This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Business Ethics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Business Ethics   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazbusinessethics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Business Ethics - Marianne M. Jennings
Call Number: HF5387.5.U6 J46 2015
ISBN: 9781285428710
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Packed with real-life examples of business decisions gone awry, the 8th Edition of BUSINESS ETHICS: CASE STUDIES AND SELECTED READINGS explores the complex issues of business ethics from the leaders' perspectives. This best-selling text offers a rare collection of readings which examines the business decision-making processes of many types of leaders, while revealing some of the common factors that push them over ethical lines they might not otherwise cross. A combination of short and long cases, readings, hypothetical situations, and current ethical dilemmas, BUSINESS ETHICS: CASE STUDIES AND SELECTED READINGS provides a stimulating and thorough basis for evaluating business ethics, and encourages stronger values in future business leaders.

Cover Art
Disorganized Crimes - Bernard E. Munk
Call Number: HD2741 .M86 2013
ISBN: 1137330260
Publication Date: 2013-11-20
Disorganized crimes – outbreaks of corporate misgovernance which grow out of the inherent conflict of interest between managers and shareholders are no new thing. Economists since Adam Smith have been aware of the dilemma of having professional managers in charge of 'other people's money'. However, neither current corporate governance practices nor government regulation have prevented major financial fiascos arising out of this conflict. In the last episode (the Credit Crisis of 2007-2009), disorganized crimes nearly collapsed the global financial economy. This book explains how and why these disruptions occur and how we can modify current governance practices and government regulation to reduce the losses to shareholders and avoid serious macroeconomic disturbances such as the Great Recession. Linking two major outbreaks of the past decade (the Enron Era and the Credit Crisis of 2007-8) the book shows what is common to each. It explains how and why industry monitors such as boards, auditors and ratings agencies break down, and how management incentives, corporate compensation and promotion systems leave Directors free of liability, but companies exposed. Disorganized crimes are disruptive and costly. This book lays out a path for avoiding financial fiascos or at the least significantly reducing their impact – a path that focuses on creating measures that make markets work in tandem with regulations, rather than adversely as is presently the case.

Cover Art
Business and Corporate Integrity - Robert C. Chandler (Editor)
Call Number: HF5387 .B862 2014
ISBN: 9780313395970
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
There is a crisis of trustworthiness in business and corporate integrity. This book identifies the specific actions to create and sustain integrity in businesses and corporations-steps that can restore the public's trust and confidence as well as improve company performance.

Cover Art
Business Ethics - Joseph W. Weiss
ISBN: 9781626561403
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Ethics for Today This is a pragmatic, hands-on, up-to-date guide to determining right and wrong in the business world. Joseph Weiss integrates a stakeholder perspective with an issues-oriented approach so students look at how a business's actions affect not just share price and profit but the well-being of employees, customers, suppliers, the local community, the larger society, other nations, and the environment. Weiss uses a wealth of contemporary examples, including twenty-three customized cases that immerse students directly in recent business ethics dilemmas and ask them to consider how they would resolve them. The recent economic collapse raised ethical issues that have yet to be resolved--there could not be a better time for a fully updated edition of Weiss's classic, accessible blend of theory and practice. New to the Sixth Edition! New Cases! Fourteen of the twenty-three cases in this book are brand new to this edition. They touch on issues such as cyberbullying, fracking, neuromarketing, and for-profit education and involve institutions like Goldman Sachs, Google, Kaiser Permanente, Walmart, Ford, and Facebook. Updated Throughout! The text has been updated with the latest research, including new national ethics survey data, perspectives on generational differences, and global and international issues. Each chapter includes recent business press stories touching on ethical issues. New Feature! Several chapters now feature a unique Point/Counterpoint exercise that challenges students to argue both sides of a contemporary issue, such as too-big-to-fail institutions, the Boston bomber Rolling Stone cover, student loan debt, online file sharing, and questions raised by social media.

Cover Art
Business Ethics - Michael Boylan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118494745
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
The second edition of Business Ethics introduces readers to key ethical issues that arise within the world of business, providing a strong theoretical foundation as well as real world applications. This new edition has been greatly revised, and includes new sections on the financial services industry, globalization, and global economic justice. An accessible introduction for beginners, offering a combination of important established essays and new essays commissioned especially for this volume Greatly revised - more than half of the selections are new to this edition. Newly commissioned essays address information technology, global economic justice and globalization, stakeholder theory, the corporation as an individual, and other topics Uses diverse, authentic business cases to illustrate discussion of concepts Cases have been updated to reflect current problems and issues Provides students with guidance and tools to write their own case study essays Readings are presented to progressively develop the reader's ability to read and apply ethical theory by writing case responses from different vantage points

Cover Art
Business Ethics - Robert E. Frederick (Editor); W. Michael Hoffman (Editor); Mark S. Schwartz (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118336687
Publication Date: 2014-02-10
The fifth edition of Business Ethics addresses current, intriguing, often complex issues in corporate morality through 53 readings and 30 pertinent case studies. Now significantly updated, it includes new leading articles, related current cases, and mini-cases based on MBA student dilemmas. Addresses a broad range of the most current, intriguing, often complex issues and cases in corporate morality Provides impartial, point-counterpoint presentations of different perspectives on the most important and highly contended issues of business ethics Updated and significant case studies are included to reinforce student learning Now contains mini-cases based on actual MBA student dilemmas Each author has substantial experience in teaching, writing, and conducting research in the field

Cover Art
Business Law Today - Roger LeRoy Miller; Gaylord A. Jentz
Call Number: KF889 .M527 2014
ISBN: 9781133273561
Publication Date: 2012-12-28
Interesting, clear, and applied, BUSINESS LAW TODAY: STANDARD EDITION is the ideal guide to the law and what it means in the business world--from contracts and secured transactions to warranties and government regulations. Easy to understand with an engaging writing style that is matched by vibrant visuals, BUSINESS LAW TODAY includes coverage of contemporary topics that impact not only the business world, but your life--from the financial crisis and its impact on business law to identity theft,immigration law, and diversity issues.

Cover Art
Contemporary Issues in Business Ethics - Joseph R. DesJardins; John J. McCall
ISBN: 9781285197401
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
CONTEMPORARY ISSUES IN BUSINESS ETHICS, 6E introduces readers to business ethics by focusing on the influence of market mechanisms and social values on workplace norms. And because business is increasingly a global enterprise, this edition emphasizes the role of ethics both at home and abroad. CONTEMPORARY ISSUES IN BUSINESS ETHICS, 6E also takes time to look at ethics from the unique perspectives of either employee or employer. Along the way, readers also learn about such topics as ethical relativism, ethics and the law, virtue ethics, and ethical decision-making.

Cover Art
Embedding CSR into Corporate Culture - Diane L. Swanson
Call Number: HD60 S93 2014
ISBN: 9781137300072
Publication Date: 2014-02-27
Embedding CSR into Corporate Culture demonstrates that a new frontier for corporate social responsibility is possible in theory and practice. The key idea - discovery leadership - enables corporate managers to deal effectively with problems, issues, and value clashes occurring at the corporation-society interface. Amoral leadership and executive myopia are replaced by normative receptivity and value attunement that embed value awareness in corporate culture. The discovery executive leverages this awareness by activating the values that facilitate constructive relationships with the firm's stakeholders. As a practical result, employee engagement in corporate social responsibility is strengthened while the need for social control of business is lessened. Both business and society benefit from discovery leadership because value-attuned decision making yields better economic, social, and environmental performance than is possible when myopic executives are at the helm. Therefore, discovery leadership should serve as the organizing principle for reshaping management practice, reforming management education, and restoring the public's confidence in business.

Cover Art
The Moral Background - Gabriel Abend
ISBN: 9780691159447
Publication Date: 2014-03-23
In recent years, many disciplines have become interested in the scientific study of morality. However, a conceptual framework for this work is still lacking. In The Moral Background, Gabriel Abend develops just such a framework and uses it to investigate the history of business ethics in the United States from the 1850s to the 1930s. According to Abend, morality consists of three levels: moral and immoral behavior, or the behavioral level; moral understandings and norms, or the normative level; and the moral background, which includes what moral concepts exist in a society, what moral methods can be used, what reasons can be given, and what objects can be morally evaluated at all. This background underlies the behavioral and normative levels; it supports, facilitates, and enables them. Through this perspective, Abend historically examines the work of numerous business ethicists and organizations--such as Protestant ministers, business associations, and business schools--and identifies two types of moral background. "Standards of Practice" is characterized by its scientific worldview, moral relativism, and emphasis on individuals' actions and decisions. The "Christian Merchant" type is characterized by its Christian worldview, moral objectivism, and conception of a person's life as a unity. The Moral Background offers both an original account of the history of business ethics and a novel framework for understanding and investigating morality in general.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip