This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Capital Markets" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Capital Markets   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazcapitalmarkets Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Morningstar  Icon
    Markets section includes return information on various investment indexes, types, sectors, styles... Also industry and sector reports and market overview reports.
  • NetAdvantage  Icon
    Stock and bond screener tools available as well as industry reviews and S&P Market Commentaries.
  • Thomson One
    Prime source for investment information, company financials and market views.
  • Datastream
    Global financial datasets.
  • Value Line Investment Surveys Plus
    Industry reports and market commentaries available as well as in-depth evaluation of stocks.
 

Books

Cover Art
International Corporate Finance - Laurent L. Jacque
ISBN: 9781118781869
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
A thorough introduction to corporate finance from a renowned professor of finance and banking As globalization redefines the field of corporate finance, international and domestic finance have become almost inseparably intertwined. It's increasingly difficult to understand what is happening in capital markets without a firm grasp of currency markets, the investment strategies of sovereign wealth funds, carry trade, and foreign exchange derivatives products. International Corporate Finance offers thorough coverage of the international monetary climate, including Islamic finance, Asian banking, and cross-border mergers and acquisitions. Additionally, the book offers keen insight on global capital markets, equity markets, and bond markets, as well as foreign exchange risk management and how to forecast exchange rates. Offers a comprehensive discussion of the current state of international corporate finance Provides simple rules and pragmatic answers to key managerial questions and issues Includes case studies and real-world decision-making situations For anyone who wants to understand how finance works in today's hyper-connected global economy, International Corporate Finance is an insightful, practical guide to this complex subject.

Cover Art
The Alchemists of Loss - Kevin K. Dowd; Martin Hutchinson
Call Number: HG4523 .D69 2010
ISBN: 9780470689158
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
An engaging look at how modern finance almost destroyed our global economy Over the last thirty years, capital markets have been restructured through the tenets of modern finance. This has been enormously profitable for the financial services sector. However, these innovations, coupled with unsound risk and regulatory practices have proved disastrous for the global economy. In a clear and accessible style, ex-investment banker and financial journalist Martin Hutchinson, and highly respected academic, Kevin Dowd show how modern finance combined with easy money threatened to bring down the world financial system. At the heart of the book is modern finance as a U.S. invention, the theories and practices associated with them, and the changes they made in business models and risk management on Wall Street and other major financial centers. Breaks down the events involved in the 2007-08 financial collapse Reveals how botched policy response made a bad situation worse Focuses on lessons that the practice of finance must learn from recent events The Alchemists of Loss will help you to understand how our financial system crashed and show you what it will take to make sure this won't happen again as we move forward.

Cover Art
Banking and Capital Markets - Lloyd P. Blenman
ISBN: 9814273600
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
This timely collection of papers probes into the major issues that are at the heart of our current financial market crises. The coverage of banking topics include the changing nature of intra and inter-bank markets, bank lending behavior, risk and risk-taking, the role of liquidity, return and maturity transformation issues. Issues on international financial market volatility and spillover effects are analyzed in detail, and intense discussions on capital adequacy and regulation in banking, and the potential role of banks’ activities in the triggering of financial crises provide forward-looking insights. This volume will offer readers current and innovative approaches to assessing extant issues in banking and financial markets. In particular, it provides new ideas about the role of corporate governance institutions as signaling devices in exercising regulatory authority and protection of the shareholders’ rights. What this volume covers in breadth, it also delves in depth with critical analyses and commentaries on the possible role of bank lending in triggering international crises, value creation in international joint ventures and the pricing of risk in international financial markets.

Cover Art
The 52-Week Low Formula - Luke L. Wiley; Wesley R. Gray (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781118853474
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
A new but timeless strategy and mindset that should greatly help investors lower downside risk while achieving market outperformance In The 52-Week Low Formula: A Contrarian Strategy that Lowers Risk, Beats the Market, and Overcomes Human Emotion, wealth manager Luke L. Wiley, CFP examines the principles behind selecting the outstanding companies and great investment opportunities that are being overlooked. Along the way, Wiley offers a melding of the strategies used by such investment giants as Warren Buffett, Howard Marks, Michael Porter, Seth Klarman, and Pat Dorsey. His proven formula helps investors get the upper hand by identifying solid companies that are poised for growth but have fallen out of the spotlight. Shows you how to investigate companies and identify opportunities Includes detailed discussions of competitive advantage, purchase value, return on invested capital, and debt levels Presents several case studies to examine companies that have overcome obstacles by trading around their 52-week lowsnbsp; The 52-Week Low Formula is a must-read for investors and financial advisors who want to break through conventional strategies and avoid common mistakes.

Cover Art
Banking, Capital Markets and Corporate Governance - Hiroshi Osano (Editor); Toshiaki Tachibanaki (Editor)
Call Number: HG1521 .B365 2001
ISBN: 0333771362
Publication Date: 2002-01-12
Banking, Capital Markets and Corporate Governance explores the fragility of the banking system, corporate governance, and the increasing securitization of corporate finance. The contributors address the following issues: The impact of banking during a crisis in providing an incentive for the managers of failing banks to restructure their assets; the way in which economic and legal institutions can control the management of banks and firms; and the effects of increases in the securitization of corporate finance and the amount of financial innovation.

Cover Art
Configuring Value Conflicts in Markets - Susanna Alexius (Editor); Kristina Tamm Hallström (Editor)
ISBN: 1782544461
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Economic values shape markets, as does sustainability, safety, decency, public health and democracy. Based on micro-process studies in a dozen markets, this multi-disciplinary book presents a typology of strategic responses to value plurality in markets and helps to explain how such value work influences market reform. Value plurality may be reinforced and turned into open conflicts, but also played down in configurations that neutralize, align, balance, or hierarchize values. By highlighting the role of values in markets, this book clarifies why and how markets are organized.

Cover Art
Data Analytics for Corporate Debt Markets - Robert S. Kricheff
ISBN: 9780133553659
Publication Date: 2014-02-09
Use state-of-the-art data analytics to optimize your evaluation and selection of corporate debt investments. Data Analytics for Corporate Debt Markets introduces the most valuable data analytics tools, methods, and applications for today's corporate debt market. Robert Kricheff shows how data analytics can improve and accelerate the process of proper investment selection, and guides market participants in focusing their credit work. Kricheff demonstrates how to use analytics to position yourself for the future; to assess how your current portfolio or trading desk is currently positioned relative to the marketplace; and to pinpoint which part of your holdings impacted past performance. He outlines how analytics can be used to compare markets, develop investment themes, and select debt issues that fit (or do not fit) those themes. He also demonstrates how investors seek to analyze short term supply and demand, and covers some special parts of the market that utilize analytics. For all corporate debt portfolio managers, traders, analysts, marketers, investment bankers, and others who work with structured financial products.

Cover Art
Financial Markets, Banking, and Monetary Policy - Thomas D. Simpson
ISBN: 9781118872239
Publication Date: 2014-08-04
The current financial model has focused on money as a unique asset that is produced exclusively by commercial banks, and regulated by central banks to achieve their macroeconomic goals. However, as financial systems have evolved in the United States and elsewhere around the globe, what constitutes money has become blurred and such monetary aggregates have become highly unreliable and discarded guides to policy.nbsp; As a result, central banks have had to turn to a very different approach for achieving macroeconomic goals. This approach instead focuses on influencing the prices of a broad spectrum of financial assets, and thereby the spending behavior of businesses and consumers.nbsp; They do so by relying on their control over the short-term policy interest rate and its influence on the core element of all asset prices through the term structure of interest rates.nbsp; This book will create a better understanding of that monetary policy so both students and professionals can get a solid understanding of this term structure relationship and how it works throughout the financial system.nbsp;

Cover Art
Asset Prices, Booms and Recessions - Willi Semmler
ISBN: 3642206794
Publication Date: 2011-06-17
The financial market melt-down of the years 2007-2009 has posed great challenges for studies on financial economics. This financial economics text focuses on the dynamic interaction of financial markets and economic activity. The financial market to be studied here encompasses the money and bond market, credit market, stock market and foreign exchange market; economic activity includes the actions and interactions of firms, banks, households, governments and countries. The book shows how economic activity affects asset prices and the financial market, and how asset prices and financial market volatility and crises impact economic activity. The book offers extensive coverage of new and advanced topics in financial economics such as the term structure of interest rates, credit derivatives and credit risk, domestic and international portfolio theory, multi-agent and evolutionary approaches, capital asset pricing beyond consumption-based models, and dynamic portfolio decisions. Moreover a completely new section of the book is dedicated to the recent financial market meltdown of the years 2007-2009. Emphasis is placed on empirical evidence relating to episodes of financial instability and financial crises in the U.S. and in Latin American, Asian and Euro-area countries. Overall, the book explains what researchers and practitioners in the financial sector need to know about the financial-real interaction, and what practitioners and policy makers need to know about the financial market.

Cover Art
Capital Market Instruments - Moorad Choudhry; Didier Joannas; Richard Pereira; Rod Pienaar
ISBN: 9780230576032
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
The third edition of Capital Market Instruments: Analysis and Valuation is a fully revised and updated guide to the most important products in use in the financial markets today, providing clear understanding of key concepts, mathematical techniques and market analysis. There is detailed coverage of debt and equity products and market conventions, illustrated with worked examples and case studies of events in the industry. The book is accompanied by web-based software for a yield curve construction model, enabling readers to set up an Excel application to calculate spot and forward interest rates. In this new edition, all chapters are updated to reflect the latest market developments. There is also a succinct analysis of the 2007-2008 financial crisis, with lessons learned and recommendations for market practitioners. The authors have extensive experience in investment banking, quantitative analysis, bond trading and risk management, and provide valuable insight and understanding of the financial markets.   www.quantlib.org  

Cover Art
Capital Markets - Frank J. Fabozzi
Call Number: HG4523 .F33 2009
ISBN: 9780136026020
Publication Date: 2008-07-25
Capital Markets: Institutions and Instruments, 4/eoffers the most comprehensive capital market coverage available. It covers the instruments, the players, and the principles of valuation with an excellent blend of theory and practice.Topics include Overview of Market Participants and Financial Innovation, Depository Institutions, Investment Banking Firms, Stock Options Market, The Theory and Structure of Interest Rates, and The Market for Foreign Exchange and Risk Control Instruments.Appropriate for corporate treasurers.

Cover Art
Corporate Governance, Capital Markets, and Capital Budgeting - Baliira Kalyebara; Sardar M. N. Islam
ISBN: 9783642359064
Publication Date: 2013-08-12
The primary contribution of this book is to integrate the important disciplines which simultaneously impact the investment appraisal process. The book presents a study that develops a new approach to investment appraisal which uses a multiple objective linear programming (MOLP) model to integrate the selected disciplines which include capital markets, corporate governance and capital budgeting. The research covers two case studies, one in the e-commerce sector and another in the airline industry in which the above disciplines are integrated. Readers from the areas of corporate governance, regulation, and accounting would find the survey of different approaches and the new integrated optimization approach particularly useful.  

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip