This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Finance A-Z - Banking" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finance A-Z - Banking   Tags: business, finance  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/fincazbanking Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • LexisNexis Academic
    A more general database, but if you search the sources LexisNexis Academic pulls together all under the 'roof' of this one database, you'll find more than 50 banking sources! Great for articles and reports.
  • The World Bank Data Catalog
  • Economist Intelligence Unit
    An incredible source of country, industry and risk data.
  • Thomson One  Icon
    Includes economic indicators and benchmark bonds, corporate events calendars, extensive company financials and deals & league tables covering M&A, equity, bonds, loans and project finance.

Internet Resources

  • Federal Reserve
    Research and data from the economist at the Federal Reserve, including Working Papers, Data Releases, Interactive Tools and further Research Resources.
  • Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
    Browse economic data by tags, categories, sources and more... Or check out the Data Tools that allow you to create your own chart or graph, download data directly into Excel, or embed FRED data directly into your website or blog.
  • Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
    The Bank Data & Statistics section of this site provides access to searchable databases where you can find information on the entire banking industry, or search for data on a specific bank, or even a specific branch!
 

Books

Of course, this is just a very small selection of all the books on the topic of 'banking' available at the West Campus Library and the University Libraries.  Search our catalog to discover more!

Cover Art
Bank 3. 0 - Brett King
ISBN: 9781118589632
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
The first edition of BANK 2.0-#1 on Amazon's bestseller list for banking and finance in the US, UK, Germany, France, and Japan for over 18 months-took the financial world by storm and became synonymous with disruptive customer behaviour, technology shift, and new banking models. In BANK 3.0, Brett King brings the story up to date with the latest trends redefining financial services and payments-from the global scramble for dominance of the mobile wallet and the expectations created by tablet computing to the operationalising of the cloud, the explosion of social media, and the rise of the de-banked consumer, who doesn't need a bank at all. BANK 3.0 shows that the gap between customers and financial services players is rapidly widening, leaving massive opportunities for new, non-bank competitors to totally disrupt the industry. "On the Web and on Mobile, the customer isn't king-he's dictator. Highly impatient, skeptical, cynical. Brett King understands deeply what drives this new hard-nosed customer. Banking professionals would do well to heed his advice." Gerry McGovern, author of Killer Web Content

Cover Art
Bringing down the Banking System - Gudrun Johnsen
Call Number: HG3154 .J66 2013
ISBN: 1137455578
Publication Date: 2014-06-18
The combined collapse of Iceland's three largest banks in 2008 is the third largest bankruptcy in history and the largest banking system collapse suffered by any country in modern economic history, relative to GDP. How could tiny Iceland build a banking system in less than a decade that proportionally exceeded Switzerland's? Why did the bankers decide to grow the system so fast? How did businesses tunnel money out of the banking system? And why didn't anybody stop them? Bringing Down the Banking System answers these questions. Gudrun Johnsen, Senior Researcher with Iceland's Special Investigation Commission, tells the riveting story of the rise and fall of the Icelandic banking system, describes the commission's findings on the damaging effects of holding company cross-ownership, and explains what we can learn from it all.

Cover Art
The Bankers' New Clothes - Anat Admati; Martin Hellwig
ISBN: 9780691162386
Publication Date: 2014-03-23
The past few years have shown that risks in banking can impose significant costs on the economy. Many claim, however, that a safer banking system would require sacrificing lending and economic growth. The Bankers' New Clothes examines this claim and the narratives used by bankers, politicians, and regulators to rationalize the lack of reform, exposing them as invalid. Anat Admati and Martin Hellwig argue that we can have a safer and healthier banking system without sacrificing any of its benefits, and at essentially no cost to society. They seek to engage the broader public in the debate by cutting through the jargon of banking, clearing the fog of confusion, and presenting the issues in simple and accessible terms.

Cover Art
Banking Systems - Center for Financial Training
ISBN: 9780538449281
Publication Date: 2009-03-18
Get started on the fast track today. BANKING SYSTEMS 2E lets you explore the principles and practices of banking and credit in the United States through learning by doing and clear explanations. Whether it's financial services, human resources, marketing, or ethics, BANKING SYSTEMS 2E makes concepts easy to understand. Success tomorrow starts today with BANKING SYSTEMS 2E.

Cover Art
Banking and Financial Institutions Law in a Nutshell, 7th - William A. Lovett
ISBN: 9780314184238
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Authoritative coverage provides a foundation for understanding recent developments in banking and financial institutions. Text covers subjects such as increased competition, deregulation, bank and thrift failures, large-scale bailout, and restructuring efforts. Unresolved challenges include budget stimulus, deficits, and renewed supervision by regulators.

Cover Art
Analyzing Banking Risk - Hennie van Greuning; Sonja Brajovic Bratanovic; World Bank Institute Staff
ISBN: 9780821377284
Publication Date: 2009-03-31
'Analyzing Banking Risk' provides a comprehensive overview of topics dealing with the assessment, analysis, and management of financial risks in banking.

Cover Art
Bank Behaviour and Resilience - Caner Bakir
ISBN: 9780230202474
Publication Date: 2013-02-21
This book provides new interdisciplinary and comparative answers as to why banking sectors in "liberal" and "coordinated" market economies operated under a shared set of rules during the Global Financial Crisis. Exploring the role of complex interactions among interdependent structures, institutions and agents defines this banking behavior.

Cover Art
Bank Performance, Risk and Securitisation - Joseph Falzon (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137332080
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
Bank Performance, Risk and Securitisation brings together the latest research on banking, financial markets, and the recent financial crisis. Written by a group of leading scholars, it offers both empirical and theoretical perspectives on topics such as Basel III and bank efficiency; microcredit securitization; asset-backed securitization and credit risk; asset management issues in sovereign wealth funds. It also examines the impact of the new structural liquidity rules on the profitability of EU banks and examines China's controlled potential property bubble and its economic slowdown. The book provides state-of-the-art scholarly research on bank performance, risk and securitisation and is essential reading for scholars, researchers, graduate students and consulting firms interested in banking and financial markets.

AskUs

Profile Image
Business Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip