This is the "Key Resources" page of the "FINC 422 - Investment Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FINC 422 - Investment Analysis   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/finc422 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Let Us Know How We're Doing!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


E-Resources

  • Mergent Online
    Provides current and historical financial data, links to extensive lists of SEC filings and several years of annual reports for over 10,000 U.S. companies and 17,000 non-U.S. companies. Special strengths of this database include delineations of debt and equity structure and hard to find annual reports for international companies. Allows user to download financials to Microsoft Excel.
  • Orbis
    An amazing resource for both comprehensive company information and industry reports. Coverage is global and includes some private as well as public companies. Industry reports can be accessed which focus on particular geographic regions. Company profiles include financial data, some segmentation, industry and peer group comparisons and overviews, major customers, stock data, earnings estimates, ownership data and an overview of relevant patents, trademarks, etc. (coverage varies by individual profile).
  • Thomson ONE: Investext
    Full-text company and industry financial reports produced by 700 of the leading international investment banks, brokerage firms and trade associations. Covering more than 11,000 companies and over 50 industries, Investext reports contain information such as industry trends, market share, and emerging technologies. Coverage is current for the last 5 years and updated monthly. (Note: Investext is a section of Thomson ONE found by clicking on "Research" in the "Screening & Analysis" dropdown menu. Thomson ONE works best in the Internet Explorer browser.)
  • Factiva
    Offers flexible searching of a collection of news and business information from over 14,000 authoritative sources from more than 150 countries. This collection includes the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, and the Associated Press. Factiva is the only database in the library that offers Dow Jones and Reuters news wire stories.
  • Hoover's Premium
    Solid company and industry profiles. Highlight features include company histories, latest news (including recent management changes and discussion on social media), historical financials and graphical representations of the competitive landscape.
  • Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage
    Provides access to the S&P Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports for 12,000+ funds, Stock Reports, Quarterly & Annual Earnings Estimates, Bond Guides and Dividend Records, Corporate Records for 12,600 publicly held US, Canadian and international companies and directory information for more than 100,000 public and private international companies through the Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and other S&P publications.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
    Information and data located by topic: Companies, Funds, ETFs, Markets and more. All sections include the ability to search via a Screener tool wherein the user specifies that they desire a list of all results that match user-defined criteria (companies that have an annual revenue greater than X and Y number of employees, for example). Access to analyst reports and ratings.
  • Gale Business Insights: Global
    A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals on thousands of companies. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Trade association info can be found here. Clearly organized! Updated daily.
  • ValueLine Investment Survey Plus
    Their trademark, "The Most Trusted Name in Investment Research" is not without merit. Company profile pages include Value Line's ratings, ranks, projections and commentary but also plenty of market data, peer comparisons, and an overview of insider transactions an institutional ownership. Includes links to past reports.
  • Morningstar Document Research
    If the information you're looking for might be gleaned from SEC filings, this is the place for you. Much nicer search interface than EDGAR; allows you to search SEC filings through a wide variety of variables, and even includes a 'Knowledge Base' section with suggested search strategies for various goals.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tom Sullivan
Contact Info
Phone: (979) 845-2902
Send Email

If you need help with the writing portion of your work...

  • University Writing Center  Icon
    They can and will (happily!) help you with anything and everything communication-related. Writing and public speaking are their key areas of focus. Their website has great resources, or sign up for a one-on-one consultation.
  • Purdue OWL
    Citation guide for APA, MLA and Chicago, as well as general research and writing guidance.
  • RefWorks
    RefWorks is a web based tool for collecting, accessing, organizing, citing, and sharing citations including articles, books, websites, and more.
  • EndNotes
    Another citation tool. Link to the guide for using this tool.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip