This is the "Picking a Company" page of the "FINC 630 - Valuation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FINC 630 - Valuation   Tags: classguide, finance, valuation  

Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/finc630 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Picking a Company Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Let Us Know How We're Doing!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Picking a Company

  • Standard & Poor’s netAdvantage
    Provides access to the S&P Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports for 12,000+ funds, Stock Reports, Quarterly & Annual Earnings Estimates, Bond Guides and Dividend Records, Corporate Records for 12,600 publicly held US, Canadian and international companies and directory information for more than 100,000 public and private international companies through the Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and other S&P publications.
  • IBISWorld  Icon
    Industry surveys organized by NAICS code

Company Informaiton

General Articles, Company Profiles, Investment Analysis

  • Business Source Complete  
      
    Business Literature
  • ABI/Inform Global
    Business Literature
  • Investext
    Full-text company and industry financial reports produced by 700 of the leading international investment banks, brokerage firms and trade associations. Covering more than 11,000 companies and over 50 industries, Investext reports contain information such as industry trends, market share, and emerging technologies. Coverage is current for the last 5 years and updated monthly.

  • Mergent Online
    Provides current and historical financial data, links to extensive lists of SEC filings, and several years of annual reports for over 10,000 U.S. companies and 17,000 non-U.S. companies. Special strengths of this database include its detailed company histories, discussions of debt and equity structure and hard-to-find annual reports for international companies.

Comparable Companies

  • Mergent Online
    Best for company financials & annual reports; also executive, ownership, histories & country profiles
  • Thomson One Banker (with Investext)  
      
    Brings together multiple sources including Worldscope, Thomson First Call, NewsEdge, Datastream and Extel to provide current financial and market information for U.S. and international public companies. Deal information covers mergers & acquisitions, equity & bond issues, and major loans. Price and constituent information on major indices and government economic data is also included. Additionally, contains the full text of over 3,000,000 analysts’ reports.
 

Recommended Electronic Journals

  Wall Street Journal    Financial Times
   Economist    Forbes
   Business Valuation: Discounts and Premiums    Financial Valuation: Applications and Models
   Valuation, Insights & Perspectives    Valuation Strategies
 

Print Reference Resources (available in the WCL Barclay Reference Center)

   Accountants’ Handbook    HF5621 .A22 2007
   Value Line Investment Survey    HG4501 .V262
   Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios    HF5681.R25 I525
   Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios    HF5681.R25 T68
   Handbook of Small Business Valuation Formulas & Rules of Thumb    HG4028.V3 D478 1994
 

Suggested Books on “Valuation” in the West Campus Library

How to measure anything: finding the value of "intangibles" in business
HF5681.I55 H83 2007
Selling your IT business: valuation, finding the right buyer, and negotiating the deal
HD9696.63.A2 C525 2006
Discounted cash flow: a theory of the valuation of firms
HG4028.V3 K79 2006
Valuing your business: strategies to maximize the sale price
HG4028.V3 L56 2005
Business analysis & valuation: using financial statements
HF5681.V3 P295 2004
The handbook of business valuation and intellectual property analysis
HG4028.V3 H257 2004
Principles of private firm valuation
HG4028.V3 F44 2005
Business valuation and taxes: procedure, law, and perspective
HF5681.V3 L37 2005
Stock valuation: an essential guide to Wall Street’s most popular valuation models
HG4028.V3 .H66 2006
Corporate finance and valuation
HG4026 .R92 2007
Intangible assets: valuation and economic benefit
HF5681.I55 C64 2005
Financial valuation: applications and models
HG4028.V3 H583 2006
The market approach to valuing businesses
HG4028.V3 P69 2005
Fair value for financial reporting: meeting the new FASB requirements
HF5681.B2 K475 2006

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip