This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Careers in Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Careers in Finance   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazcareers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Reference USA
    A searchable directory of U.S. businesses. Could be useful for researching a company you're already interested in, or finding a list of companies in a desired area.
  • Hoover's Premium
    Includes a business list builder tool. Again, could be useful for building a list of companies within a specific industry and in a desired geographical area.
  • Associations Unlimited
    Look up professional and industry associations it may serve you to join, and/or that may have job boards of interest to you.

Internet Resources

  • Texas A & M Career Center
    General career assistance. Helpful tools to help you write and critique your resume, find and prepare for interviews, work on your networking skills and more!
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook  Icon
    From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this tool allows you to look up nearly any career to find a summary page detailing what these professionals do, the work environment, the projected job outlook, average pay and more.
  • About.com - Financial Careers
    From about.com, perhaps not the most definitive information, but tons of good overview articles and up-to-date, current-interest pieces.
 

Books

Cover Art
Heard on the Street - Timothy Falcon Crack
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 C73 2009
ISBN: 9780970055279
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
This is a must read! It is the first and the original book of quantitative questions from finance job interviews. Painstakingly revised over 15 years and 12 editions, Heard on The Street has been shaped by feedback from many hundreds of readers. With 50,000 copies in print (late 2009), its readership is unmatched by any competing book. The revised 12th edition contains over 175 quantitative questions collected from actual job interviews in investment banking, investment management, and options trading. The interviewers use the same questions year-after-year, and here they are with detailed solutions! This edition also includes over 125 non-quantitative actual interview questions, giving a total of more than 300 actual finance job interview questions. There is also a revised section on interview technique based. The quant questions cover pure quant/logic, financial economics, derivatives, and statistics. They come from all types of interviews (corporate finance, sales and trading, quant research, etc.), and from all levels of interviews (undergraduate, MS, MBA, PhD). Dr. Crack has a PhD from MIT. He has won many teaching awards, and has publications in the top academic, practitioner, and teaching journals in finance. He has degrees/diplomas in Mathematics/Statistics, Finance, Financial Economics and Accounting/Finance. Dr. Crack taught at the university level for over 20 years. His most recent practitioner job was as the head of a quantitative active equity research team at the world's largest institutional money manager.

Cover Art
The Wall Street Professional's Survival Guide - Roy Cohen
ISBN: 0137052642
Publication Date: 2010-05-26
The Wall Street Professional's Survival Guide: The Secrets of a Career Coach is the only complete, up-to-date, and practical guide for financial industry professionals seeking new or better jobs in today's brutally competitive environment. Author Roy Cohen spent more than 10 years providing outplacement services to Goldman Sachs' employees. In this book, he shares finance-specific job-hunting insights you simply won't find anywhere else. nbsp; Drawing on his immense experience helping financial industry professionals find and keep outstanding positions, Cohen tells you what to do when and if you're fired (or ready to move), how to develop a "game plan" and search targets, how to build your "story", how to move from the sell-side to the buy side, and much more. You'll find industry-specific guidance on interview strategy, resumes, follow-up, references, and even negotiation with real examples drawn from Cohen's own practice. nbsp;

Cover Art
Vault Career Guide to Investment Management - Adam Epstein
ISBN: 9781581315615
Publication Date: 2008-07-22
In this second edition, this professional career Guide from the Vault Career Library offers a breakdown of the buy-side of the finance industry - firms that purchase securities as investments - to equity, fixed income, and currency markets, and a look at the career path in investment management.

Cover Art
Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance - Robert R. Johnson (Foreword by); Thomas Fitch
Call Number: HG173 .F55 2007
ISBN: 9780816064748
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
A complete guide to 86 careers in banking, finance, and insurance. The U.S. Department of Labor predicts that jobs in financial services will grow 12 percent over the next several years. Demand will be higher for certain positions in accounting, financial reporting, client services, and risk management due to recently enacted legislation imposing more rigorous financial reporting standards and demographic changes as the elderly population grows. Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance, Second Edition profiles 86 jobs, including eight new to this edition, in this expanding field. All information has been revised and updated to reflect current industry trends and salaries, and the appendixes have been completely updated and revised as well. New career profiles include: Account executive, insurance Customer service representative, banking Financial analyst Performance analyst Portfolio manager Purchasing manager Residential mortgage originator Tax preparer.

Cover Art
Quant Job Interview Questions and Answers - Mark Joshi; Nick Denson; Andrew Downes
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 J68 2008
ISBN: 143821703X
Publication Date: 2008-05-25
Designed to get you a job in quantitative finance, this book contains over 225 interview questions taken from actual interviews in the City and Wall Street. Each question comes with a full detailed solution, discussion of what the interviewer is seeking and possible follow-up questions. Topics covered include option pricing, probability, mathematics, numerical algorithms and C++, as well as a discussion of the interview process and the non-technical interview. Mark Joshi wrote thepopular introductory textbooks "the Concepts and Practice of Mathematical Finance" and "C++ Design Patterns and Derivatives Pricing." He also workedas a senior quant in industry for many years and has plenty of interview experience from both sides of the desk.

Cover Art
Vault Career Guide to Private Equity Career Guide - Mike Martinez; Vault Staff
Call Number: HG173 .M37 2008
ISBN: 1581315473
Publication Date: 2008-04-02
Careers at private equity firms (which raise funds to invest in private companies) are considered plum jobs in the finance world because of the intellectual challenge and potentially huge financial payoffs. Although private equity is a relatively young business, now there are more than 2,700 such companies worldwide. In this new Guide, Vault guide brings the scoop on the industry.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip