation after the Crisis - Tony Porter (Editor)
ISBN: 0415822688
Publication Date: 2014-02-19
The global financial crisis that began in 2007 was the most destructive since the 1930s. The rapid spread of the crisis across borders and the complexity of these cross-border linkages highlighted the importance for authorities of working together in responding to the crisis. This book examines the transnational response that relied heavily on a set of relatively informal transnational regulatory groupings that had been constructed over previous decades. During the crisis these arrangements were made stronger and more inclusive, but they remain very complex. Thousands of pages of new rules have been created by various transnational bodies, and the implementation of these rules relies heavily on domestic law and regulation and private rules and practices. This book analyses this complex response, showing that its overly technical and incremental character, the persistence of tensions between transnational processes and state-centred politics, and the ongoing power of private actors, have made the regulatory response fall short of what is needed. Transnational Financial Regulation after the Crisis provides new insights that are relevant for theory and practice, not only for transnational financial regulation, but for global governance more generally.

Cover Art
101 Things Everyone Needs to Know about the Global Economy - Michael Taillard
ISBN: 1440544115
Publication Date: 2013-01-18
The principles of global economics in easy-to-understand terms! The news is full of accounts of the rise and fall of economies around the world, but you may not know how these changes can affect your life. 101 Things Everyone Needs to Know about the Global Economy takes the basics of global economics and breaks them into ten straightforward chapters. From the organizations involved and trade imbalances to global risk and foreign investment, Dr. Michael Taillard describes the world markets in terms that you can recognize. You'll also learn how these matters affect the United States and your own financial future. With 101 Things Everyone Needs to Know about the Global Economy, you get the information you need to not only protect your finances, but also reap the benefits of other nations' wealth and resources.

Cover Art
Exchange Rates and International Financial Economics - John N. Kallianiotis
Call Number: HG3851 .K25 2013
ISBN: 113728322X
Publication Date: 2013-10-03
The recent financial crisis has troubled the US, Europe, and beyond, and is indicative of the integrated world in which we live. Today, transactions take place with the use of foreign currencies, and their values affect the nations' economies and their citizens' welfare. Exchange Rates and International Financial Economics provides readers with the historic, theoretical, and practical knowledge of these relative prices among currencies. While much of the previous work on the topic has been simply descriptive or theoretical, Kallianiotis gives a unique and intimate understanding of international exchange rates and their place in an increasingly globalized world.

Cover Art
Global Asset Management - Michael Pinedo (Editor); Ingo Walter (Editor)
ISBN: 1137329475
Publication Date: 2013-09-26
This book focuses on all major aspects of the asset management industry including its regulations, strategies, processes, applied technologies, and risks. It provides a serious resource for readers seeking greater depth and alternative opinions on specific industry developments, and breadth for specialists interested in the dynamics of the industry.

Cover Art
Global Finance after the Crisis - Richard A. Iley; Mervyn K. Lewis
ISBN: 1781951853
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
Richard Iley and Mervyn Lewis have written an extremely useful book on the global economy since the Western financial crisis. Well-written, well-informed and easily accessible to non-economists, it offers much good sense about many questions, from the future of the renminbi to that of the United States. They wisely urge that, as Chinas rise continues, the United States should engage with China rather than resist it. This is a book full of good judgement that deserves a wide readership. Martin Jacques, author, When China Rules the World: The End of the Western World and the Birth of a New Global OrderThe interplay between the macro-economic imbalances, notably in the relationship between the USA and China, and the more micro-economic shortcomings of the Wests financial systems, particularly the lax regulation, forms the centre-piece of this excellently written book. In the disputes about the relative culpability of China and the USA for current macro-economic problems, they tend to support the Chinese arguments, and give well-considered arguments for so doing. This book provides an excellent, clear, and at times provocative, assessment of the course of the macro-monetary problems of the world since the great recession struck. Charles A.E. Goodhart, London School of Economics, UKThis thought-provoking book addresses challenging questions raised in light of the aftermath of the global financial crisis that saw an accelerated rise in the economic growth of China and other emerging market economies, while the US, Japan and Europe have laboured under the great recession.The authors examine global post-crisis reordering in a long-run context, identify five fundamental flaws in global bank business models and document the explosion of gross capital flows. They tackle difficult-to-answer lines of enquiry such as: can zero interest rates and quantitative easing lift the advanced world back to growth, or will they be dragged down by the overhang of debt? Might costs on savers, retirees and distortions to the pattern of global financing render zero rates counter-productive? What issues face the BRICs? Could China as number one see the renminbi soon challenge the dollar and the euro as a major international currency?Providing a detailed analysis of the post-crisis world and the issues posed by the rise of China and emerging market economies relative to developed countries, this book will prove a stimulating account for academics, students and researchers in the fields of economics, money, finance and banking, and world trade. Bank and market economists as well as policymakers based in central banks, governments and think-tanks will also find this book to be an invaluable reference tool.

Cover Art
The Heretic's Guide to Global Finance - Brett Scott
ISBN: 0745333508
Publication Date: 2013-05-10
Popular anger against the financial system has never been higher, yet the practical workings of the system remain opaque to many people. The Heretic's Guide to Global Finance aims to bridge the gap between protest slogans and practical proposals for reform.Brett Scott is a campaigner and former derivatives broker who has a unique understanding of life inside and outside the financial sector. He builds up a framework for approaching it based on the three principles of 'Exploring', 'Jamming' and 'Building', offering a practical guide for those who wish to deepen their understanding of, and access to, the inner workings of financial institutions.Scott covers aspects frequently overlooked, such as the cultural dimensions of the financial system, and considers major issues such as agricultural speculation, carbon markets and tar-sands financing. Crucially, it also showcases the growing alternative finance movement, showing how everyday people can get involved in building a new, democratic, financial system.

Cover Art
International Finance - H. Kent Baker (Editor); Leigh A. Riddick (Editor)
Call Number: HG3881 .I576116 2013
ISBN: 0199754659
Publication Date: 2012-12-24
Understanding the current state of affairs and tools available in the study of international finance is increasingly important as few areas in finance can be divorced completely from international issues. International Finance reflects the new diversity of interest in international finance bybringing together a set of chapters that summarizes and synthesizes developments to date in the many and varied areas that are now viewed as having international content. The book attempts to differentiate between what is known, what is believed, and what is still being debated about internationalfinance. The survey nature of this book involves tradeoffs that inevitably had to be made in the process given the vast footprint that constitutes international finance. No single book can cover everything. This book, however, tries to maintain a balance between the micro and macro aspects ofinternational finance.Although each chapter is self-contained, the chapters form a logical whole that follows a logical sequence. The book is organized into five broad categories of interest: (1) exchange rates and risk management, (2) international financial markets and institutions, (3) international investing, (4)international financial management, and (5) special topics. The chapters cover market integration, financial crisis, and the links between financial markets and development in some detail as they relate to these areas. In each instance, the contributors to this book discuss developments in the fieldto date and explain the importance of each area to finance as a field of study. Consequently, the strategic focus of the book is both broad and narrow, depending on the reader's needs. The entire book provides a broad picture of the current state of international finance, but a reader with morefocused interests will find individual chapters illuminating on specific topics.

Cover Art
International Financial Transactions and Exchange Rates - John N. Kallianiotis
Call Number: HG3881 .K257 2013
ISBN: 1137358157
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
International transactions among nations and multinational corporations are important and growing due to the openness of economies all over the world. In this follow-up title to Exchange Rates and International Financial Economics, Kallianiotis examines the role of the exchange rate and trade policy in improving the trade account. He discusses the international parity conditions extensively, together with the most popular theory in international finance, the interest rate parity (IRP) theory. International Financial Transactions and Exchange Rates describes these theories and gives practical solutions for multinational businesses, individuals, and nations. The increasing internationalization of businesses, openness of economies, integration of nations, change in the exchange rate system, and lastly, the deregulation of the financial market and institutions around the world have made the study of international finance necessary for all business students and professionals.

Cover Art
Transnational Financial Associations and the Governance of Global Finance - Heather McKeen-Edwards; Tony Porter
ISBN: 0415659744
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
The role of business in global governance is now widely recognized, but exploration of its role in global financial governance has been more haphazard than systematic. This book provides the first comprehensive analysis of the role of transnational financial associations (TFAs) in the organization of global finance. This book develops three theoretical themes of assemblage, functionality, and power as enrolment. These themes challenge approaches that treat financial power as emanating from a single location or force. Whilst existing approaches tend to treat TFAs as irrelevant or as merely transmitting power originating elsewhere, this book argues that power must be created by painstakingly assembling actors, networks, and objects that are often quite autonomous and working at cross purposes to one another—a process in which TFAs play a central role. The book explores these themes in chapters examining the roles of TFAs in interacting with public authorities, constructing global financial markets, and creating financial communities. The authors additionally analyse the roles of TFAs in the European Union, in the Global South, and in promoting goals other than profitability, including Islamic finance, microfinancing, savings banks and cooperatives. Making a distinctive contribution to our understanding of global finance and global governance, Transnational Financial Associations and the Governance of Global Financeis an important book for students and scholars of international political economy, finance, global governance and international relations.

Cover Art
International Finance Regulation - Georges Ugeux
ISBN: 111882959X
Publication Date: 2014-06-30
As the global market expands, the need for international regulation becomes urgent Since World War II, financial crises have been the result of macroeconomic instability until the fatidic week end of September 15 2008, when Lehman Brothers filed for bankruptcy. The financial system had become the source of its own instability through a combination of greed, lousy underwriting, fake ratings and regulatory negligence. From that date, governments tried to put together a new regulatory framework that would avoid using taxpayer money for bailout of banks. In an uncoordinated effort, they produced a series of vertical regulations that are disconnected from one another. That will not be sufficient to stop finance from being instable and the need for international and horizontal regulation is urgent. This challenge is the focus of Georges Ugeux's book. International Finance Regulation: The Quest for Financial Stability focuses on the inspirations behind regulation, and examines the risks and consequences of fragmentation on a global scale. Author Georges Ugeux has four decades of experience in the legal and economic aspects of international business operations. He created and run the New York Stock Exchange'sinternational group in charge of developing the NYSE's reach to non-US companies, including relationships with regulators and governments. nbsp;Ugeux teaches European Banking and Finance of the Columbia University School of Law. Ugeux is uniquely positioned to provide recommendations and suggestions from the perspective of a top global authority. In the book, he explores international regulation with topics such as: * Laws, regulations, and risks of overregulation * Transformation of the U.S. market and creation of the Eurozone * Development of a global framework and stability of the banking system * In-depth examination of Basel III, the Dodd-Frank Act, the European Banking Union, and the Volcker Rule The book also contains case studies from real-world scenarios like Lehman, CDS, Greece, the London Whale, and Libor to illustrate the concepts presented. Finance consistently operates within an increasingly global paradigm, and an overarching regulation scheme is becoming more and more necessary for sustainable growth. International Finance Regulation: The Quest for Financial Stability presents an argument for collaboration toward a comprehensive global regulation strategy.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip