This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENGL 339 - African American Literature 1930-Present" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 339 - African American Literature 1930-Present  

Dr. Larry Oliver, Fall 2014
Last Updated: Jun 13, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/content.php?pid=633736 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Critical Essays on James Weldon Johnson

Cover Art
Critical Essays on James Weldon Johnson - Lawrence J. Oliver
Call Number: PS3519.O2625
ISBN: 0783800339
Publication Date: 1997

Other Guides and Documents

 

Find Us Online

Facebook Twitter Icon YouTube Icon Flikr Icon

 

Introduction

Introduction:

This guide will introduce you to some of the best library and web resources for your Introduction to Africana Studies class. If you have suggestions for how to improve this guide please contact me at rhankins@tamu.edu, 979-845-1951.

 

Cushing Holdings-Africana Studies

Useful Guides and Reference Works

MLA Literary Research Guide

This is the online edition of Harner's Literary Research Guide.  Indispensable.

Guide to Reference

Guide to Reference is a selective guide to the best reference sources, organized by academic discipline.

Literary Encyclopedia

Entries in The Literary Encyclopedia are divided into three databases, People, Works and Topics & Events. All articles are aimed at a “higher introductory” level for university / college reading - neither too long nor too short; neither too simple nor too complex. We offer very good coverage of English, American, Canadian, German and Russian literatures as well as substantial and increasing coverage of French, Italian, Japanese, Classical Greek, Latin, Hispanic and East European. (Other major literatures to be added as resources permit.) So far we have published about 6528 completed articles, with a total of about 13.41 million words. We are currently adding around 40 articles to the Encyclopedia every month.

  • People - includes basic data on over 6920 people (2797 with full profiles), mainly writers, but also philosophers, scientists, artists, historical figures and others of note. You can browse a list of completed profiles.
  • Works - includes over 30816 works (3074 completed), mainly literary, but also historical, philosophical and scientific, which are indexed by date, genre and country. A large part of these are listed for bibliographical purposes, while others will be profiled as the Encyclopedia expands and develops. You can browse a list of completed profiles.
  • Topics & Events - lists 16482 historical and literary events, for which it provides 10979 short notes (comprising major acts of parliament, wars, battles, epidemic diseases scientific and technological inventions, cultural shifts, concepts etc.) and 657 major essays on literary, critical, philosophical and historical concepts, themes and events. You can browse the list of short notes or essays.

Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Associate Professor

Profile Image
Rebecca Hankins
Contact Info
(979) 845-1951
Send Email
 

What is RefWorks? Getting started

RefWorkis logo

RefWorks is a web based tool for collecting, accessing, organizing, citing, and sharing citations including articles, books, websites, and more.  

Step 1. Create an account: Fill out form, selecting your own username and password

Step 2. Learn the basics: Print Handout on RefWorks (includes RefGrabIt and Write N Cite) OR watch videos

Step 3. Add citations:Add from variety of sources (many are covered in handout)

  • Add from: Compendex, Ebsco, JSTOR, Lexis Nexis, Ovid, Proquest, Pubmed, ScienceDirect, Web of Science
  • Add from Articles search on Library Homepage
  • Add from Endnote, another TAMU RefWorks account, another university RefWorks account
  • Add using RefGrabIt, a tool for adding websites Pubmed articles, & more

Step 4. Managing Citations: organizing citations by folder, removing duplicates, adding PDF's, and more

Step 5. Create bibliographies: RefWorks helps you create bibliographies in 3 ways- quick list, Using Write-N-Cite in MS Word (PC or Mac), or using any word processor such as open office (handout)

Advanced Techniques: sharing citations, adding PDF's, customizing, sending citations to MS Excel, and more

KNOWN ISSUES

Q:

The in-text citations I've inserted with WNC 4 keep changing to “Error! Unknown switch argument” when I insert new citations. What's wrong?

A: This has happened to some users of WNC4 when they have Word's "Track Changes" features turned on. Check to see if "Track Changes" is turned on. If it is, turn"Track Changes" off when you insert citations. If this isn't helpful, you will probably need to contact RefWorks Tech Support.

RefWorks Technical Support staff are available by phone and e-mail, Monday- Friday from 6AM - 5PM Pacific time. 

Tel: +1.775.327.4105 
Email: RS-RWsupport@refworks-cos.com

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip