Online Catalog LibCat includes the materials (books, journals, videos, documents and other materials) that the Libraries hold. Be aware that there are groups of materials not included in the catalog: many government documents and microform sets that we own may not appear in LibCat.
WorldCat Catalog of books and journals, the contents of over 14,000 research libraries, mainly in North America. Anything found on WorldCat that is not available in Evans Library can be ordered through Interlibrary Services or Get it for me.
CRLCATALOG (Center for Research Libraries). The Center for Research Libraries is a consortia headquartered at the University of Chicago. The consortia supports research and teaching in many fields including the liberal arts and humanities by acquiring and preserving newspapers, journals, and other types of documentary sources. Most materials can be requested through the TAMU Libraries' Get it for me service.
If we do not own what you need, you can request specific materials (books, journal articles, book chapters, etc.) by using the Get it for me link from the Libraries' web page, through WorldCat or various databases. In addition, if the book you want is at another campus library, Get it for me can deliver it to your preferred library on request.
Useful Guides and Reference Works
This is the online edition of Harner's Literary Research Guide. Indispensable.
Guide to Reference is a selective guide to the best reference sources, organized by academic discipline.
Entries in The Literary Encyclopedia are divided into three databases, People, Works and Topics & Events. All articles are aimed at a “higher introductory” level for university / college reading - neither too long nor too short; neither too simple nor too complex. We offer very good coverage of English, American, Canadian, German and Russian literatures as well as substantial and increasing coverage of French, Italian, Japanese, Classical Greek, Latin, Hispanic and East European. (Other major literatures to be added as resources permit.) So far we have published about 6528 completed articles, with a total of about 13.41 million words. We are currently adding around 40 articles to the Encyclopedia every month.
- People - includes basic data on over 6920 people (2797 with full profiles), mainly writers, but also philosophers, scientists, artists, historical figures and others of note. You can browse a list of completed profiles.
- Works - includes over 30816 works (3074 completed), mainly literary, but also historical, philosophical and scientific, which are indexed by date, genre and country. A large part of these are listed for bibliographical purposes, while others will be profiled as the Encyclopedia expands and develops. You can browse a list of completed profiles.
- Topics & Events - lists 16482 historical and literary events, for which it provides 10979 short notes (comprising major acts of parliament, wars, battles, epidemic diseases scientific and technological inventions, cultural shifts, concepts etc.) and 657 major essays on literary, critical, philosophical and historical concepts, themes and events. You can browse the list of short notes or essays.
|Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.|
Research Tip: Doing a Literature Search
- Searching for Literature Reviews: Before You Write, You Have to Find - The lecture by Margaret Foster, Associate Professor, Systematic Reviews & Research Coordinator, Medical Sciences Library, TAMU.
< http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3Vw1-rljpuQ >
- Get Lit: the Literature Review - This video provides the background and context for the research that will be conducted and is a "comprehensive examination of all of the research and all of the literature done on a particular topic" as presented by Candace Schaefer in the Texas A&M University Writing Center.
< http://writingcenter.tamu.edu/news/get-lit-the-literature-review-workshop-video/ >
- Generally, the purpose of a review is to analyze critically a segment of a published body of knowledge through summary, classification, and comparison of prior research studies, reviews of literature, and theoretical articles.
- A literature review can be just a simple summary of the sources, but it usually has an organizational pattern and combines both summary and synthesis. A summary is a recap of the important information of the source, but a synthesis is a re-organization, or a reshuffling, of that information. It might give a new interpretation of old material or combine new with old interpretations. Or it might trace the intellectual progression of the field, including major debates. And depending on the situation, the literature review may evaluate the sources and advise the reader on the most pertinent or relevant.
< http://writingcenter.unc.edu/resources/handouts-demos/specific-writing-assignments/literature-reviews >
- See also VIII - Systematic Review vs Traditional Narrative Review
III. What Major Steps Literature Reviews Require?
- 1. Develop a review protocol. Protocols define the scope of studies that will be reviewed, the process through which studies will be identified, and the outcomes that will be examined. Protocols also specify the time period during which relevant studies will have been conducted, the outcomes to be examined in the review, and keyword strategies for the literature search.
2. Identify relevant studies, often through a systematic search of the literature.
3. Screen studies for relevance and the adequacy of study design, implementation, and reporting.
4. Retrieve and summarize information on the intervention studied, the study characteristics, and the study findings.
5. Combine findings within studies and across studies when relevant.
- The basic stages in a typical research project are: i) identify your topic of interest, ii) perform a literature review, iii) generate related questions, iv) state your unsolved problem or hypothesis, v) find or develop a solution, and vi) document your results.
- The four stages required:
Problem formulation—which topic or field is being examined and what are its component issues?
Literature search—finding materials relevant to the subject being explored
Data evaluation—determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
Analysis and interpretation—discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature
< http://library.ucsc.edu/help/howto/write-a-literature-review#components >
IV. What Basic Elements Comprise a Literature Review?
- An overview of the subject, issue or theory under consideration, along with the objectives of the literature review
- Division of works under review into categories (e.g. those in support of a particular position, those against, and those offering alternative theses entirely)
- Explanation of how each work is similar to and how it varies from the others
- Conclusions as to which pieces are best considered in their argument, are most convincing of their opinions, and make the greatest contribution to the understanding and development of their area of research
< http://library.ucsc.edu/help/howto/write-a-literature-review#components >
V. Which Citation Tool Are You Going to Use to Manage the Search Results?
- Choose your citation tool before conducing your literature reviews. If you decide to use RefWorks, the information can be found at http://guides.library.tamu.edu/RefWorks.
VII. Systematic Literature Review vs Narrative Review
- Systematic Review and a Narrative Review Comparison Table
- Comparison of Systematic Review and Narrative Review
- Systematic Literature Review vs Narrative Reviews
VIII. Other Useful Guides
- Literature Reviews (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
- Performing a Literature Review
- The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It
- How to Write a Literature Review (UCSC)
- Learn how to write a review of literature (WISC)
- Reviewing the Literature
- What is a systematic review
- Procedures for Performing Systematic Reviews
While the above guide provides some assistance, Gail and Wendi are happy to sit down and help with specific topics.