This is the "Getting Started" page of the "FILM 201 - Introduction to Film Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FILM 201 - Introduction to Film Analysis   Tags: classguide  

Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/film201 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Film 201 - Introduction to Film Analysis

The nature of cinema studies or the study of film as literary text is extremely interdisciplinary and depending on the perspective of the research topic, other subject-based resources may be suitable. For example, consulting America: History and Life or Sociological Abstracts for citations on the portrayal of African-American in Film. Keep in mind when doing research in film and television that both of these media are relatively recent and given their popular origins, it may be difficult to find scholarly information on topics in these subjects. 

The resources listed herein are merely starting points.

Catalogs
Online Catalog LIBCAT includes the materials (books, journals, videos, documents and other materials) that the Libraries hold.

WorldCat Catalog of books and journals, the contents of over 14,000 research libraries, mainly in North America. Anything found on WorldCat that is not available in the Texas A&M University Libraries can be ordered through Interlibrary Services or Get it for me

Databases
Film Indexes Online (Chadwyck Healey) a portal that allows simultaneous or independent searching of 3 key resources for research in film:
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (Plus)
- Film Index International
- AFI Catalog

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (Chadwyck Healey)- [1972-present]
Containing almost 400,000 article references from nearly 340 film periodicals from 1972 to the present day. The database also offers access to over 85,000 FULL-TEXT articles from nearly 40 key journals.

Film Index International (Chadwyck Healey) - [1900-present]
Containing over 120,000 films and 735,000 film personalities from over 180 countries. All eras of film-making are covered - from the early silent movies to recent box-office hits.

AFI Catalog (Chadwyck Healey) - [1893-1971]
Containing nearly 48000 films produced in the United States from 1893 to 1971 with more than 17,500 entries covering the early years of American film from the last century to 1910. The AFI records include production and cast information, plot summaries and production notes.

MLA Bibliography indexes sources on literature, linguistics and drama from 1963 to present. Also available in print back to 1920. While it indexes secondary literature, it may lead to other pertinent information on the topic. PB1 .M46 from 1920 to 1962; from 1963 to present

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature An electronic index of critical articles and book reviews on language and literature in English back to 1892. The print index of article citations on English language and literature covers published articles from 1920 to present. Z2011 .M69

WilsonWeb. A collection of databases of article citations, on a variety of subjects from science to business to the social sciences. It includes the web versions of:


Retrospective access to these resources is available in print: Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature, AI3 .R48, continues Poole’s Index, AI3 .P7, covering periodical literature from 1800 to present. Essay and General Literature Index includes citations to articles and book chapters from 1900 to present, AI3 .E752. Humanities Index will provide citations to criticism articles in literature, including poetry, short fiction, drama and novels. The print indexes back to 1972. AI3 .H84

Academic Search Complete is a collection of selected full text periodicals and scholarly journals, U.S. and international newspapers, reference books and detailed pamphlets from a variety of disciplines.

PCI (Periodicals Contents Index) indexes citations from critical articles as well as book and performance review in humanities and social sciences journals from 1770 to 1993. This is the only electronic resource available that indexes back to the 1770s. 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index are part of the Web of Knowledge, an online database indexing resources in all areas. It includes citations of critical articles on literature, linguistics, popular culture, and many other subjects. The online versions go back to 1982 while the paper version of Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Z5931 .A78 goes back to 1975, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Z7163 .S6 extends back to 1956.

Film Index International includes filmographies on films made from 1930 to the 1997, in addition to references to current and historical critical articles and popular reviews. 

Internet Resources
Film Literature Indexes annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.

Internet Movie Database features filmographies as well as current popular reviews including links and citations to articles on selected films from 1890 to the present.

Movie Review Query Engine links to full-text current popular reviews for recent and upcoming movies as well as award winners and films recognized by the American Film Insititute.

Reference Materials
Batty, Linda.Retrospective index to film periodicals, 1930-1971. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1975.Indexes historical popular reviews of mainly American films from 1930 to 1971. Z5784 .M9 B39

Bowles, Stephen E.Index to critical film reviews in British and American film periodicals, together with: Index to critical reviews of books about film. Compiled and edited by Stephen E. Bowles. New York, B. Franklin, 1974. This resources includes reviews of films in the United States and Great Britain as well as reviews of books about films from 1963 to 1982. Z5784 .M9 B64

Film Literature Index. Albany, Filmdex, inc. This quarterly publication is an author-subject index to the international literature of film. Ref Z5784 .M9 F45 

Film Review Index. A very useful resource indexing both popular reviews and in-depth criticism on films from 1882 to1985. PN1995 .F48

International Film Index. Film directory and directors' and actors' filmography, covering 160 countries. It includes short and animated films as well as features. PN19988 .I68

Magills' Cinema Annual includes historical and current popular reviews of selected films from 1981 to present. PN1993.3 .M34. Consult also the 3 various series of Magill’s Survey of Cinema.

Media Review Digest includes historical and current popular reviews for theatrical and educational works from 1985 to present. Z5784 .M9 M85

Motion Picture Guide. Contains alphabetical entries on virtually every foreign and American feature film, prior to 1984. It is includes cast and credits, plot summary, analysis, and film rating, as well as a detailed listing of award winners. PN1995 .N3461

New York Times Encyclopedia of Film. A reprint collection of facsimile articles that appeared in The New York Times from 1986-1973. PN1993 .N465 1984

Review of the Arts: Film and Television. Index to articles on motion pictures and television shows selected
from newspapers from over 450 U.S. cities, reproduced on microfiche (be certain to get the microfiche number from the index). PN1993 .R48

Salem, James M. A Guide to Critical Reviews. New York, Scarecrow Press, 1966-71, 1973, 1984. The three editions of this combine to cover historical reviews in drama and film for the entirety of the twentieth century, including American drama, musicals, British and continental drama, and screenplays. Z5782 .S34 (1st edition), Z5782 .S342 (2nd edition), Z5781 .S16 1984 (3rd edition).

Samples, Gordon. How to Locate Reviews of Plays and Films: a bibliography of criticism from the beginnings to the present provides a master-index to other resources and bibliographies in cinema. Z5781 .S19.

Variety Film Reviews. Full-text trade reviews published in Variety Magazine from 1907 to 1984. PN1995 .V34.

Tibbetts, John C. and James M. Welsh. Novels into Film: The Encyclopedia of Movies Adapted from books. New York: Checkmark Books, 1999. An interesting analysis of films based on fiction and nonfiction, their similarities and their deviations. PN1997.85 .T54 1999

Contemporary literary criticism. Detroit: Gale Research, 1973-. This set of volumes by Gale Research includes excerpts from literary criticism appearing in monographs and periodicals from the 20th century. Many instructors would prefer that this source be used as an index and that students seek out the original article rather than using the excerpted versions. PN771 .C59 

Electronic Journals and Full-text Databases
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe is a full-text resource including newspapers as well as popular, trade and scholarly publications in all areas from about 20 years to the present.   It will have the full-text of critical articles and reviews on film and television.

Global Newsbank is a full-text resource for newspapers in foreign countries. It extends back approximately 10 years and includes articles and reviews.

Project Muse and JSTOR  are packages of electronic journals in the Humanities. They are among the more than 1500 online titles to which the Library has access. Project Muse is a full-text collection of humanities journals from 1995 to present; JSTOR is a full-text collection of history, philosophy, economics, and political science journals from their conception (at times, from the 1700s) to present.

English and Classics Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Candace Benefiel
Contact Info
Office Phone: 979.862.1044
Send Email
 

Chat With Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip