This is the "Online Resources" page of the "FINC 381 - Money and Capital Markets" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FINC 381 - Money and Capital Markets   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/finc381 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Let Us Know How We're Doing!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Federal Reserve Websites

  • Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
    Homepage for the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Highlights include the Economic Research and Data tab with data releases including interest rates, money stock and reserve balances, etc. Also a Banking Information & Regulation section. You can find everything here from news and board member profiles to transcripts as far back as the 1930s for the Federal Open Market Committee. Tons of info here.
  • National Information Center - US Federal Reserve
    The repository for financial data and institution characteristics collected by the Federal Reserve System.
  • Federal Reserve Districts
    Links to individual district banks' sites. You can expect to find Research & Data sections on these sites as well as banking structure and regulation information, among other things. Great resources.

Other Useful Websites

  • Investopedia.com
    This isn't a scholarly source, but if you need a good, quick article to give you an overview of a topic and information you can follow to other sources... This is the place.
  • Bloomberg.com
    News and some data. Note: If you like this data, we are lucky enough to have a subscription to multiple Bloomberg Terminals both in Wehner and two in West Campus Library.
 

FINC 381 - Library Info, Tips & Tricks

News

It is my understanding you need access to The Wall Street Journal and should pay attention to other news outlets of your choosing...

  • Factiva  Icon
    This is the premier database for accessing business news. The Home tab will give you access to the latest issue of the Wall Street Journal, or use the Search tab to search this and many, many more news sources.

Article Databases

  • ABI/Inform Complete
    Articles database with full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry. Covers scholarly research, businesses traditions and trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information. And don't forget to use the Browse tab at the top to access First Research Industry Profiles for industry background and outlook!
  • Business Source Complete
    Full text articles and abstracts from leading peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and conference proceedings in management, MIS, marketing, economics, finance, and accounting. Includes the Harvard Business Review and MIT's Sloan Management Review in full text. The "Company Profiles" section provides access to Datamonitor reports on thousands of companies worldwide, many with SWOT analyses. In addition, one can find Country Reports and Industry Profiles.

Industry Info

  • IBISWorld  Icon
    Premier database for industry information including industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions (information on regulations!) and key statistics... Don't forget to check out the "Additional Resources" on pg. 1 of the reports (often links to regulators, industry associations, etc.)
  • NetAdvantage
    From S&P Capital IQ. The Industry profiles can be searched via the Industries tab at the top. Brief reports, but from a very reliable source of business data.
  • Associations Unlimited
    If you're looking for major trade associations (national, regional or even international), you can search this database by keyword, subject, etc.
  • BizMiner
    The best place to find local industry information: What is the state of XYZ industry in the city or metropolitan area of ___? Ideal if you're looking into working within a particular industry and a specific and narrow geographic area.

Company Info

  • Mergent Online
    Provides current and historical financial data, links to extensive lists of SEC filings and several years of annual reports for U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Special strengths of this database include delineations of debt and equity structure and hard to find annual reports for international companies. Allows user to download financials to Microsoft Excel.
  • Factiva  
      
    Offers flexible searching of a collection of news and business information from authoritative sources from more than 150 countries. This collection includes the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, and the Associated Press. It never hurts to be informed about current events and in particular business news and events with the potential to impact your industry.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Under "Search By Content Type" choose "Dossier" under the Companies heading to locate company information. Resource provides capability to develop targeted company list based upon geographic location, size, industry, etc. Includes both articles and company information.
  • Hoover's Premium
    Get a good sense of the company's history, financials and closest competitors. Also includes links to latest news stories and even a glimpse at the most recent Tweets associated with the company!
  • PrivCo
    One of the very few places you might find some history, funding and other financial information if the company you're interested in is a private one.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tom Sullivan
Contact Info
Phone: (979) 845-2902
Send Email

Need some background?

If you need some macroeconomic data to help with your research, a personal favorite...

  • Economist Intelligence Unit
    International scope. Country profiles and Data Tool to view statistics and even build custom tables with the data you need.
  • FRED
    Economic data directly from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Career Exploration

  • The Occupational Outlook Handbook
    Provides a generic description of many types of jobs and includes information on the nature of work, job growth projections, and average annual salaries.
  • Careers.org
    Occupation Profiles include good overview of the expectations, duties and educational requirements for jobs, as well as linking to job listings within each profile.
  • What Can I Do With This Major? - Finance
    Lots of good information on possible areas and employers you might pursue with a Finance major; also a portal with links to Professional Associations, Occupational Outlook Information, Miscellaneous Career Information and Job Postings.

Audit Firms - Publications

These firms will almost always produce publications analyzing various financial services industries including banking and insurance.  Outlook, risk assesment, economic impact, etc.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip