This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Interest / Interest Rates" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Interest / Interest Rates   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazinterest Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)  Icon
    Go to the Data tab and choose "All Country Data" as your data package. Under the 'Fiscal and Monetary Indicators' in the data series selection section, you'll find Interest Rates as a category. Build your own custom report.
  • Datastream Professional
    With the Navigator tool, you will find more than 16,000 data series within the 'Interest Rates' category. You can filter by Market, Currency and Source or use the Search tool (recommended). Remember to access this database in Internet Explorer.
  • Thomson ONE  Icon
    Within Market Views, under Economics/Economic Indicators/Key Indicators you can choose to view a list of all available Policy Interest Rate data series organized by country. Click a Mneumonic or the graph icon to go to a detailed info page.

Internet Resources

 

Books

Cover Art
Interest Rate Markets - Siddhartha Jha
ISBN: 0470932201
Publication Date: 2011-03-28
How to build a framework for forecasting interest rate market movements With trillions of dollars worth of trades conducted every year in everything from U.S. Treasury bonds to mortgage-backed securities, the U.S. interest rate market is one of the largest fixed income markets in the world. Interest Rate Markets: A Practical Approach to Fixed Income details the typical quantitative tools used to analyze rates markets; the range of fixed income products on the cash side; interest rate movements; and, the derivatives side of the business. Emphasizes the importance of hedging and quantitatively managing risks inherent in interest rate trades Details the common trades which can be used by investors to take views on interest rates in an efficient manner, the methods used to accurately set up these trades, as well as common pitfalls and risks providing examples from previous market stress events such as 2008 Includes exclusive access to the Interest Rate Markets Web site which includes commonly used calculations and trade construction methods Interest Rate Markets helps readers to understand the structural nature of the rates markets and to develop a framework for thinking about these markets intuitively, rather than focusing on mathematical models

Cover Art
Central Banking - Thammarak Moenjak
ISBN: 1118832469
Publication Date: 2014-10-06
Understand the theories and interpret the actions of modern central banks Central Banking takes a comprehensive look at the topic of central banking, and provides readers with an understanding and insights into the roles and functions of modern central banks in advanced as well as emerging economies, theories behind their thinking, and actual operations practices. The book takes a systematic approach to the topic, while providing an accessible format and style that is appropriate for general audiences and students with only a minimal macroeconomic background. Theoretical reviews and examples of how the theories are applied in practice are presented in an easy-to-understand manner and serve as a guide for readers to further investigate specific ancillary central banking topics and as a means to make informed judgments about central bank actions. Important topics covered in the book include: Evolution of central banking functions and the international monetary system Theoretical backgrounds that are the foundation to the modern practice of monetary policy Monetary policy regimes, including exchange rate targeting, money supply growth targeting, the risk management approach, inflation targeting, and unconventional monetary policy. Actual practice in market operations and transmission mechanisms of monetary policy The exchange rate and central banking Theoretical backgrounds related to various dimensions of financial stability Current developments with regards to sustaining financial stability The future of central banking in the wake of the 2007-2010 global financial crisis Case studies on relevant practical issues and key concepts in central banking Designed as essential reading for students, market analysts, investors, and central banks' new recruits, Central Banking better positions readers to interpret the actions of central banks and to understand the complexities of their position in the global financial arena.

Cover Art
Inside the Currency Market - Brian Twomey; John R. Hill (Foreword by)
ISBN: 047095275X
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
A complete resource to trading today's currency market Currency movements are impacted by a variety of factors, including interest rates, trade balances, inflation levels, monetary and fiscal policies, and the political climate. Traders use both fundamental data and a variety of technical tools to trade within this market. Inside the Currency Market describes both the underlying dynamics that drive this market and the strategies that can help you capture consistent profits in it. Page by page, this reliable guide skillfully discusses the structure of the market, its roles in the global economy, the forces that drive currency values, trading strategies, and tactics. It also offers a detailed understanding of how global financial flows, derivatives, and other markets such as oil and gold impact currencies. Along the way, author and professor Brian Twomey provides information on gathering and analyzing global financial data so that traders can gain a "big-picture" perspective when attempting to identify trades. Explains virtually every element of the market and can function as a desk reference that puts everyday events into context for traders Fundamentally driven trades based on interest rate differentials and trade imbalances are discussed, as well as technical trades involving chart patterns, trends, and trading ranges Each chapter contains questions and answers to help readers master the material The currency market continues to generate interest and attract new retail traders due to the many opportunities available within it. This book will show you how to successfully operate within this arena by making the most informed trading decisions possible.

Cover Art
Discounting, Libor, CVA and Funding - Chris Kenyon; Roland Stamm
ISBN: 1137268514
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
The credit and sovereign debt crises have fundamentally changed the way participants in the global financial markets perceive credit risk. The effects of this change have been studied by many leading experts in Mathematical Finance, but to date there is no single volume that combines the results of this research and presents them at a level suited for practitioners and students alike. In market practice this fundamental market change is most directly visible from significant bases throughout the interest rate world, especially tenor bases, cross-currency bases, and bond-cds bases. This means that the curve used for discounting is no longer the curve used for Libor (aka Fixing Curve or Forwarding Curve). In the last two years a consensus has emerged that this multi-curve pricing is now standard.The crises have also altered the perception of banks and governments - they are no longer regarded as zero-risk counterparties. Now both sides of an uncollateralized trade need to consider, and price in, the risk that the other defaults: my CVA is your DVA. Even collateralization does not remove pricing problems: when you post collateral how much do you have to pay for it? This FVA is not symmetric in many ways: whatever it costs you to source it, your counterparty will only pay you OIS. Even worse is that your funding costs are unlikely to be the same as those of all your counterparties.Discounting, Libor, CVA and Funding: Interest Rate and Credit Pricing is the first book to illustrate new ways of pricing interest rate and credit products in the post-crisis markets. Written by two seasoned practitioners, it will enable the readers to understand the many different versions of credit and basis spreads, and to build the appropriate discount curves that take the these spreads into account so that collateralized derivatives will be priced correctly. The authors guide the reader through the complexity added by OIS discounting and multi-curve pricing as well as CVA, DVA and FVA. Derivatives do not exist in a vacuum. Regulators world-wide have reacted strongly to the crises with the introduction of Basel III. Hitherto quants could ignore capital costs and charges, but as of January 2013 this world is gone. Discounting, Libor, CVA and Funding explains details of Basel III that are important for pricing, especially around the CVA VaR and default exposure capital charges.This book will be required reading for quantitative practitioners who need to keep up-to-date with the latest developments in derivatives pricing, and will also be of interest to academic researchers and students interested in how instruments are priced in practice.

Cover Art
Interest Rates, Prices and Liquidity - Jagjit S. Chadha (Editor); Sean Holly (Editor)
ISBN: 1107014735
Publication Date: 2011-10-27
Many of the assumptions that underpin mainstream macroeconomic models have been challenged as a result of the traumatic events of the recent financial crisis. Thus, until recently, it was widely agreed that although the stock of money had a role to play, in practice it could be ignored as long as we used short-term nominal interest rates as the instrument of policy because money and other credit markets would clear at the given policy rate. However, very early on in the financial crisis interest rates effectively hit zero percent and so central banks had to resort to a wholly new set of largely untested instruments to restore order, including quantitative easing and the purchase of toxic financial assets. This book brings together contributions from economists working in academia, financial markets and central banks to assess the effectiveness of these policy instruments and explore what lessons have so far been learned.

Cover Art
Interest Rates, Exchange Rates and World Monetary Policy - John E. Floyd
ISBN: 3642102794
Publication Date: 2009-12-18
A careful basic theoretical and econometric analysis of the factors determining the real exchange rates of Canada, the U.K., Japan, France and Germany with respect to the United States is conducted. The resulting conclusion is that real exchange rates are almost entirely determined by real factors relating to growth and technology such as oil and commodity prices, international allocations of world investment across countries, and underlying terms of trade changes. Unanticipated money supply shocks, calculated in five alternative ways have virtually no effects. A Blanchard-Quah VAR analysis also indicates that the effects of real shocks predominate over monetary shocks by a wide margin. The implications of these facts for the conduct of monetary policy in countries outside the U.S. are then explored leading to the conclusion that all countries, to avoid exchange rate overshooting, have tended to automatically follow the same monetary policy as the United States. The history of world monetary policy is reviewed along with the determination of real exchange rates within the Euro Area.

Cover Art
Interest Rate Models, Asset Allocation and Quantitative Techniques for Central Banks and Sovereign Wealth Funds - Arjan Bastiaan Berkelaar (Editor); Joachim Coche (Editor); Ken Nyholm (Editor)
Call Number: HG1615.25 .I58 2010
ISBN: 0230240127
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
This edited volume contains essential readings for financial analysts and market practitioners working at Central Banks and Sovereign Wealth Funds. It presents the reader with state-of-the-art methods that are directly implementable, and industry 'best-practices' as followed by leading institutions in their field.

Cover Art
Interest Rates and Coupon Bonds in Quantum Finance - Belal E. Baaquie
Call Number: HG1621 .B33 2010
ISBN: 0521889286
Publication Date: 2009-09-17
The economic crisis of 2008 has shown that the capital markets need new theoretical and mathematical concepts to describe and price financial instruments. Focusing on interest rates and coupon bonds, this book does not employ stochastic calculus – the bedrock of the present day mathematical finance – for any of the derivations. Instead, it analyzes interest rates and coupon bonds using quantum finance. The Heath-Jarrow-Morton and the Libor Market Model are generalized by realizing the forward and Libor interest rates as an imperfectly correlated quantum field. Theoretical models have been calibrated and tested using bond and interest rates market data. Building on the principles formulated in the author's previous book (Quantum Finance, Cambridge University Press, 2004) this ground-breaking book brings together a diverse collection of theoretical and mathematical interest rate models. It will interest physicists and mathematicians researching in finance, and professionals working in the finance industry.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip