This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Dictionaries & Encyclopedias" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Dictionaries & Encyclopedias   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazdictionaries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

 

Books

Dictionary of Accounting
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms - John Downes; Jordan Elliot Goodman
ISBN: 0764134167
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
More than 5,000 terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, taxaws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presentedlphabetically with descriptions. Readers will also find a helpful list ofinancial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams andharts. Here's a valuable short-entry dictionary for business students, asell as for office reference and the home bookshelves of private investors.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Financial Models - Frank J. Fabozzi
ISBN: 1118006739
Publication Date: 2012-11-06
An essential reference dedicated to a wide array of financial models, issues in financial modeling, and mathematical and statistical tools for financial modeling The need for serious coverage of financial modeling has never been greater, especially with the size, diversity, and efficiency of modern capital markets. With this in mind, the Encyclopedia of Financial Models, 3 Volume Set has been created to help a broad spectrum of individuals--ranging from finance professionals to academics and students--understand financial modeling and make use of the various models currently available. Incorporating timely research and in-depth analysis, the Encyclopedia of Financial Models is an informative 3-Volume Set that covers both established and cutting-edge models and discusses their real-world applications. Edited by Frank Fabozzi, this set includes contributions from global financial experts as well as academics with extensive consulting experience in this field. Organized alphabetically by category, this reliable resource consists of three separate volumes and 127 entries--touching on everything from asset pricing and bond valuation models to trading cost models and volatility--and provides readers with a balanced understanding of today's dynamic world of financial modeling. This 3-Volume Set contains coverage of the fundamentals and advances in financial modeling and provides the mathematical and statistical techniques needed to develop and test financial models Emphasizes both technical and implementation issues, providing researchers, educators, students, and practitioners with the necessary background to deal with issues related to financial modeling Each volume includes a complete table of contents and index for easy access to various parts of the encyclopedia Financial models have become increasingly commonplace, as well as complex. They are essential in a wide range of financial endeavors, and this 3-Volume Set will help put them in perspective.

Cover Art
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy - Kenneth A. Reinert (Editor); Amy Joycelyn Glass (Editor); Lewis S. Davis (Editor); Ramkishen S. Rajan (Editor)
ISBN: 069112812X
Publication Date: 2009-01-11
Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals. Written by an international team of contributors, this comprehensive reference includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research. Complete with an index and a table of contents that groups entries by topic, The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy is an essential resource for anyone who needs to better understand the global economy. Features: More than 300 alphabetically arranged articles on topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development International team of contributors Annotated list of further reading with each article Topical list of entries Full index and cross-references Entry categories and sample topics: Concepts and principles: globalization, anti-globalization, fair trade, foreign direct investment, international migration, economic development, multinational enterprises Models and theory: Heckscher-Ohlin model, internalization theory, New Trade Theory, North-South trade, Triffin dilemma Institutions and agreements: European Union, International Monetary Fund, World Trade Organization, World Bank, Doha Round, international investment agreements Policies and instruments: dollar standard, international aid, sanctions, tariffs Analysis and tools: exchange rate forecasting, effective protection, monetary policy rules Sectors and special issues: child labor, corporate governance, the digital divide, health and globalization, illegal drugs trade, petroleum, steel

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Municipal Bonds - Joe Mysak
ISBN: 1118006755
Publication Date: 2012-01-03
An accessible reference that explores every aspect of the municipal bond market Until now, there has been no accessible encyclopedia, dictionary, nor guide to the world of municipal bonds. Comprehensive and objective, this groundbreaking volume covers the history and mechanics of the municipal market in clear and understandable terms. It covers all aspects of the market, including pricing, trading, taxation issues and yields, as well as topical events such as the financial crisis, hysteria about defaults and Chapter 9 municipal bankruptcy, fraud, and regulation. Encyclopedia of Municipal Bonds also contains entries on important historical events and provides much-needed context for this field. Everything you ever wanted to know about municipal bonds in one comprehensive resource Joe Mysak is the author of the Bloomberg bestseller Handbook for Muni Issuers Demystifies the world of municipal bonds for both the novice and professional investor Explores issues such as the Orange County bankruptcy, the Jefferson County default, the New York City financial crisis, and the surprisingly recent creation of the modern municipal market Encyclopedia of Municipal Bonds offers an essential reference guide for investors, professionals, regulators, insurers, and anyone else involved in the municipal bond market.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Finance - Alice C. Lee (Editor); Cheng-Few Lee (Editor)
Call Number: HG151 .E625 2006
ISBN: 0387262849
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
The Encyclopedia of Finance is a major new reference work covering all aspects of finance. Coverage includes finance (financial management, security analysis, portfolio management, financial markets and instruments, insurance, real estate, options and futures, international finance) and statistical applications in finance (applications in portfolio analysis, option pricing models and financial research). The project is designed to attract both an academic and professional market. It will also have international approach to ensure its maximum appeal. The Editors' wish is that the readers will find the encyclopedia to be an invaluable resource. Professor Cheng-Few Lee is a Distinguished Professor of Finance at Rutgers Business School and was chairperson of the Department of Finance from 1988-1995. He has maintained academic and consulting ties in Taiwan, Hong Kong, China and the United States for the past three decades. In the winter 2005 issue of the Journal of Finance Literature, Professor Lee was ranked as the most published finance professor worldwide during 1953-2002. Professor Alice C. Lee is an Assistant Professor of Finance at San Francisco State University. She has a diverse background, which includes engineering, sales, and management consulting. Her primary areas of teaching and research are corporate finance and financial institutions.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance - Burton S. Kaliski; Macmillan Reference U. S. A. Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HF1001 .E466 2007
ISBN: 0028660617
Publication Date: 2006-08-04
Designed for the nonspecialist, the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a 2-vol. complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the United States.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Commodity and Financial Spreads - Steve Moore; Nick Colley; Jerry Toepke
Call Number: HG6024.A3 M65 2006
ISBN: 0471716006
Publication Date: 2006-01-03
A well-researched guide to the most profitable spreads in the futures market The Encyclopedia of Commodity and Financial Spreads is divided by product category-energy, natural gas, meats, soybeans, corn/wheat, currencies, interest rates, and metals. The precise performance of each spread is identified-over the previous 20 years-and combined with a graph that displays visually the price performance of the spread. For each of the 175 trades identified, there is an explanation of the trade, its history, and advice on how traders should approach the trade. Steve W. Moore (Eugene, OR) has been trading and researching the futures markets for more than 25 years. He formed Moore Research in 1990 to provide traders with historical research and seasonal analysis to better trade the commodity markets. Jerry Toepke (Eugene, Oregon) is Editor of Moore Research Center, Inc. Nick Colley (Eugene, Oregon) is Research Director of Moore Research Center, Inc.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Alternative Investments - Greg N. Gregoriou (Editor)
Call Number: HG4513 .E53 2009
ISBN: 1420064886
Publication Date: 2008-08-18
A pioneering reference essential in any financial library, the Encyclopedia of Alternative Investments is the most authoritative source on alternative investments for students, researchers, and practitioners in this area. Containing 545 entries, the encyclopedia focuses on hedge funds, managed futures, commodities, and venture capital. It features contributions from well-known, respected academics and professionals from around the world. More than a glossary, the book includes academic references for money managers and investors who want to understand the jargon and delve into the definitions. About the Editor Greg N. Gregoriou, Ph.D., is Professor of Finance in the School of Business and Economics at the State University of New York, Plattsburgh, USA. A prolific author, Dr. Gregoriou is hedge fund editor of the Journal of Derivatives and Hedge Funds as well as an editorial board member of the Journal of Wealth Management and the Journal of Risk Management in Financial Institutions. His research primarily focuses on hedge funds and managed futures.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip