This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Corporate Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Corporate Finance   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazcorporate Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Morningstar Document Research
    Allows you to search SEC filings flexibly and in-depth. There is much financial information to be found in SEC filings for publicly traded companies in the U.S.
  • Datastream
    Global financial datasets. Use the Companies tab.
  • NetAdvantage
    Company profiles include financials, valuation and industry information.
  • Orbis
    Includes some financial information on international and even (mostly large) private companies. Occasionally, segment information available. Can build 'Peer Reports' to compare financial variables to competitors etc.
  • Thomson ONE  Icon
    Company Views include extensive financials and ratios, market data, estimates, debt structure information and more.
  • Mergent Online  Icon
    Company financials as reported, prelim, standardized and restated, financial ratios, and the ability to build custom reports where you can compare the company's financials to competitors or even create your own peer averages for benchmarking etc.
  • PrivCo  Icon
    If you're searching for financial information on private companies, this is very difficult to find. This is one of the few databases that offers some such information.
 

Internet Resources

BETA Calculator

http://www.calculatoredge.com/finance/betas.htm

Calculates the beta of a stock.

WACC Calculator

http://thatswacc.com/
Calculates the Weighted Average Cost of Capital of publicly trade firms

Institutional Investor

http://www.institutionalinvestor.com/

Institutional Investor is a publication focused on international finance

Study Finance

http://www.studyfinance.com/

Self-paced 'overviews' of 13 broad 'fundamentals of applied finance'

CFO

http://ww2.cfo.com/

The stated goal of this site is to offer "daily stories geared specifically for finance executives."

 

Books

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Corporate Finance - Jonathan Berk; Peter DeMarzo; Jarrad Harford
Call Number: HG4026 .B464 2015
ISBN: 013350767X
Publication Date: 2014-01-12
Fundamentals of Corporate Finance 's applied perspective cements your understanding of modern-day core principles, focusing on problem solving and real-life financial management practices--all within a clear valuation framework. nbsp; MyFinanceLab for Fundamentals of Corporate Finance creates learning experiences that are truly personalized and continuously adaptive. MyFinanceLab reacts to how students are actually performing, offering data-driven guidance that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts--resulting in better performance in the course. A dynamic set of tools for gauging individual and class progress means educators can spend less time grading and more time teaching. nbsp; This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience. Here's how: Improve Results with MyFinanceLab: MyFinanceLab delivers proven results in helping students succeed and provides engaging experiences that personalize learning. Help Students Review and Apply Concepts: Examples and exercises help students practice and connect to real-world decisions being made today in today's firms and policy debates. Keep Your Course Current and Relevant: New examples, exercises, and statistics appear throughout the text.

Cover Art
International Financial Management - Jeff Madura
Call Number: HG3881 .M2765 2015
ISBN: 1133947832
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Prepare for success in international finance with this best-selling book's effective presentation of in-depth theory and practical applications. INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT 12E builds on the fundamental principles of corporate finance to provide the timely information and contemporary insights needed to prosper in today's global business environment. This book discusses a wide range of managerial topics using a strong corporate perspective and highlights financial reform and its impact on the international finance today. An emphasis on the most recent financial industry trends further prepares readers to understand and effectively manage within the dynamic field of international finance.

Cover Art
Case Studies in Finance - Robert Bruner; Kenneth Eades; Michael Schill
Call Number: HG4015.5 .B78 2014
ISBN: 007786171X
Publication Date: 2013-01-18
Case Studies in Finance links managerial decisions to capital markets and the expectations of investors. At the core of almost all of the cases is a valuation task that requires students to look to financial markets for guidance in resolving the case problem. The focus on value helps managers understand the impact of the firm on the world around it. These cases also invite students to apply modern information technology to the analysis of managerial decisions. The cases may be taught in many different combinations. The eight-part sequence indicated by the table of contents relates to course designs used at the authors’ schools. Each part of the casebook suggests a concept module, with a particular orientation.

Cover Art
Corporate Financial Strategy - Ruth Bender
Call Number: HG4026 .W367 2014
ISBN: 0415640415
Publication Date: 2013-12-09
The field of Corporate Finance has developed into a fairly complex one from its origins focused on a company's business and financial needs (financing, risk management, capitalization and budgeting). Corporate Financial Strategy provides a critical introduction to the field and in doing so shows how organizations' financial strategies can be aligned with their overall business strategies. Retaining the popular fundamentals of previous editions, the new edition brings things up to date with an array of new examples and cases, new pedagogical features such as learning objectives and suggested further reading, and includes new material on mergers and acquisitions, and valuations and forecasting. Unlike other textbooks, Ruth Bender writes from the perspective of the firm rather than the investor. Combined with a structure driven by issues, the result is a textbook which is perfectly suited to those studying corporate finance and financial strategy at advanced undergraduate, postgraduate and executive education levels.

Cover Art
Deep Value - Tobias E. Carlisle
Call Number: HD2744 .C47 2014
ISBN: 1118747992
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
The economic climate is ripe for another golden age of shareholder activism Deep Value: How Shareholder Activist Hedge Funds Battle for Control of The World's Leading Corporations is a must-read exploration of deep value investment strategy, describing the evolution of the theories of valuation and shareholder activism from Graham to Icahn and beyond. The book combines engaging anecdotes with industry research to illustrate the principles and methods of this complex strategy, and explains the reasoning behind seemingly incomprehensible activist maneuvers. Written by an active value investor, Deep Value provides an insider's perspective on shareholder activist strategies in a format accessible to both professional investors and laypeople. The Deep Value investment philosophy as described by Graham initially identified targets by their discount to liquidation value. This approach was extremely effective, but those opportunities are few and far between in the modern market, forcing activists to adapt. Current activists assess value from a much broader palate, and exploit a much wider range of tools to achieve their goals. Deep Value enumerates and expands upon the resources and strategies available to value investors today, and describes how the economic climate is allowing value investing to re-emerge. Topics include: Target identification, and determining the most advantageous ends Strategies and tactics of effective activism Unseating management and fomenting change Eyeing conditions for the next M&A boom Activist hedge funds have been quiet since the early 2000s, but economic conditions, shareholder sentiment, and available opportunities are creating a fertile environment for another golden age of activism. Deep Value: How Shareholder Activist Hedge Funds Battle for Control of The World's Leading Corporations provides the in-depth information investors need to get up to speed before getting left behind.

Cover Art
Capital Structure Decisions - Yamini Agarwal
Call Number: HG4026 .A348 2013
ISBN: 1118203135
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
Inside the risk management and corporate governance issues behind capital structure decisions Practical ways of determining capital structures have always been mysterious and riddled with risks and uncertainties. Dynamic paradigm shifts and the multi-dimensional operations of firms further complicate the situation. Financial leaders are under constant pressure to outdo their competitors, but how to do so is not always clear. Capital Structure Decisions offers an introduction to corporate finance, and provides valuable insights into the decision-making processes that face the CEOs and CFOs of organizations in dynamic multi-objective environments. Exploring the various models and techniques used to understand the capital structure of an organization, as well as the products and means available for financing these structures, the book covers how to develop a goal programming model to enable organization leaders to make better capital structure decisions. Incorporating international case studies to explain various financial models and to illustrate ways that capital structure choices determine their success, Capital Structure Decisions looks at existing models and the development of a new goal-programming model for capital structures that is capable of handling multiple objectives, with an emphasis throughout on mitigating risk. Helps financial leaders understand corporate finance and the decision-making processes involved in understanding and developing capital structure Includes case studies from around the world that explain key financial models Emphasizes ways to minimize risk when it comes to working with capital structures There are a number of criteria that financial leaders need to consider before making any major capital investment decision. Capital Structure Decisions analyzes the various risk management and corporate governance issues to be considered by any diligent CEO/CFO before approving a project.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip