This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ENGL-Advanced Composition-Using Primary Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL-Advanced Composition-Using Primary Resources  

Writing about the history of oppression/marginalization/liberation at Texas A&M University
Last Updated: Jun 2, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/content.php?pid=323630 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books/Thesis/Dissertations

Adams, Ray I., A Comparative Socio-Economic Study of Farm Owner and Farm Non-Owner Groups Residing in a Section of the Brazos Bottom and Neighboring Upland Area.  Texas A&M, masters thesis, 1939.  Cushing Library – Remote Storage (2-3 days retrieval) 1939 / Thesis / A2134.  About farms located in Brazos, Burleson, and Robertson Counties; includes pictures of "a farm laborer's home," "plantation commissary," "home of a cropper family," and a "toilet used by 2 or more families."

 

African American Lifeways in East Central Texas : the Ned Peterson Farmstead (41B2115) Brazos County, Texas [College Station, Tex.] : Texas A&M University, Center for Environmental Archaeology, 1995.   Carnegie History Center  GNL 976.4242 AFRICAN.  Also, TAMU Evans Library, Texas Documents  A / 1900.7 / P422 / no. 1330; also in Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection  F / 392 / B84 / A34 / 1995

 

The African-American National Heritage Society Presents: an early Bryan and Brazos County Calendar.  s.l., s.n., [2001].  Carnegie History Center  “Rare Books African”.  Includes photos and historical information.

 

Allen Chapel.  Centennial Anniversary, 1873-1973.  Bryan, 1973.  Pamphlet from Allen Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church.

 

Allison, Randal Scott, A Dialogue Between Material Remains, Historical Documents, and Oral History: Allenfarm and Rogers Plantation, a Case Study, 1996.  Cushing Library / Theses & dissertations microfiche  1996 / Dissertation / A442; also available through Proquest Dissertations & Theses database.

 

“Annie Day,” in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography, Supplement, Series 2, vol.4, pp.1160-1162.  TAMU Evans Library  E / 441 / A58 / suppl. 2

 

Batts, Fred D., A Follow‑up Study of the Graduates and Drop‑outs of the John M. Moore Training School, Bryan, Texas, 1942‑1948 (1951). 64 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Baum, Dale, Burdens of Landholding in a Freed Slave Settlement: The Case of Brazos County's "Hall's Town," Southwestern Historical Quarterly, 113 (2):  184-204 (October 2009).  TAMU Evans Library  F / 381 / T45.

 

Baum, Dale, Counterfeit Justice:  The Judicial Odyssey of Texas Freedwoman Azeline Hearne.  Baton Rouge:  Louisiana University Press, 2009.  TAMU Evans Library F / 392 / R63 / B38 / 2009

 

Biennial Reunion LHS Classes of 1940's-1970's: Forward Forever, Backward Never.  s.l.: s.n., 1999.  Carnegie History Center  TR 976.4242 LINCOLN.

 

Blair, John, “African American Volunteer State Guards at Bryan, Texas,” Brazos Genealogist, 26(3): 88-93 (Summer 2005).  Carnegie History Center.  About a unit which was active in Bryan from Reconstruction to 1902.

 

Blair, John, “The Freedmen Burying Grounds at Bryan City Cemetery,” Brazos Genealogist, 26(4):137-140 (Fall 2005), 27(1):16-18 (Winter 2006).  Carnegie History Center. 

 

Blair, John, “Harmon Chapel Cemetery Found,” Brazos Genealogist, 22(2):66-67 (Spring 2001).  Carnegie History Center. 

 

Blair, John, The Last Confederate Veteran,” Brazos Genealogist, 24(1):15-16 (Winter 2003).  About Frank S. Sims.  Carnegie History Center. 

 

Brazos County Historical Markers.  The Brazos County Historical Commission website includes marker applications and related items for:

“African American Education in College Station” (added 1996)

“Black Education in Bryan” (added 1975)

http://brazoscountyhistory.org/histmarkers-list

 

Brazos Valley Cotton Grower.  Magazine published from 1941 to 1943.  TAMU:  Evans Library  S / 1 / B7; also Carnegie History Center  GNL 976.4242 INDEX

 

Brown, Dena L., “School Days,” Bryan-College Station Eagle, 3 Feb. 1985, Section.D, pp.1, 12.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

“Brushy Cemetery,” Brazos Genealogist, 11 (3): 103 (Summer 1990).  Carnegie History Center. 

 

“Bryan Group Confronting Segregation,” Texas Observer, 21 Oct. 1960, p.7

 

Bryan Public School Fire, 1913:

 

“Three Fires Last Night,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 25 Apr. 1913, p.3, col.4.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

“Negro School House Plans Submitted,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 30 June 1913, p.2, col.6.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

“Bids Opened for Negro School House,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 12 July 1913, p.5, col.2. TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

“Negro School Contract Awarded,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 15 July 1913, p.2, col.2.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

“Colored School Building Completed,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 7 Jan. 1914, p.6, col.2.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

Bryan Public School Fires, 1925:

 

“One Student Desk Burned Last Night at Colored School,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 26 Mar. 1925, p.1, col.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

“Someone Tried Burn Up Negro School on Last Night -- Failed,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 28 Apr. 1925, p.1, col.6.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

Bryan Public School Fires, 1970:

 

Thomas, Katie & Dave Mayes, “Flames Gut Washington School,” Daily Eagle, 17 Sept. 1970, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Robinson, Bob, “Wire Overload Draws Blame in School Fire,” Daily Eagle, 18 Sept. 1970, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Mayes, Dave, “Neal Jr. High Gutted by Fire,” Daily Eagle, 26 Nov. 1970, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Robinson, Bob, “Junior High School Fire Cause Still Under Probe,” Daily Eagle, 27 Nov. 1970, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

“Kemp and Neal Students to Go Split Schedule,” Daily Eagle, 29 Nov. 1970, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Jefferson, Erma F. Hedge, “Mrs. Jefferson Recalls the Old Kemp High,” Daily Eagle, 30 Nov. 1970, p.4.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

“Board Approves Neal Jr. Razing,” Daily Eagle, 7 Dec. 1970, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Robinson, Bob, “Chief Says School Fires Coincidental,” Daily Eagle, 10 Dec. 1970, p.1

“Park Urged at Fire Site,” Daily Eagle, 13 Dec. 1970, sect.A, p.8.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Horn, Ed, “More Arson Attempts Expected,” Daily Eagle, 14 Dec. 1970, p.1.  Fire set at Carver Elementary School.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Horn, Ed, “Officials Still Probing Fire,” Daily Eagle, 15 Dec. 1970, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Mayes, Dave, “Two Grades to Return to Neal Junior High,” Daily Eagle, 16 Dec. 1970, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Mayes, Dave, Guards Going to School for Holidays,” Daily Eagle, 24 Dec. 1970, 2nd sect., p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

Buford, Michael Dwain, Up From Cotton: A Pictorial History Book of Blacks in the Brazos Valley.  [Bryan, Tex.: Buford, 1980].  Carnegie History Center; also TAMU Evans Library  F / 395 / N4 / B94; also Cushing Library / Texas & Borderlands Collection

 

“Canaan Cemetery,” Brazos Genealogist, 11 (3): 104-108 (Summer 1990).  Carnegie History Center. 

 

Carlson, Shawn Bonath, Archaeological Investigations at the Site of Two Historic African American Schools (41BZ152) (2006).  TAMU Evans Library  F / 392 / W3 / C37 / 2006.  Schools were located in Bryan.

 

Choudhury, Iftekharuddin Mohammed, Effects of Private Outside Space on Residential Satisfaction with Particular Reference to Cultural Differences, Texas A&M dissertation, 1994.

 

“Clayton Cemetery,” Brazos Genealogist, 11 (3): 108-110 (Summer 1990). Carnegie History Center.   

 

Coit, Erma S., A Small Community in Action:  Brazos County Negro Health Council, 1952.  30 pp.   Prairie View thesis.

 

Corley, Ronald & Susan Frisbie, Brazos County Blacks. [Texas A&M University, Urban & Regional Planning Dept., 1972?].  Clara B. Mounce Public Library (Bryan) Reference Desk  TR 976.4242 CORLEY.

 

Crouch, Barry, “Reconstructing Brazos County: Race Relations and the Freedmen’s Bureau, 1865-1868” in his book The Freedmen’s Bureau and Black Texans, Austin, 1992, pp.102-127.  TAMU Evans Library  E / 185.93 / T4 / C76 / 1992; also in Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection

 

Cunningham, Iney Clark, Factors Affecting Establishment in Farming in Brazos County, Texas, 1951.  37 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Daniels, Donna, “Black Community was Restricted,” Eagle, July 11, 1976, section C, page 2, col.3.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

Davis, Wendell Charles, A Follow‑up Study of Athletes Graduated from the E. A. Kemp High School, Bryan, Texas : 1948‑1960, 1962.   35 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

E. A. Kemp High School, The Bear, 1955.  Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection. Yearbook of African American High School in Bryan

 

E.A. Kemp High School, Commencement Program.  [Texas?: s.n.], 1957.   Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection  F / 394 / B94 / E3 / 1957. 

 

Elbaum, Nora R., Medicinal Plants and Their Role in the Dooryard Gardens of Bryan, Texas, TAMU thesis, 1995.  Cushing Library – Dissertations & Theses microfiche  1995 / Thesis / E436.  “The study was a comparative analysis of the three major ethnic groups of gardeners in Bryan, Texas.  The Black, Hispanic, and White gardeners' manner of cultivation and use of medicinal plants within the local residence was recorded and map typologies for each group, and a composite of all three groups were made.”

 

“Experiment in Organization at College Station,” Texas Observer, 4 Nov. 1960, p.6

 

Foster, Betty C., ed., Bryan Legends and Legacies.  Bryan, TX: The City of Bryan, 1996.  Includes several articles by Sunny Nash.  Carnegie History Centery; also Cushing Library / Area Studies / Africana – F / 394 / B94 / B92 / 1996.

 

Freeze, John M., Tenancy and Sharecropping in Brazos and Burleson Counties.  Masters thesis, Texas A&M University, 2002.  Cushing Library – Theses/Dissertations microfiche  2002 / Thesis / F89.

 

Goldsmith, Kay, “Fairview Women Organize; Black Pride Manifested in Club,” Daily Eagle, 29 Nov. 1970, p.9.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

“Grandview Cemetery,” Brazos Genealogist, 12 (2): 58-68 (Spring 1991).  Carnegie History Center. 

 

Graves, Debbie, “Separate No More; a Decade Ago, the Courts Opened Bryan’s White Schools,” Bryan-College Station Eagle, 27 Mar. 1982, “Saturday Magazine,” pp.2-11.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

Hanchett, Chelsea L., Distribution and Process of Environmental Inequity in the Brazos Valley, Texas.  Senior Scholars Thesis, Texas A&M University, 2007.  Deals with Brazos, Grimes, Robertson and Washington Counties.

http://repository.tamu.edu/handle/1969.1/5733

 

Hardin, John Daniel, A Study of Community Recreation Areas, Facilities, and Activities for Negroes in Bryan, Waco, Corsicana, Tyler, Texas, and Limestone County, 1963.  51 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Henry, Willie, Slavery in the Economy of Brazos County: 1821 to 1860 (1954).  Prairie View thesis.

 

Hill, Scott O., Desegregation in Brazos County, 1946-1971.  Texas A&M University, masters thesis, 1998.  Cushing Library – Theses & dissertations microfiche  1998 / Thesis / H55; also Carnegie History Center  GNL976.4242 EDUCATION.

 

Holliday, Debi, “Local Problem Changes Were Subtle, Definite, When Integration Came,” Eagle, July 11, 1976, section C, p.2, col.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

“Integration Suit is Filed Against Bryan Schools,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 15 Sept. 1961, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

Jefferson, Calvin B., Tenancy as it Affects the Negro Farmer in Brazos County, Texas, 1956.  57 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Jones, Mae Edna Derry, A Proposed Program of Music Education for the John M. Moore  Elementary School, Brazos County, Bryan, Texas, 1953.   79 pp.  Prairie View thesis

 

Landmann, David L., “You Can Sit on Hospital Steps, But Only $50 Got Your Foot in the Door,” Eagle, December 17, 1972, section D, p.4, col.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.  About the Burrell Convalescent Home for Blacks.

 

Lincoln School, College Station, Burned in January 1966:

 

Stewart, Robert, Jr., “Lincoln School Blaze Displaces 100,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 21 Jan. 1966, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

“Lincoln School Book Count Slated Monday,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 23 Jan. 1966, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

Brown, Shari, “Consol Board Shuffles Pupils,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 25 Jan. 1966, p.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

Mack, Emanuel, A Proposed Plan for the Teaching of Industrial Arts in the Lincoln High School, College Station, Texas, 1958.  29 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Marshall, Elmer G., “The Negroes and the Cotton Plantations as Factors in the Development of the County,” in his The History of Brazos County, University of Texas, masters thesis, 1937, pp.123-198.  TAMU Evans Library  F / 392 / B84 / M3 / 1937b; also in Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection  F / 392 / B84 / M3 / 1937a; also Carnegie History Center  GNL 976.4242 HISTORY.

 

Mathis, Pat, “Edge Woman Daughter of Slaves,” Bryan Daily Eagle, 1 April 1962, Brazos Section, page 1.  About Della Love.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

McDermott, Virginia P., “A Family Called Jarvis,” Eagle, September 14, 1980, section E, p.1, col.1.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

McGee, Joe, “Uncle Ike’s Religion,” [poem] in his ‘Heart Throbs’ Rhymes, Verses and Parodies.  Bryan, Tx., 1931, pp.40-41.  Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection  PS / 3525 / A232 / H42 / 1931.

 

McKay, Paul, “Ku Klux Klan in the Bryan Area,” Bryan-College Station Eagle, 21 July 1984, “Saturday Magazine,” p.6.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

McKay, Paul, “Slaveholding in Brazos County,” Bryan-College Station Eagle, 23 Feb. 1985, “Saturday Magazine,” p.18.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

McKay, Paul, “Tough Campaign,” Bryan-College Station Eagle, 7 Feb. 1985, section A, p.4.  About politicians Dennis Ballard, H.M. Maddox and Elias Mays.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

McKay, Paul, “When Lynchings Were Common,” Bryan-College Station Eagle, 14 Dec. 1985, “Saturday Magazine,” p.6.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

McKay, Paul, “Who’s Who of the Negro Chamber,” Bryan-College Station Eagle, 13 Oct. 1984, p.6.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / N / 557.

 

McKay, Paul; Olivia Banks; Mell Pruitt, “Black History,” in Brazos County History, Rich Past -- Bright Future, 1986, pp.104-114.  Carnegie History Center; TAMU Evans Library  F / 392 / B84 / B8 / 1986; also in Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection

 

McLellan, Dennis, “Lessons from Candy Hill,” Los Angeles Times, 20 May 1992, “Life & Style Section,” part E, p.1.  About Sunny Nash.

 

The Mexican‑Americans of Brazos County, the Black Americans of Brazos County [College Station:  The Class, 1972]   TAMU Evans Library  HT / 167.5 / T4 / M48 / 1972.

 

Nash, Sunny, Bigmama Didn't Shop at Woolworth's, College Station: Texas A&M University Press, c1996.  TAMU Evans Library F / 394 / B94 / N37 / 1996; also in Cushing Library – Texas A&M Press Collection.  Autobiography of woman who grew up in Bryan in the 1950s and 1960s.

 

Nash, Sunny, “The Carnegie Lesson,” Houston Chronicle, 14 Feb. 1999, “Texas Houston Chronicle Magazine,” p.3

 

Neal, R. C., The Scrapbook of R. C. Neal, Unpublished collection of newspaper clippings.  Carnegie History Center.  GNL976.4242 NEAL

 

Nevels, Cynthia Margaret Skove, In-Between Southerners: European Immigrants and Racial Violence in Brazos County, Texas.   Texas A&M University, masters thesis, 2003.  Cushing Library – Theses & dissertations microfiche  2003 / Thesis / N397.

 

Nevels, Cynthia Skove, Lynching to Belong:  Claiming Whiteness Through Racial Violence (2007).   F / 392 /  B84 / N485 / 2007; also in Cushing Library.

 

Observing the Fourth Anniversary of Rev. and Mrs. I.G. Gooden of the Shiloh Baptist Church, Bryan, Texas.  [Bryan, 1948].  10 pp.  Cushing Library/Texas & Borderlands Collection  BX / 6480 / B8 / O2 / 1948. 

 

Page, Bill, “Early African American Deaths.”  2010.  Dating from 1857 to 1922, mostly taken from newspapers.

http://www.texasresearchramblers.org/newspapers/1857-1922africanameicandeaths.html

 

Page, Bill, “African American Education During Reconstruction,” Brazos Genealogist, 13 (2): 46-49 (Spring 1992).  Carnegie History Center. 

 

Page, Bill, “African American Land Owners in Brazos Co. 1865-1875,” Brazos Genealogist 17(4): 147-149 (Winter 1996).  Carnegie History Center.

 

Page, Bill, “Bryan Orphan Home.”  No date; no place. 

http://www.texasresearchramblers.org/newspapers/scrapbookitems/bryanorphanage.pdf

 

Page, Bill, The Other Pioneers: Notes on Slaves and Slavery in Brazos County (1996). Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection  F / 392 / B84 / P34 / 1996; also Carnegie History Center  GNL 976.4242 AFRICAN.

 

Page, Bill, “Rev. Fredrick Lights,” Brazos Genealogist, 26(2): 64-66 (Spring 2005).  Carnegie History Center.  He was pastor of Shiloh Baptist Church in Bryan.

 

Page, Bill, Stories from Long Ago, Vol.1 (2003).  Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection  E / 185.93 / T4 / P34 / 2003.  Newspaper articles about African American in Brazos County before 1900.

 

Panther:  Published by the Senior Class of Lincoln High School, College Station, Texas.  College Station, 1950.  Carnegie History Center  TR976.4242 PANTHER  [I think the “TR” means this item is on Reference behind the librarian’s desk]

 

Panther.  Lincoln High School.  Issues for 1950, 1952 and 1954 have been digitized and are available on the City of College Station’s “Project Hold” website:

http://docarc.cstx.gov/browse.aspx?dbid=1&startid=26691

 

Patterson, Barbara Searcy, Where I’m Been, Where I’m Going.  Bryan: Scholarship Fund, 2002.  Evans Library  F / 394 / C694 / P38 / 2002.

 

Person, Oswell, Moving Forward from Behind:  Life and Times of African-Americans in Bryan, Texas,  Fort Worth:  OCES Publications, Inc., 2010.  Carnegie History Center  GNL 976.4242 AFRICAN AM

 

Peterson, Alandrus A., Some Environmental Influences on the Developmental Pattern of Negro Youth in Brazos County, 1962.  51 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Pleasant Grove Baptist Church -- 100th Church Anniversary, 1893-1993. [Bryan, Tx., 1993].  Carnegie History Center  GNL 976.4242 CHURCHES

 

Pruitt, Mell, Evaluation of the Health and Physical Education Program for Girls at E.A. Kemp High School, Bryan, Texas (1959).  43 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Pruitt, Robert L., Rev., 116th Anniversary of Allen Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church.  s.l.: s.n., May 27, 1990.   Carnegie History Center  GNL 976.4242 CHURCH.

 

Pruitt, Willie, A Course of Study for Health and Physical Education for Washington Elementary School, Bryan, Texas, 1959.  74 pp.  Prairie View thesis. 

 

Randle, Irene E., A Comparative Study of Common Schools for Negroes in Brazos County (1944).  52 pp.  Prairie View thesis.  TAMU Evans Library  Microfilm / S / 117 / U8 / reel 42, item 7.

 

Scott, Paul R., “From Dilapidated Community to Banner County: The Civil War and Reconstruction,” in Brazos County History Rich Past -- Bright Future, 1986, pp.85-103.  Carnegie History Center; TAMU Evans Library  F / 392 / B84 / B8 / 1986; also in Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection

 

Scurry, Claude L., A Ten Year Follow‑up on Members of the Senior Classes of E.A. Kemp High School, Bryan, Texas, for the Years 1949 through 1958 (1960). Prairie View thesis.

 

Scurry, Doris Edwin, Comparative Results Obtained from Instructional Procedures Used in Arithmetic on a Select Group of Pupils at Carver Elementary School Bryan, Texas, 1959.   Prairie View thesis.

 

Scurry, Doris; Lorraine Ocheltree; Mell Pruitt; “The History of Shiloh Baptist Church 1860-1984,” Brazos Genealogist, 13(3): 99-100 (Summer 1992).  Carnegie History Center. 

 

Shiloh, 1984.  [Bryan, TX.] [Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church] [1984].  Carnegie History Center  GNL 976.4242 CHURCHES

 

Shin, Woo-Hwa, The Effects of Neighborhood Environments on the Level of Physical Activity Among Older African American Women in Texas.  Texas A&M University, doctoral dissertation, 2009. 

http://hdl.handle.net/1969.1/ETD-TAMU-3079

 

Shin, Woo-Hwa; Byoung-Suk Kweon, Woo-Jin Shin, “The Distance Effects of Environmental Variables on Older African American Women's Physical Activity in Texas,” Landscape and Urban Planning, 103(2):217-229 (30 November 2011).  The study site was Bryan, Texas.

 

Social Tie Lodge No. 56: Prince Hall, F. & A.M. Bryan, 1952.  34 pp.  Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection  HS / 539 / B79 / S62 / 1952.  African American Lodge history.

 

Standish, Hilary A., A Case Study of the Voices of African American Teachers in Two Texas Communities Before and After Desegregation, 1954 to 1975.  Texas A&M University, doctoral dissertation, 2009.  Teachers in Bryan and College Station schools.

http://hdl.handle.net/1969.1/ETD-TAMU-1099

 

Taylor, Fannie J., A Study of 4‑H Clubs in Brazos County with Recommendations for Meeting the Needs of Youth in a Democracy in Brazos County, Texas, 1956.  50 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Wallace, Ulysees, A Study of Soil Conservation Problems of Sixty Farmers in Brazos County, Texas, 1961.   45 pp.  Prairie View thesis.

 

Who's Who in Black Preachers in the Brazos Valley, 1982.  [Bryan: Silhouette Publications, Inc., 1982].   47 pp.  Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection  F / 392 / B84 / W56 / 1982.

 

Wilhelm, Gene, Jr., “Dooryard Gardens and Gardening in the Black Community of Brushy, Texas,” Geographical Review, 65(1):73-92 (Jan. 1975).

 

Wilson, John Walter, High John:  the Conqueror.  New York : Macmillan Co., 1948.  Novel by a Navasota writer about a Black farmer in Brazos and Grimes Counties.  TAMU Evans Library  PS / 3545 / I6349 / H53 / 1948; also in Cushing Library – Texas & Borderlands Collection

 

Yancy, Doris Brooks, Adjusting the Curriculum to Meet the Needs of Slow Learning Children in the Second Grade of Carver Elementary School, Bryan, Texas, 1951.   96 pp. Prairie View thesis.

 

 

Additional Documents/Articles

Access and Equity 2000: the Texas Educational Opportunity Plan for Public Higher Education, September 1994 through August 2000.  [College Station]: Texas A & M University, [1995].  Cushing Library – Texas A&M Collection  LD / 5309 / A2316 /  1995.

 

Beyond the Barriers: Issues and Ideas in Improving Access / prepared for the Special Commission on 21st Century Colleges and Universities [by] the George Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University, Class of 2000. TAMU Evans Library  LC / 3727 / T49 / 2000.

 

Fernandez, Jan Finley, Identifying Factors Which Influence Participation of Minority  Students in Study Abroad Programs at Texas A&M University, A&M masters thesis, 1993.  Cushing Library – Remote Storage (available in four days)  1993 / Thesis / F363.

 

The Impacts of Hopwood:  an Assessment of the Perceptions of Students Accepted for Admission to Texas A&M University and the University of Texas at Austin and of pre-Hopwood Attendance Patterns for Students from Texas:  Report to the Office of the President, Texas A&M University. [Executive summary] / by Steve H. Murdock ... [et al.].  [College Station, Tex.] : Center for Demographic and Socioeconomic Research and Education, Department of Rural Sociology, Texas A & M University, [1998]-Cushing Library/Texas A&M Collection  LB / 2351.3 / T4 / I672 / 1998a.

 

Ketch, Clarence Willard, A Study of Changes in Expressed Attitudes in the Realm of  Negro‑White Relations of Texas A. & M. Freshmen.  [College Station] 1955.   Texas A&M thesis.  Cushing Library – Remote Storage (available in four days)  1955 / Thesis / K43.

 

Knotts, Don, “Profile of a Double Minority,” Agricultural Education, 49:151 (Jan. 1977).  About women and African Americans in agriculture.

 

Koenig, Kristina C., Reactions of Texas A&M University to the Integration of Blacks and Women, and Student Activism.  Southwest Texas State University, masters thesis, 2001.  79 pages.

 

Martin, Angus, et al., In Fulfillment of a Dream:  African-Americans at Texas A&M University: an Exhibit Catalog Presenting the History of African-American Contributions, Participation and Achievements at Texas A&M University, 1876-2000.  [College Station]:  Cushing Memorial Library, Texas A&M University, [2001].

 

Mobley, William H., “Proper Investment in Education Means Bright Future for Everyone,” Black Issues in Higher Education, 9, no.1 (Mar. 12, 1992): 104

 

Morgan, Joan, “Faculty Study Says Texas A&M Lags in Minority Recruitment,” Black Issues in Higher Education, 9, no.7 (June 4, 1992): 3

 

Rice, Mitchell F. & Dhananjaya "Jay" Arekere.  Factors Influencing Minority Students' Decision Not to Enroll at Texas A&M University.  College Station: Race & Ethnic Studies Institute, Texas A & M University, [2000].  TAMU Evans Library  LD5309 .R53 2000; also Policy Sciences & Economics Library.

 

Schultz, Roger, “Multicultural Casting Providing Opportunity for Minority Actors While Stimulating Innovative Productions,” TDR, v.35, Summer 1991, pp.7-13.

 

Stanley, Christine Anne Marie, Factors that Prompt Black Doctoral Students to Forego Their Doctoral Program at Two Major Universities in Texas, A&M dissertation, 1990.  Cushing Library – Remote Storage (available 4 days); also available online through ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.

 

“Texas A&M BEST Program Targets Minority Transfer Students,” Black Issues in Higher Education, 6, no.14, (Sept. 28, 1989): 26

 

“Texas Lawmaker Blasts Racist Acts at Universities,” Black Issues in Higher Education, 9, no.21 (Dec. 17, 1992): 5

 

Turner, Allan, “Playwright’s Real Life Was in the West / Quest to Find America Brought Him to A&M,” Houston Chronicle, 21 Nov. 1995, sect.A, p.11.  About Charles Gordone.

 

Unity:  Bryan-College Station’s Free Community Newspaper (1990- ).  Published by Texas A&M Chapter, National Association of Black Journalists.

 

Wallace, James A., The Collegiate Experiences of Black Students Attending an Historically and Predominately White University in Texas, TAMU dissertation, 1993.  Cushing Library – Remote Storage (available 4 days); also available online through ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.

Suggest links to add to this page

Associate Professor

Profile Image
Rebecca Hankins
Contact Info
(979) 845-1951
Send Email
 

Databases


Find Scholarly Articles:  Databases

America: History and Life (EBSCO)

Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Black Studies Center
BSC covers scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles articles, and much more for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.  

Black Thought and Culture
BTC contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, from colonial times to the present, covering the published works of leading African Americans. Sources include published non-fiction works, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.  Recent updates include a new interface and more issues of the Black Panther newspaper.

Black Women Writers
BWW offers over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays from Africa, North America, Europe and the Caribbean.  It brings together the many voices of women in the African Diaspora from over 20 countries.

Ethnic NewsWatch
ENW features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 250 publications offering both national and regional coverage.

Gender Studies Database
GSD covers sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

JSTOR-is a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content.  Well respected Africana Studies journals are included in JSTOR such as Callaloo, The Journal of African American History, and the Journal of Negro Education and many more.

Project MUSE-is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.  MUSE contains conent from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers including the recent journal Black Women, Gender, and Families.

Race Relations Abstracts
RRA includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Rock & Roll, Counter Culture, Peace and Protest, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip