Lone Wolf - Kiowa Chief

National Archives Image
Federal Depository Library

Texas A&M Libraries have been a Federal Depository since 1907.
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
Government Information Resources on Native Americans
Bureau of Indian Affairs – Department of the Interior - The BIA is the main agency that interacts with Native Americans. The United States has a unique legal and political relationship with Indian tribes and Alaska Native entities as provided by the Constitution of the United States, treaties, court decisions and Federal statutes. Within the government-to-government relationship, Indian Affairs provides services directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts to 566 Federally recognized tribes. Other information includes American Indian Population and Labor Force reports
Resources on Native American History
Navy - Native Americans and the U.S. Military - includes information on the Navajo Code Talkers.
Library of Congress –Native American History – American Memory Project.
Smithsonian – National Museum of the American Indian - The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego. The Smithsonian also published a series of bulletins by the Bureau of American Ethnology in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and these can be found online at the Biodiversty Heritage Library. Bulletins 1-24 Bulletins 25-200
National Archives - Native American Records – includes how to search Indian rolls and census data for ancestry purposes.
National Archives - Resources on Native Americans
Resources for Teaching Native American Heritage
Smithsonian – American Indian Heritage Teaching Resources
Library of Congress - Native American Resources for Teachers
Department of Education - Native American Teaching and Learning Resources
Resources on Native American Health
Health and Human Services – Indian Health Service - http://www.ihs.gov/ - The Indian Health Service (IHS), an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. The provision of health services to members of federally-recognized tribes grew out of the special government-to-government relationship between the federal government and Indian tribes. This relationship, established in 1787, is based on Article I, Section 8 of the Constitution, and has been given form and substance by numerous treaties, laws, Supreme Court decisions, and Executive Orders.
Medline Plus - Native American Health
CDC – Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities
Other Agencies with Native American Offices
Census Bureau – American Indian and Alaska Native and Facts on the American Indian and Alaskan Native Population.
Department of the Interior - Indian Arts and Crafts BoardThe Indian Arts and Crafts Board (IACB) promotes the economic development of American Indians and Alaska Natives of federally recognized Tribes through the expansion of the Indian arts and crafts market.
Department of the Interior - Bureau of Indian Education - The BIE’s mission is to provide quality education opportunities from early childhood through life in accordance with a tribe’s needs for cultural and economic well-being, in keeping with the wide diversity of Indian tribes and Alaska Native villages as distinct cultural and governmental entities.
President Obama and the Native American Community
US Department of Agriculture - National Agriculture Library - Native American Resources and Natives and the Forest Service Office of Tribal Relations.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - American Indian Environmental Office Tribal Portal - The EPA Tribal Portal was created as a gateway to EPA environmental information specifically related to tribal governments, such as environmental policies, practices and laws.
U.S. Fish and Wildlfe Service – Native American Liaisons program - the Office of the Native American Liaison identifies areas where both Federal and tribal conservation efforts can most effectively conserve fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats.
Small Business Association - Office of Native American Affairs - The Office of Native American Affairs mission is to ensure that American Indians, Native Alaskans and Native Hawaiians seeking to create, develop and expand small businesses have full access to the necessary business development and expansion tools available through the Agency’s entrepreneurial development, lending and procurement programs.
Government Information Librarian |
Chat With Us
Regular Chat Hours
| Mon - Thu | 10 am - 10 pm |
| Fri | 10 am - 6 pm |
| Sat | 2 pm - 6 pm |
| Sun | 2 pm - 10 pm |
Bureau of Indian Affairs



Loading...
