This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Insurance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Insurance   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazinsurance Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

  • Glossary of Insurance Terms
    From A.M. Best, a global credit rating agency with a focus on the insurance industry, a glossary of insurance terms. See also: the list of Insurance Associations (left column links).
  • Insurance Information Institute  Icon
    An "industry supported organization" with the stated goal to "improve public understanding of insurance—what it does and how it works". Find TONS of information under the Topics heading: top ten writers in various sub-industries, publications like quarter results,even multimedia presentations on a wide range of insurance-related topics...
  • Definitions of Insurance and Related Information
    From the United States Government Accountability Office, terms and definitions.
  • The Insurance Marketplace
    Search for specific companies' information by category of insurance - from Earthquake and Earth Movement Insurance to Workers Compensation to Cyberspace Liability and more - or by state.
  • American Insurance Association  Icon
    Check out their Resources section for some good, basic information on the industry and environment.
  • National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)  Icon
    The Center for Insurance Policy and Research, part of the NAIC's Executive Office, provides access to insurance industry analysis and statistics.

Journals

 

Books

Cover Art
Handbook of Insurance - Georges Dionne (Editor)
ISBN: 1493908618
Publication Date: 2014-03-26
This new edition of the Handbook of Insurance reviews the last forty years of research developments in insurance and its related fields. A single reference source for professors, researchers, graduate students, regulators, consultants and practitioners, the book starts with the history and foundations of risk and insurance theory, followed by a review of prevention and precaution, asymmetric information, risk management, insurance pricing, new financial innovations, reinsurance, corporate governance, capital allocation, securitization, systemic risk, insurance regulation, the industrial organization of insurance markets and other insurance market applications. It ends with health insurance, longevity risk, long-term care insurance, life insurance financial products and social insurance. This second version of the Handbook contains 15 new chapters. Each of the 37 chapters has been written by leading authorities in risk and insurance research, all contributions have been peer reviewed, and each chapter can be read independently of the others.

Cover Art
Modernizing Insurance Regulation - Viral V. Acharya; Matthew P. Richardson; John H. Biggs
ISBN: 1118758714
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
The future of the insurance regulation begins now For those involved with the insurance industry, from investment professionals to policy makers, and regulators to legislators, tremendous change is coming. With insurance premiums constituting an ever-growing portion of annual U.S. GDP and provisions of the Dodd-Frank Act specifically calling for modernization of insurance regulations, the issues at hand are pervasive. In Modernizing Insurance Regulation, these issues are described against a backdrop of the political and industry discussions that surround insurance, regulation, and systemic risk. Experts Viral V. Acharya and Matthew Richardson discuss a variety of issues with top thinkers in the fields of finance, derivatives, credit risk, and banking to bring to light the most germane elements of this ongoing discussion. In Modernizing Insurance Regulation, Acharya and Richardson call on the expertise of all the relevant stakeholders within government, academia, and industry to offer a well-rounded and independent view of insurance regulation and how the evolution of this key industry affects the U.S. economy now and in the future. Provides an overview of the feasibility of maintaining a state-level regulatory structure Offers a view of the issues from top academics, industry leaders, and state regulators Explores the debate surrounding the insurance industry and systemic risk Provides an in-depth look at upcoming changes under the Dodd-Frank Act Modernizing Insurance Regulation provides a look into the crucial changes coming to insurance regulation and an overview of how those changes will affect almost everyone.

Cover Art
The Valuation of Financial Companies - Gianfranco Gianfrate; Mario Massari; Laura Zanetti
ISBN: 1118617339
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
This book presents the main valuation approaches that can be used to value financial institutions. By sketching 1) the different business models of banks (both commercial and investment banks) and insurance companies (life, property and casualty and reinsurance); 2) the structure and peculiarities of financial institutions' reporting and financial statements; and 3) the main features of regulatory capital frameworks for banking and insurance (ie Basel III, Solvency II), the book addresses why such elements make the valuation of financial institutions different from the valuation of non-financial companies. The book then features the valuation models that can be used to determine the value of banks and insurance companies including the Discounted Cash Flow, Dividend Discount Model, and Residual Income Model (with the appropriate estimation techniques for the cost of capital and cash flow in financial industries). The main techniques to perform the relative valuation of financial institutions are then presented: along the traditional multiples (P/E, P/BV, P/TBV, P/NAV), the multiples based on industry-specific value drivers are discussed (for example,  P/Pre Provision Profit, P/Deposits, P/Premiums, P/Number of branches). Further valuation tools such as the "Value Maps" or the "Warranted Equity Method" will be explained and discussed. The closing section of the book will briefly focus on the valuation of specific financial companies/vehicles such as closed-end funds, private equity funds, leasing companies, etc.

Cover Art
The Appeal of Insurance - Geoffrey W. Clark (Editor); Greg Anderson (Editor); J.-Matthias Graf von der Schulenburg (Editor); Christiane Thomann (Editor)
ISBN: 1442640650
Publication Date: 2010-07-31
Insurance today is a global economic colossus and a fixture in the developed countries of the world. Dependant upon a considerable dose of moral exhortation and enlightened appeal, the insurance industry has become a pervasive agent of social and economic control through its delineation of acceptable (compensated) and unacceptable (uncompensated) risk. The Appeal of Insurance traces the ways in which insurance, over the past three centuries, has grown in concert with a clientele largely of its own making. Drawing on the fields of history, sociology, criminology and economics, these essays break new ground in insurance studies by illuminating the dialectical relationship between the expansion of the insurance business and the public demand for economic and social security.

Cover Art
Computation and Modelling in Insurance and Finance - Eric Bølviken
ISBN: 0521830486
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
Focusing on what actuaries need in practice, this introductory account provides readers with essential tools for handling complex problems and explains how simulation models can be created, used and re-used (with modifications) in related situations. The book begins by outlining the basic tools of modelling and simulation, including a discussion of the Monte Carlo method and its use. Part II deals with general insurance and Part III with life insurance and financial risk. Algorithms that can be implemented on any programming platform are spread throughout and a program library written in R is included. Numerous figures and experiments with R-code illustrate the text. The author's non-technical approach is ideal for graduate students, the only prerequisites being introductory courses in calculus and linear algebra, probability and statistics. The book will also be of value to actuaries and other analysts in the industry looking to update their skills.

Cover Art
Wealth Exposed - Brian G. Flood
ISBN: 1118810694
Publication Date: 2013-12-09
An indispensable survival guide for high-net-worth individuals and their advisors If you're like most high-net-worth individuals nowadays, you are underinsured, over-targeted in litigation, and dangerously exposed to risks that can profoundly jeopardize your lifestyle and rob you and your family of what they've worked so hard to achieve. Don't risk it all for lack of basic knowledge. Read Wealth Exposed and get the practical guidance and real-world solutions you need to protect your hard-earned assets. Written by a leading national risk management expert with extensive experience advising high-net-worth individuals, Wealth Exposed alerts you to the full range of risks to which high-net-worth individuals are exposed, while schooling you in your risk management ABCs. Designed for high-net-worth individuals, their CPAs, attorneys, family office managers, and others, Wealth Exposed arms you with the knowledge and tools you need to protect yourself, or your clients, from mayhem. Provides a framework for creating a comprehensive personal risk management strategy Contains numerous real-life anecdotes and case studies drawn from the author's case files Discusses insurance solutions for property, cars, jewelry, aircraft, watercraft, wine, cars, and more Read Wealth Exposed and find out what you need to know to protect your assets from risk and secure your peace of mind.

Cover Art
Risk Analysis in Finance and Insurance - Alexander Melnikov
ISBN: 1420070525
Publication Date: 2011-04-25
Risk Analysis in Finance and Insurance, Second Edition presents an accessible yet comprehensive introduction to the main concepts and methods that transform risk management into a quantitative science. Taking into account the interdisciplinary nature of risk analysis, the author discusses many important ideas from mathematics, finance, and actuarial science in a simplified manner. He explores the interconnections among these disciplines and encourages readers toward further study of the subject. This edition continues to study risks associated with financial and insurance contracts, using an approach that estimates the value of future payments based on current financial, insurance, and other information. New to the Second Edition Expanded section on the foundations of probability and stochastic analysis Coverage of new topics, including financial markets with stochastic volatility, risk measures, risk-adjusted performance measures, and equity-linked insurance More worked examples and problems Reorganized and expanded, this updated book illustrates how to use quantitative methods of stochastic analysis in modern financial mathematics. These methods can be naturally extended and applied in actuarial science, thus leading to unified methods of risk analysis and management.

Cover Art
Insurance - Rob Thoyts
Call Number: HG8051 .T53 2010
ISBN: 0415559057
Publication Date: 2010-08-02
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the theory, functioning, management and legal background of the insurance industry. Written in accessible, non-technical style, Insurance Theory and Practice begins with an examination of the insurance concept, its guiding principles and legal rules before moving on to an analysis of the market, its players and their roles and relationships. The model is the UK insurance market which is globally recognized and forms the basis of the insurance system in a range of countries in the Middle East, Africa and the Caribbean as well as Australia and Canada. The book covers the underlying ideas behind insurance transactions, together with the legal and financial principles that permit these concepts to function in the real world. Key issues considered include: the role of the constituent parts of the insurance market the operation of both life and general insurers with special reference to the operation of the Lloyd's market the nature and function of reinsurers, brokers and loss adjusters the influence of government, both in terms of market regulation and consumer protection alternatives to the established private sector insurers, such as government schemes, Islamic insurance and alternative risk financing.

Cover Art
Creating Value in Insurance Mergers and Acquisitions - Andreas Schertzinger; Prof. Dirk Schiereck (Foreword by)
ISBN: 3834914541
Publication Date: 2009-04-28
Andreas Schertzinger identifies determinants of successful transactions, such as transaction timing and diversifying transaction strategy, through a multivariate statistical analysis. Two case studies illustrate success factors specifically related to the conduct of transactions in greater detail.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip