Chat With Us
Useful Library of Congress Classification Ranges
BL2420-2480 History and Principles of Religions--African
F1201-3799 History--Latin America. Spanish America
Credo Reference- Religion search box
This box will search all of your Credo Reference Religion titles.
- Annual Reviews (See: Annual Review of Anthropology)
- Anthropological Index : Maintained by the British Museum, the anthropological index covers all branches of anthropology and is regularly updated. This database, however, is citation only and does not link to full-text resources in other TAMU databases.
- Anthropological Literature : Contains almost 600,000 citations for books, essays, and articles in all fields of anthropology
- Anthropology Review Database : Dedicated to archiving anthropology book reviews. Does not contain links to full text
- ARTSTOR : Amazing collection of images relevant to art and architecture, humanities, and social sciences (including anthropology and archaeology).
- Bibliography of Native North Americans : Indexes books and journal articles about North American Native Americans from the 16th century to the present.
- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) Collection of Archaeology
- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) World Cultures
- for the library's tutorial on using eHRAF, visit here.
- the Guide to Cross-Cultural Research Using the HRAF Archive, by Ember and Ember, is available on line.
- Humanities Abstracts Full Text : Contains abstracts for many humanities subject areas, including archaeology and folklore
- JSTOR : Archive of historically important academic journals in science, social science, and humanities. Many articles are full-text.
Other Useful Subject Guides
Religious Studies Databases
- ARDA Association of Religion Data Archives (free online) : Demographic data about religious groups worldwide
- ATLA Religion Database : Indexes of articles on all major world religions. Contains 1.5 million bibliographic records
- Bibliography of Native North Americans : Bibliographic index including citations for books, articles, and government documents covering all aspects of United States and Canadian Native American culture.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online : Allows searching under the category "Religion and Philosophy."
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (Ebsco) : Indexes over 300 comparative religion, biblical studies, and philosophy journals.
General Social Science Databases
JSTOR: A full text database covering over 300 scholarly publications. Contains many journals that focus on anthropology, religion, and African American studies.
General Anthroplogy Web Resources
- Anthropology in the News : This is the TAMU Department of Anthropology homepage. The right side of the page lists the latest in anthropology news.
- Guide to Internet Resources on Anthropology : A comprehensive collection of links covering all areas of anthropology
- Handbook on Ethical Issues in Anthropology : Published by the American Anthropological Association
- Internet Public Library Subject Collection: Anthropology : A list of links to quality anthropology resources.
- science.gov : Links to U.S. government databases.