This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Hedge Funds" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Hedge Funds   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazhedgefunds Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

  • SEC: Hedge Funds  Icon
    From the Securities and Exchange Commission, a brief explanation of hedge funds. Be sure to check out the "Investor Bulletin on hedge funds".
  • Bloomberg: Hedge Funds News
  • Market Folly
    Understanding that this is a commercial blog and therefore needs to be read with some caution, this is a frequently updated source of blog posts on hedge fund news and topics.
  • BarclayHedge
    NOT associated with Barclays Bank, this private Iowa corporation focuses on providing hedge fund information. You cannot access their database for free, but there are many useful articles, ratings and quotes available via their webpage. Link will take you to their "What is a Hedge Fund?" article to start.
  • Managed Funds Association: Hedge Fund Basics  Icon
    The MFA is a trade association for the managed funds industry. The Hedge Fund Basics section of their site has TONS of useful slideshows on topics from "Hedge Funds 101" to "U.S. Regulation 101" etc.

Journals

 

Books

Cover Art
Inside the House of Money - Steven Drobny; Niall Ferguson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781118865576
Publication Date: 2013-11-26
New commentary and updates to enlightening interviews with today's top global macro hedge fund managers This updated paperback edition of Inside the House of Money lifts the veil on the typically opaque world of hedge funds offering a rare glimpse at how today's highest paid money managers approach their craft. Now with new commentary, author, Steve Drobny takes you even further into the hedge fund industry. He demystifies how these star traders make billions for their well-heeled investors, revealing their theories, strategies and approaches to markets. Whereas some still maintain that rationality permeates financial markets, Drobny captures a different dimension, showing how the unquantifiable human forces of emotion and intuition are also at play. Along the way, readers get an inside look at firsthand trading experiences through some of the major world financial crises of the last few decades. Discusses how no market or instrument is out of bounds for these elite global macro hedge fund managers Offers unique and illuminating insight into an inaccessible and sometimes downright secretive world Written by respected industry expert Steven Drobny Highly accessible and filled with in-depth expert opinion, this updated paperback edition of Inside the House of Money is a must-read for financial professionals and anyone else interested in understanding how greed, fear, and the human forces of emotion drive world markets.

Cover Art
Hedge Fund Market Wizards - Jack D. Schwager; Ed Seykota (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781118273043
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Fascinating insights into the hedge fund traders who consistently outperform the markets, in their own words From bestselling author, investment expert, and Wall Street theoretician Jack Schwager comes a behind-the-scenes look at the world of hedge funds, from fifteen traders who've consistently beaten the markets. Exploring what makes a great trader a great trader, Hedge Fund Market Wizards breaks new ground, giving readers rare insight into the trading philosophy and successful methods employed by some of the most profitable individuals in the hedge fund business. Presents exclusive interviews with fifteen of the most successful hedge fund traders and what they've learned over the course of their careers Includes interviews with Jamie Mai, Joel Greenblatt, Michael Platt, Ray Dalio, Colm O'Shea, Ed Thorp, and many more Explains forty key lessons for traders Joins Stock Market Wizards, New Market Wizards, and Market Wizards as the fourth installment of investment guru Jack Schwager's acclaimed bestselling series of interviews with stock market experts A candid assessment of each trader's successes and failures, in their own words, the book shows readers what they can learn from each, and also outlines forty essential lessons--from finding a trading method that fits an investor's personality to learning to appreciate the value of diversification--that investment professionals everywhere can apply in their own careers. Bringing together the wisdom of the true masters of the markets, Hedge Fund Market Wizards is a collection of timeless insights into what it takes to trade in the hedge fund world.

Cover Art
Visual Guide to Hedge Funds - Richard C. Wilson
ISBN: 9781118419649
Publication Date: 2014-02-20
Vivid graphics make hedge funds, how they work and how to invest in them, accessible for investors and finance professionals Despite the recent wave of scandals related to the hedge fund industry, interest in hedge funds as a relatively safe alternative investment remains high. Yet details about how the industry operates and the strategies employed by different types of hedge funds is hard to come by. With increasing calls from lawmakers and the media for industry reform, it is incumbent upon finance professionals and high-net-worth individuals to take a good look before leaping into hedge funds. That's where the Bloomberg Visual Guide to Hedge Funds comes in. It provides a graphically rich, comprehensive overview of the industry and its practitioners, zeroing in on how different types of hedge funds work. Based on extensive interviews with hedge fund managers, analysts and other industry experts, the book provides a detailed look at the industry and how it works Outlines investment strategies employed by both long and short hedge funds, as well as global macro strategies Arms you with need-to-know tips, tools and techniques for success with all hedge fund investment strategies Provides a highly visual presentation with an emphasis on graphics and professional applications Real-life examples take you inside how hedge funds illustrating how they operate, who manages them and who invests in them

Cover Art
One Step Ahead - Timothy Spangler
ISBN: 1780742959
Publication Date: 2013-09-05
Never has there been such an appetite and desire to understand the financial institutions that govern us. But despite dominating international headlines, alternative investment vehicles including private equity and hedge funds remain elusive with few able to explain their success. In this accessible and timely study, award-winning writer Timothy Spangler explains how funds are structured to function outside of the rules that restrict other financial organizations. Designed to adapt and react to new conditions, they have thrived since the financial downturn, despite new laws and robust regulations. From start-ups to complex venture capital firms, this is the essential, no-nonsense guide to how hedge funds drive growth and influence markets. Staying one step ahead of the lawmakers, they continue to be significant players in both public and private sectors the world over.

Cover Art
The Fundamentals of Hedge Fund Management - Daniel A. Strachman
ISBN: 9781118151396
Publication Date: 2012-07-03
Updated edition of the book that gives investors, advisors, and managers the tools they need to launch and maintain a hedge fund in today's economy The hedge fund industry has gone through dramatic changes in recent years. Investors of all types continue to want to place their assets into these investment vehicles even in the wake of the credit crisis, massive frauds, and insider trading scandals. Once the forbidden fruit of Wall Street, hedge funds are now considered "must have" investments in any diversified portfolio. Now in its second edition, The Fundamentals of Hedge Fund Management is revised and updated to address how the credit crisis, legislation, fraud, technology, investor demand, global markets, and the economic landscape have affected the industry. Providing readers with a detailed and in-depth analysis of the world of hedge funds, the people working in it, and a look at where it's headed, the book is a timely and indispensable reference and research tool for helping professional money managers, traders, and others to launch and grow successful hedge fund businesses. Addresses how the credit crisis and its fallout has affected the hedge fund industry and what this means for the future Provides the essential information needed to launch and maintain a successful hedge fund in the new global economy Walks the reader through running a hedge fund, helping you to gain success over years, not just months An essential resource for anyone looking to invest in these much-discussed investment products, The Fundamentals of Hedge Fund Management, Second Edition is now fully revised and updated.

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Hedge Funds and Hedge Fund Strategies - Daniel Capocci
Call Number: HG4530 .C274 2013
ISBN: 1137264438
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
The Complete Guide to Hedge Funds and Hedge Fund Strategies is a comprehensive resource for investment practitioners, providing complete coverage of characteristics, constraints, risks, opportunities and limitations of hedge fund investing. The book starts out by examining the fundamentals of hedge funds – their history and evolution, their key characteristics and what makes them different from other investment vehicles. It then describes in detail and with practical illustrations from the industry the 20 main investment strategies implemented by hedge fund managers, including classic strategies like equity hedge, convertible arbitrage or event driven strategies but also less covered ones like mortgage backed securities, PIPE funds, volatility arbitrage or asset based lending. This is followed by a comprehensive analysis of the historical performance of hedge funds, compared to traditional investments, using classical and more advanced tools, and then a review of the funds during the financial crisis of 2007–2008. Finally, the book presents up to date coverage of regulation and governance of hedge funds, including the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, alternative UCITS and the Alternative Investment Fund Management Directive. The book is illustrated with more than 80 tables and 220 figures to explain key concepts. The Complete Guide to Hedge Funds and Hedge Fund Strategies will be an essential reference for anyone investing in or working in hedge funds and for anyone with an interest in these alternative investments, and how they work.

Cover Art
The Invisible Hands - Jared Diamond (Foreword by); Steven Drobny; Nouriel Roubini (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781118843000
Publication Date: 2013-12-16
Hedge fund managers who survived and profited through the 2008 financial crisis share their secrets In light of the colossal losses and amidst the resulting confusion that still lingers, it is time to rethink money management in the broadest of terms. Drastic changes still need to be made, and managers who actually made money during 2008 make for a logical starting place. This updated and revised edition of The Invisible Hands provides investors and traders with the latest thinking from some of the best and the most successful players in money management, highlighting the specific risk and return objectives of each, and discussing the evolution of certain styles and beliefs in money management. Divulges how top financial professionals are looking forward by thinking clearly, managing risk, and seeking a new paradigm of profit making opportunities in the post-crisis world Outlines investments and strategies for the rocky road ahead Gives guidance on how traditional investors such as pensions, endowments, foundations and family offices should rethink how they approach asset allocation and portfolio construction Written by respected industry expert Steven Drobny Page by page, the professionals found in this book reveal their own approaches to markets, risk, and the broader world in which we live, as well as their advice on how investors should be approaching money management in today's uncertain world.

Cover Art
Hedge Fund Structure, Regulation, and Performance Around the World - Douglas Cumming; Sofia A. Johan
Call Number: HG4530 .C8296 2013
ISBN: 0199862567
Publication Date: 2013-02-22
Hedge funds and their managers have been vilified in recent times for their high-risk activities and relative lack of regulatory oversight. A recurrent concern shared by market participants and regulators around the world is that the increasing size of the hedge fund industry coupled withpotential agency problems, activist investment practices, and herding behavior may exacerbate financial instability. However, while it is frequently suggested that hedge funds are unregulated, they are in fact regulated to some degree in every country around the world. It is important to consider differences in legal and institutional settings across countries as they directly affect the structure, governance, and performance of hedge funds. In this book, the authors consider data from a multitude of countries to understand how and why hedge fund markets differaround the world. While hedge funds are hardly regulated in the US, other jurisdictions implement different and sometimes more onerous sets of regulatory requirements. As explained in the book, international differences in hedge fund regulation include, but are not limited to, minimum capitalizationrequirements, restrictions on the location of key service providers, and different permissible distribution channels via private placements, banks, other regulated or non-regulated financial intermediaries, wrappers, investment managers, and fund distribution companies.

Cover Art
Profiting from Hedge Funds - John Vincent; John Konnayil Vincent
ISBN: 9781118465172
Publication Date: 2013-06-07
Learn to apply the strategies of top hedge fund managers to your personal investment portfolio The most successful hedge fund managers and superstar investors outperform the markets impressively, while most fund managers--and individual investors as well--usually underperform the market averages. Based on the figures released by the Edgar System each quarter, this book analyzes the performance of hedge fund managers controlling at least $100 million in Assets Under Management to help other investors close the gap between themselves and the industry's top fund managers. With model portfolios that produced solid returns, examination of the tactics of the best fund managers, and a set of effective strategies for sound absolute returns, Profiting from Hedge Funds is the perfect guide for investors who want to improve their game by learning from the best. Includes fascinating insights into the investment styles of the most successful hedge fund managers Features model portfolios based on the holdings and activity of high-performing money managers Offers key lessons for success that work across all portfolios

Cover Art
Funds - Matthew Hudson
ISBN: 1118790367
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Investment funds are the driving force behind much global private economic development, and yet the world of investment funds can be complex and confusing. Funds: Private Equity, Hedge and All Core Structures is a practical introductory guide to the legal and commercial context in which funds are raised and invest their money, with examinations of the tax and regulatory background, and an analysis of the key themes and trends that the funds industry face following the financial crisis. The book looks at asset classes, investor return models, the commercial and legal pressures driving different structures and key global jurisdictions for both fund establishment and making investments. It also contains a comprehensive analysis of fund managers, from remuneration, best practice through to regulation. The book is written for readers from all backgrounds, from students or newcomers to the industry to experienced investors looking to branch out into alternative asset classes, or existing asset managers and their advisers wanting to know more about the structures elsewhere within the industry.

Cover Art
Investing in Credit Hedge Funds - Putri Pascualy
ISBN: 9780071829038
Publication Date: 2013-11-26
THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE TO CREATING A POWERFUL STRATEGY FOR INVESTMENTS IN CREDIT HEDGE FUNDS Following the credit crisis that rocked the globalmarkets, many investors were left with a great sense of unease. However, when faced with historically low interest rates in a world awash with liquidity, they flocked back into the credit market. But this wave of liquidity will soon come to an end.Investors are grappling with their need for returngeneration while trying to navigate an increasinglyvolatile credit market. Given its inherent flexibility,the hedge fund structure is ideal for investing in thecredit market. In Investing in Credit Hedge Funds, PAAMCOcredit strategist Putri Pascualy shows how toprofit from a variety of credit-focused investments,including: HIGH-YIELD BONDS - Capitalize on the inefficiencies in the market for levered companies STRESSED / DISTRESSED MARKETS - Develop mastery of the bankruptcy and reorganization processes to spot yourbest opportunities BANK LOANS - Take advantage of loans' structural seniority and collateral while navigating credit, liquidity, and operational risk CONVERTIBLE BONDS - Apply trading acumen to invest in hybrid instruments that combine the best features of bonds and equities SOVEREIGN DEBT - Understand the difference between the corporate and sovereign bond market and manage the macroeconomic risks in a credit portfolio Investing in Credit Hedge Funds provides in-depthresearch on the most commonly used structuring vehicles, the legal rights and responsibilities of all parties, and the pros and cons of separately managed accounts. It provides practical, expert advice on conducting operational due diligence and best practices in mitigating counterparty risks to avoid the fates of those who suffered losses as Bear Stearns, Lehman Brothers, and MF Global went down. And it reveals practical risk-management techniques unique to credit investing. Investing in Credit Hedge Funds provides a fullyrounded education in creating a powerful credit portfolio that will instantly put you ahead of the investing pack. PRAISE FOR INVESTING IN CREDIT HEDGE FUNDS "Read this book if you want to understand how a leading hedge fund-of-fund investor evaluates distressed credit opportunities in the aftermath of the financial crisis."--Bruce Brittain, Executive Vice President, Product Management Group, PIMCO"Arms the institutional investor with the tools to conduct a more robust evaluation of a credit hedge fund's strategy, structure, and operational credibility. It is a practical resource for the diversified institutional investor." -- Susan Ridlen, Assistant Treasurer, Eli Lilly and Company "Provides insight for investors to become more equipped to deal with the ever-evolving credit markets in the future." -- Lorraine Spurge, CEO of Maplestone Capital Advisors, LLC

Cover Art
Risk Management in Trading - Davis Edwards
ISBN: 9781118772850
Publication Date: 2014-06-04
A comprehensive resource for understanding how to minimize risk and increase profits In this accessible resource, Wall Street trader and quantitative analyst Davis W. Edwards offers a definitive guide for nonprofessionals which describes the techniques and strategies seasoned traders use when making decisions. Risk Management in Trading includes an introduction to hedge fund and proprietary trading desks and offers an in-depth exploration on the topic of risk avoidance and acceptance. Throughout the book Edwards explores the finer points of financial risk management, shows how to decipher the jargon of professional risk-managers, and reveals how non-quantitative managers avoid risk management pitfalls. Avoiding risk is a strategic decision and the author shows how to adopt a consistent framework for risk that compares one type of risk to another. Edwards also stresses the fact that any trading decision that isn't based on the goal of maximizing profits is a decision that should be strongly scrutinized. He also explains that being familiar with all the details of a transaction is vital for making the right investment decision. Offers a comprehensive resource for understanding financial risk management Includes an overview of the techniques and tools professionals use to control risk Shows how to transfer risk to maximize results Written by Davis W. Edwards, a senior manager in Deloitte's Energy Derivatives Pricing Center Risk Management in Trading gives investors a hands-on guide to the strategies and techniques professionals rely on to minimize risk and maximize profits.

Cover Art
Hedge Fund Investing - Kevin R. Mirabile
ISBN: 9781118281222
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
The most up-to-date look at how to understand, and invest in, hedge funds Hedge funds are an essential part of the alternative investing arena, and will continue to be so for the foreseeable future. It's important that those investing, or thinking about investing, with hedge funds know exactly what they are about. That's why Kevin Mirabile-a financial professional with over twenty years of business development, regulatory, financing, trading, and sales experience in the hedge fund sector-has created Understanding Hedge Fund Investing. Page-by-page, this reliable resource offers valuable insights into one of the most competitive parts of the investment world. Along the way, you'll become familiar with the evolution of hedge funds and their structure as well as discover what types of individuals and institutions invest using hedge funds. Mirable also takes the time to examine the risks of investing in hedge funds and talks about hedge fund financial statements and taxation. Provides complete coverage of this important investment vehicle, from its different types of investing strategies and styles to what it takes to be a hedge fund manager Multiple-choice questions follow each chapter to assess your comprehension of the topics covered A companion Website contains portfolio models that can be uploaded for use as well as supplementary material that allows you to learn in a hands-on fashion long after closing the book Hedge funds offer investors opportunities that aren't usually found elsewhere. But to benefit from them, you first must understand them. This book has the information you need to succeed at this difficult endeavor.

Cover Art
All about Hedge Funds - Ezra Zask
ISBN: 9780071768313
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
“Every investor stands to benefit from Zask’s long experience and winning narrative.” -- Donald H. Putnam, Managing Partner, Grail Partners LLC "An easy-to-understand history lesson and guide to the often misunderstood world of hedge funds . . . a no-nonsense explanation of the industry written so that just about anyone can understand it. I highly recommend it." -- Mitch Ackles, President of The Hedge Fund Association EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW TO FIND BIG PROFITS IN HEDGE FUNDS All About Hedge Funds, Second Edition, is an easy-to-understand introduction to using hedge funds in any investing strategy. Hedge fund founder and longtime expert on the subject Ezra Zask examines where the industry stands today and where it is headed to help you determine how best to use hedge funds in your own portfolio. All About Hedge Funds provides: A detailed history of the hedge fund industry Criticism--fair and unfair--of hedge funds Hedge fund investing strategies Information on using hedge funds to allocate your portfolio

Cover Art
Hedge Fund Modelling and Analysis Using MatLab - Paul Darbyshire; David Hampton
ISBN: 1119967376
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
The second book in Darbyshire and Hampton's Hedge Fund Modelling and Analysis series, Hedge Fund Modelling and Analysis Using MATLAB® takes advantage of the huge library of built-in functions and suite of financial and analytic packages available to MATLAB®. This allows for a more detailed analysis of some of the more computationally intensive and advanced topics, such as hedge fund classification, performance measurement and mean-variance optimisation. Darbyshire and Hampton's first book in the series, Hedge Fund Modelling and Analysis Using Excel & and VBA, is seen as a valuable supplementary text to this book. Starting with an overview of the hedge fund industry the book then looks at a variety of commercially available hedge fund data sources. After covering key statistical techniques and methods, the book discusses mean-variance optimisation, hedge fund classification and performance with an emphasis on risk-adjusted return metrics. Finally, common hedge fund market risk management techniques, such as traditional Value-at-Risk methods, modified extensions and expected shortfall are covered. The book's dedicated website, www.darbyshirehampton.com provides free downloads of allnbsp;the data and MATLAB® source code, as well as other useful resources. Hedge Fund Modelling and Analysis Using MATLAB® serves as a definitive introductory guide to hedge fund modelling and analysis and willnbsp;provide investors, industry practitioners and students alike withnbsp;a usefulnbsp;range of tools and techniques for analysing and estimating alpha and beta sources of return, performing manager ranking and market risk management.

Cover Art
How to Make a Million Dollars an Hour - Les Leopold
ISBN: 9781118438145
Publication Date: 2012-12-18
How hedge funds make money by taking it from the rest of us--and how you can join them! Top hedge fund managers make more than Oprah, Rupert Murdoch, and A-Rod combined--but they aren′t running news and entertainment empires or playing baseball for the New York Yankees. Aren′t you curious about how these hedge fund dudes make so much doing who knows what? You may even wonder if you can get there, too. After all, this is America! This book gives you the answers in a twelve-step guide to accumulating vast riches the way hedge fund managers do--by playing trillion-dollar poker with a marked deck. Through each easy step, you′ll learn the sleight of hand and disregard for basic morality you′ll need to move from making tens of dollars an hour to millions an hour! Along the way, you′ll also question whether these hedge fund moguls make markets work better--as they and their apologists insist--or cause instability, siphon off capital, and destroy value without adding so much as a single widget to the economy. Takes a fascinating tour of the wild side of fantasy finance to explain just how hedge fund managers make so much money--and whether or not the million-an-hour crowd produces anything positive for society and the economy Teaches you hedge fund secrets that make it possible to pull down astounding sums in the space of minutes--from rigging your bets to milking millions in special tax breaks-- if you′re willing to bankrupt your morality for the cash Counters many of the most common arguments about why speculating in financial markets is somehow "worth more" than creating entertainment, electronics, or consumer goods that consumers want Written by Les Leopold, the popular AlterNet writer and author of The Looting of America

Cover Art
Investing in Hedge Funds - Turan Bali; Yigit Atilgan; Ozgur Demirtas
ISBN: 9780124051690
Publication Date: 2013-06-29
This book will present a comprehensive view of the risk characteristics, risk-adjusted performances, and risk exposures of various hedge fund indices. It will distinguish itself from other books and journal articles by focusing solely on hedge fund indices and emphasizing tail risk as a predictor of hedge fund index returns. The three chapters in this short book have not been previously published. Presents new insights about the investability and performance measurement of an investor's final portfolio Uses most recently developed investable hedge fund indexes to revise previous analyses of indexes Focuses on 14 distinct types of hedge fund indices with daily data from January 1994 to December 2011

Cover Art
Hedge Fund Analysis - Frank J. Travers
ISBN: 9781118237564
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Written by a financial professional with over 20 years of experience conducting investment manager due diligence, this book will put you in a position to make more informed decisions when investing in hedge funds.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip