Featured E-Book Databases
Most TAMU-owned or subscribed e-books have records in the catalog and are searchable by the main search function, but there is sometimes a delay for the inclusion of the records of recently-acquired titles. If you are looking for e-books in a particular subject area or from a particular publisher, try searching some of the featured databases listed below.
Suggest a Resource
Have a favorite site for or about e-books? Let us know.
Generating an A-Z Listing of E-book Databases
TAMU owns or licenses nearly two hundred e-book collections; you may want to search individual collections that are specialized for certain topics. Here's how to create an A-Z descriptive listing using the "more options" Database search:
(Tips for) Finding E-Books
- Use the library's default Search, but click on "More Options" and limit to e-books. In your search results display notice the options for refining your search in the left-hand panel. Here's How video.
- Use the library's "Books" search, choosing either LibCat, the general catalog, or the MSL catalog for topics in agriculture, medicine, or veterinary medicine. In either catalog choose the Advanced Search option and, in addition to the keywords for your topic, search for the phrase "electronic resource" (without quotes - use the drop-down to choose "match exact phrase"), and limit the "Type" field to "Book". Here's How video.
- Check the links listed on the Links & Free E-Book Collections tab if you are looking for classic literary works, government publications, or other public domain works, or for works that may be available for free online under the Creative Commons licensing. This page also has links to sites listing temporarily free or discounted e-book offerings from independent authors and/or online booksellers,
- Use the "Suggest a purchase" to request access to e-book titles that TAMU doesn't own. Note: Not all books are available as e-books, and publishers may restrict the sale or licensing of their e-book titles to individuals only rather than to libraries, or may require libraries to purchase or license e-books only as part of large collections.
General Information about E-Book Reading and Downloads
Reading and Download Options for Ebrary Ebook Titles
Ebrary Online Reading Options
- View the eBrary Quick Start Guide. The eBrary QuickView Reader runs within your web browser and works with Window, Mac OS, and Linux. Browser settings needed:
- Cookies enabled
- Pop-ups allowed for *.ebrary.com
- Troubleshooting FAQs; the eBrary Knowledge Base states that eBrary works particularly well with the FireFox browser.
- Create a free account in eBrary in order to organize, save, and share your research.
- To turn on accessibility features, sign in to your eBrary account, and go to "My Settings".
- Using your eBrary account "My Settings", you may set preferences for exporting references to RefWorks and/or Endnote.
- Learn about the eBrary mobile app, which is available for iOS devices only.
Ebrary Download Options for Offline Reading
Option 1: Download a chapter or up to 60 consecutive pages
- All eBrary titles allow a chapter or 60 pages download as image PDF
- This option is available for all computers and all devices, including the Kindle.
- No additional software needed other than a PDF reader.
- The downloaded PDF file does not expire; you may continue to save it / use it as long as needed.
- Unfortunately, the downloaded PDF image will not be as high quality as the image within the eBrary reader.
- Detailed instructions available at the eBrary support site Create an Image PDF.
Option 2: Download the full document for 14 days - available for multiple-user licensed titles only
TAMU has both single-user-licensed titles and multiple-user-licensed titles. The single-user licensed titles have a listed download period of 7 days - BUT THIS OPTION IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR TAMU USERS. Only the titles with a 14-day download period are available for download of the full document. In addition to looking at the download period, a quick way to determine if a title is multi-user or single-user is to click on the book's title to open it in Quick View, and look for a "Release this title" button. If there is a "Release this title" button, the book is single-user only and full document download is not permitted. If no "Release this title" button is present, then the item is available for full document download under the multiple-simultaneous-user licensing - unless prohited by that publisher. (List of excluded publishers)
- Full document download is available for multiple-user licensed titles only; some publishers excluded (list of excluded publishers)
- Checkout time is 14 days; file will automatically become unreadable after that time. Early return is possible.
- Up to 10 documents may be checked out per user; when the limit is reached, a volume must be early-returned for each new volume requested for download.
- Requirements for download to personal computers (Windows, Mac, not Linux) for offline reading
- Create free eBrary account
- Download and install Adobe Digital Editions to your computer (System Requirements)
- Create an Adobe Account (Adobe ID)
- Many mobile devices are supported, including iOS, Nook, Sony Reader, some Android devices, but NOT Kindle (list of ADE-supported eBook devices)
- Additional steps and reading software are required for download and reading of eBrary titles on mobile devices. Users of iOS devices may also be interested in the eBrary Mobile App.
- Detailed instructions for downloading eBrary titles are available at the eBrary help center: