This is the "Getting Started" page of the "GEOL 101 / GEOL 104 / GEOL 106" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEOL 101 / GEOL 104 / GEOL 106   Tags: classguide  

Classguide for: GEOLOGY 101 Principles of Geology GEOLOGY 104 Physical Geology GEOLOGY 106 Historical Geology
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/content.php?pid=227282 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat With Us

Get it for me

You'll occasionally discover articles, books, conference proceedings and more that Texas A&M Libraries does not own.  When you do, take advantage of this great service!!

Classguide for GEOL 101, GEOL 104 & GEOL 106

Key Databases

For Geology, the key database will always be GeoRef. However, two other databases in particular are quite important. 1) AGU Digital Library: All journals and publications produced by the American Geophysical Union (AGU) are not indexed and/or searchable in GeoRef, so for topics concerning geophysics especially, it is important to search the AGU Digital Library database as well as GeoRef.  2) AAPG Datapages: All publications by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) ARE indexed and searchable in GeoRef. In fact, the full text to all AAPG publications are available in the AAPG Datapages database. The problem is that AAPG Datapages is not compatible with the linking software that generates the 'Find Text at TAMU' links and so any AAPG publications found in GeoRef searches will not link to the full-text articles in AAPG Datapages.  So, the best approach is to cut and paste citations in GeoRef to any AAPG publications into a Word document, etc. and then find the full-text for them in AAPG Datapages.

  • GeoRef (Ei Village)
    American Geological Institute's geoscience database that contains over 2.2 million records from North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Additional items come from special bibliographies produced from state surveys or societies, and annual subject and author indexes.
  • AAPG Datapages
    A petroleum geology database containing text and images from publications produced by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. These include the AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Publications and GCAGS transactions. (Books are added two years after their original publication.) Also includes abstracts of meeting papers from 1990 to the present.
  • AGU's Digital Library:    
    This database features all of the publications by the American Geophysical Union in full-text from the very first issue.  The journals contained are:
    Earth Interactions
    Geochemistry, Geophysics, Geosystems
    Geophysical Research Letters
    Global Biogeochemical Cycles
    International Journal of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy
    Journal of Geophysical Research, including
            Terrestrial Magnetism
            Terrestrial Magnetism and Atmospheric Electricity
    Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics
    Paleoceanography
    Radio Science
    Reviews of Geophysics
    Space Weather
    Tectonics
    Water Resources Research
        
    --AGU has never allowed these publications to be indexed in GeoRef, so don't miss searching this database.

For more databases, see my Geology & Geophysics Subject Guide at:
http://guides.library.tamu.edu/GeologyGeophysics

 

      
     

    Catalog Search (LibCat)

    Enter Search Terms:



      Help


    LibCat (Main Library Catalog)

    Science & Engineering Librarian, MS Geology

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip