This is the "Getting Started" page of the "FILM 481/AFST 489 - New African Cinemas" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FILM 481/AFST 489 - New African Cinemas  

Prof Carmela Garritano's Fall 2014 Course
Last Updated: Apr 27, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/content.php?pid=632333 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Book

Cover Art
African Video Movies and Global Desires - Carmela Garritano
ISBN: 9780896804845
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
African Video Movies and Global Desires is the first full length scholarly study of Ghana's commercial video industry. African video movies narrate the desires and anxieties created by Africa's incorporation into the global cultural economy. Drawing on archival and ethnographic research conducted in Ghana over a ten year period, as well as close readings of a number of individual movies, this book brings the insights of historical context as well as literary and film analysis to bear on a range of movies and the industry as a whole. Garritano makes a significant contribution to the examination of gender norms and the ideologies these movies produce.

 

Film Studies Subject Guide

The Film Studies Research Guide provides links to many resources related to film studies including primary source material, cinema statistics, Web resources, video searching, and magazine archives.

 

Search TIPs


(1) Film history
- libcat.tamu.edu is a good starting point to find books on film history. Keywords like cinema africa war should work fine. Another good search term to use is - motion pictures. Combine it with your topics. For example, motion pictures and race. When viewing a libcat record, change the default "Brief View" to "Long View" to view Table of Content or other details. Worldcat.org is another good source for books using similar searches.

(2)
 Thesis for the paper (see your course notes). As for coming up with a thesis, one approach is to browse though what have been published on a given topic. International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text may be a good starting point (try - hollywood and race).


(3) Reviews, older reviews, critical analysis
- Film reviews published in magazine or newspaper are usually shorter in length. Their purpose is to inform but not to provide in-depth analysis. Older reviews may be found from Readers Guide Retrospective, ProQuest Historical Newspapers , ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2006), Variety Film Reviews (in print) or other archival sources. The contemporary reviews can be found by using Film Literature Index Online, MLA or other databases. The critical or scholarly reviews may describe, analyze or critique a film in a historical, political, social, psychological, philosophical or other aspects. The easiest way to filter out those non-scholarly materials from your search results is to use the "Scholarly/Peer-reviewed" filter. However, not all databases offer this feature.

(4)
Full text - Click on the fulltext@tamu link to get full text online. If not available online, you may be able to get a photocopy from the printed journals in the library. If not available in print, you could use Get It for Me to obtain it from another institution.

(5) Ebooks - You could also use the Library's e-books search to find books on a desired topic. The same search tool will also allow you to perform multiple databases searching for journal articles. To do that, select one of the categories relevant to Film History - Performing Arts, History, or Language/Literature.

Associate Professor

Profile Image
Rebecca Hankins
Contact Info
(979) 845-1951
Send Email

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Stephen Bales
Contact Info
111R Sterling C. Evans Library
(979) 845-1036
sbales@library.tamu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip