This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Depositing Your Work in the Faculty Publications Collection,
Texas A&M Digital Repository" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Depositing Your Work in the Faculty Publications Collection,
Texas A&M Digital Repository  

This guide takes you through the process of submitting an article, pre-print or other scholarly work to the Faculty Publications Collection within the Texas A&M Digital Repository.
Last Updated: Jan 15, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/faculty_publications Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Faculty Publications Collection

If you are a Texas A&M faculty member you are automatically authorized to submit to the Faculty Publications collection.

 

Top reasons to deposit Your Work in the Digital Repository

  1. Disseminate your work to users around the world
  2. Establish a stable, persistent, bookmarkable Internet location for your work that can be linked in other sites, Web pages, course management systems, etc.
  3. Gain exposure to your work via Google and other Internet Search Engines
  4. Ensure enduring access to your work in a Library-supported system that is backed up regularly and replicated off-site
  5. Co-locate your work in a Digital Library of Texas A&M works, alongside other research in related fields
 

Step-by-Step Directions (PDF)

This is a printable version of the same instructions provided below.

 

Step-by-Step Directions

  1. Point your Web browser to the Texas A&M Digital Repository at: http://repository.tamu.edu/
  2. In the top right corner of the Repository screen, login with your Texas A&M NetID and password
  3. Browse down to the Faculty Publications Collection (Repository -> Faculty Research -> Faculty Publications
  4. You should now be in the Faculty Publications collection, and a blue button should display with the text "Submit a new item to this collection"
  5. Clicking on the blue button will start the submission process.  The Repository system will present you with a sequence of templates to fill in, as follows:
    • Initial Questions
      • Multiple titles: Check his box if the item has multiple titles.
      • Published: Check this box to indicate that this item has been published, presented, or distributed before. If you leave this box unchecked, the repository will record the submission date as the date of issue.
    • Describe (Screen 1) : 
      • Fill in the first Author's last name and first name.  Use the 'Add' button to generate additional boxes for additional authors.
      • Fill in the Title field
      • The Series, Identifiers, Type, Language and Department fields may or may not be relevant or applicable and are considered optional.  Filling them out may help users locate your work more easily.
      • Fill in the Embargo date, if you wish the only the citation and abstract to display for your work.  If you fill in the term 'forever' the embargo is permanent.  If you fill in a particular date (e.g., 2014-01-01) the embargo will automatically remain in place until that date.
      • The Request Access box accompanies the Embargo function and serves as a 'reprint request' feature.  If you select yes, users are able to generate an email to you to ask for access to the files that are embargoed.  You will receive an email that gives you the option to decline the request altogether; to allow 72-hour access to that user; or to lift the embargo for all users permanently.
      • Click on the 'Next' button to save your submission data and move to the next screen.
    • Describe (Screen 2) :
      • Fill in the fields or on this screen, or skip over them, as appropriate, to fulfill your purpose.
      • Click on the 'Next' button to save your submission data and move to the next screen.
    • Upload
      • File: Use the browse button to locate the file for your article or other work on your computer
      • File Description: Fill this field in if you are uploading more than one files to distinguish them to the user, or if you don't want to rely on the filename to help the user identify the file
      • Upload file & add another: Click this button if you want to repeat the uploading process for additional files
      • Click on the 'Next' button to save your submission data and move to the next screen.
    • Review
      • Read over the displayed information to make sure it represents what you wanted it to 
      • Use the 'Correct one of these buttons' to edit the submission data, as appropriate
    • License (1)
      • Use this option if you want to associate an open content license to your work, allowing users to download, print and reuse under conditions you approve, without having to ask your permission.  Associating a Creative Commons license is part of making your work Open Access. It is optional.
    • License (2)
      • In order to submit a work to the Digital Repository, you must agree to the terms of a license that allow the Texas A&M Libraries to disseminate, manage and preserve the work. Which exact terms you agree to depends on whether the submitted work is copyrighted, and whether you are the rights holder.
        • If the item is not protected by copyright, you need to affirm that fact by selecting the radio button 'I warrant this work is in the public domain." At the end of the text, click the box at the bottom of the page.
        • If the work is copyrighted and you are the rights holder to the work, you need to select the radio button 'I am the rights holder to this work' and check the box at the bottom of the page.
        • if you are not the rights holder to the work but are submitting it on behalf of the rights holder, with his/her permission, you need to select the radio button 'I am authorized by the rights holder to submit this work.' You are asked to upload an electronic file that documents the rights holder's permission.  This file can be an email, a text file, a PDF, or any other format that conveys the rights holder's permission.  This file will be permanently stored along with the item itself to provide legal documentation for auditing or adminstrative purposes.
          • If you do not provide a copy of the rights holder permission, the submission will still go through.  But there will be no record that you had the permission of the rights holder allowing your submission of the work.
      • After signing off on the license, you are ready to press the 'Complete submission' button.
      • The Repository System will confirm that the submission is complete and you will receive an email confirmation as well. 
      • Return to the Faculty Publications Collection page where you will see your submission at the tip of the 'Recent Submissions' listing.
      • Congratulations!  You have self-archived your work in the Digital Repository, where it will be discovered and used by users around the world.
      • You may wish to return to your item in the future to check the usage statistics.  You will need to be logged in with your NetID and navigate to the Item page.  On the left-side navigation window you will see an option for 'Statistics -> View Statistics.' Clicking this link will display number of total visits, visits per month, and views by Country and City.

Departmental Guides from

Profile Image
Digital Services and Scholarly Communication
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip