This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENGL/AFST 329" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL/AFST 329  

Prof. Amy Earhart's 2014 course focuses on the Millican Riots
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/content.php?pid=561265 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Slavery Before Juneteenth in Central Texa

 

Publications/Theses/Dissertations

 

Databases


Find Scholarly Articles:  Databases

America: History and Life (EBSCO)

Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Black Studies Center
BSC covers scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles articles, and much more for researching the history of African-Americans, and the wider African Diaspora.

Black Thought and Culture
BTC contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, from colonial times to the present, includes published non-fiction works, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters, fugitive material including more issues of the Black Panther newspaper.

Black Women Writers
BWW offers over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays from all over the world; voices of women in the African Diaspora from over 20 countries.

 

What is RefWorks? Getting started

RefWorkis logo

RefWorks is a web based tool for collecting, accessing, organizing, citing, and sharing citations including articles, books, websites, and more.  

Step 1. Create an account: Fill out form, selecting your own username and password

Step 2. Learn the basics: Print Handout on RefWorks (includes RefGrabIt and Write N Cite) OR watch videos

Step 3. Add citations:Add from variety of sources (many are covered in handout)

  • Add from: Compendex, Ebsco, JSTOR, Lexis Nexis, Ovid, Proquest, Pubmed, ScienceDirect, Web of Science
  • Add from Articles search on Library Homepage
  • Add from Endnote, another TAMU RefWorks account, another university RefWorks account
  • Add using RefGrabIt, a tool for adding websites Pubmed articles, & more

Step 4. Managing Citations: organizing citations by folder, removing duplicates, adding PDF's, and more

Step 5. Create bibliographies: RefWorks helps you create bibliographies in 3 ways- quick list, Using Write-N-Cite in MS Word (PC or Mac), or using any word processor such as open office (handout)

Advanced Techniques: sharing citations, adding PDF's, customizing, sending citations to MS Excel, and more

Upcoming Online Classes

Suggest links to add to this page

Associate Professor

Profile Image
Rebecca Hankins
Contact Info
(979) 845-1951
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Bill Page
Contact Info
Send Email

More Databases

Gender Studies Database
GSD covers sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

JSTOR-includes one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. 

Project MUSE-providing 100% full-text, prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.  MUSE contains conent from over 400 titles.

Race Relations Abstracts
RRA includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, etc.

Rock & Roll, Counter Culture, Peace and Protest, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip