This is the "Getting Started" page of the "SOCI 217.502 Intro to Race and Ethnicity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOCI 217.502 Intro to Race and Ethnicity   Tags: african american, diversity, ku klux klan, race, racism, white supremacy  

Fall 2016-Jesus Gregorio Smith
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/content.php?pid=683975 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

 

Find Us Online

Facebook Twitter Icon YouTube Icon Flikr Icon

University Writing Center

The University Writing Center is dedicated to helping "students learn to write and speak more effectively."

For hours, locations, and to make an appointment, visit them at:

http://writingcenter.tamu.edu/

Suggest links to add to this page

 

Basics

The resources listed herein are merely starting points. The library can provide many more resources specific to a particular topic. Some of the sources below are library databases accessible from the Libraries’ homepage at http://library.tamu.edu.  Please feel free to contact Rebecca Hankins at rhankins@tamu.edu.

 

Finding Books

LibCat, the TAMU Libraries' online catalog includes the materials (books, journals, videos, documents and other materials) that the Libraries hold.

WorldCat is a consortial online catalog system that includes the holdings for over 14,000 research libraries in the world, mainly North America.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.

If we do not own what you need, you can request specific materials (books, journal articles, book chapters, etc.) by using the Get it for me link from the Libraries' web page, through WorldCat or various databases. In addition, if the book you want is at another campus library, Get it for me can deliver it to your preferred library on request.

 

Expectations of equality : a history of Black westerners

Cover Art
Racism Without Racists - Eduardo Bonilla-Silva
Call Number: E185.925 .B76 2012
ISBN: 9781442220546
Publication Date: 2013-07-29
Eduardo Bonilla-Silva s acclaimed Racism without Racists documents how, beneath our contemporary conversation about race, lies a full-blown arsenal of arguments, phrases, and stories that whites use to account for and ultimately justify racial inequalities. This provocative book explodes the belief that America is now a color-blind society. The fourth edition adds a chapter on what Bonilla-Silva calls "the new racism," which provides the essential foundation to explore issues of race and ethnicity in more depth. This edition also updates Bonilla-Silva s assessment of race in America after President Barack Obama s re-election. Obama s presidency, Bonilla-Silva argues, does not represent a sea change in race relations, but rather embodies disturbing racial trends of the past. In this fourth edition, Racism without Racists will continue to challenge readers and stimulate discussion about the state of race in America today."

 

Getting Articles Delivered . . .

You can set up a Get It For Me (Document Delivery Service) account to ask the
library to:

  • Scan up to 50 pages for items not already available electronically
  • Request to borrow materials owned by other universities or research centers
  • Get items delivered to Evans from other campus libraries

* The Libraries may send print materials through campus mail to faculty only. 

Associate Professor

Profile Image
Rebecca Hankins
Contact Info
(979) 845-1951
Send Email
 

Citing Sources

The library provides support for organizing and citing information in order to make writing papers and doing projects a little easier.

There is an introduction to Citing Sources and other basic information that faculty and students may need (like when to cite and when not to). In addition, there are a number of brief guides to citing in various styles including:

Bibliographic software can also help organize your sources and create a database for ongoing projects. These programs will also put sources into a specific format, one of those above or one created by the user. The Libraries provide assistance with a couple of these programs:  

 

RefWorks Login

RefWorks Log-in Name:

Password:

Create Account

Forgot Login?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip