This is the "Get Started" page of the "Nuclear Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nuclear Engineering   Tags: subjectguide  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/nuclear Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

About the Nuclear Engineering Subject Guide...

Howdy! The purpose of this guide is to enable identification, access and retrieval of information important to study and research in nuclear engineering. 

Use the tabs along the top for more details on how to identify, access and retrieve specific kinds of information:

  • Books, book chapters, etc.  books on a topic, specific books, reference books, technical reports, etc.
  • Articles & papers  scholarly, trade, popular magazine, newspaper articles, conference papers, etc.
  • Data 
  • Theses & Dissertations
  • Standards & Patents
  • Use the Searching Tips for information on how to construct a more efficient search 
  • Use the Writing Resources tab above for information on technical writing, citation styles, reference management software, and more...
      

    Sampling of Book & Article Databases

    The list below is a small sample, but use the tabs above ("Find Books", "Find Articles", "Find Data") for more comprehensive lists of recommended book and article databases.

    • American Nuclear Society Journals Online  Icon
    • Compendex & Inspec  Icon
      Search simultaneously or separately — together they cover engineering and computer science. INSPEC includes Physics Abstracts. They index articles, reports, book chapters dissertations, and more. Limit a search to a particular document type (just articles, just books, etc.) Use the "Find text@TAMU" button for document retrieval options.
    • Safari Tech Books Online  Icon
      E-book database that contains computer manuals and other books on computer science and technology, including books on C+programming, SolidWorks, MatLab and much more.
    • ScienceDirect  Icon
      Provides access to the full text of many books and journals.
    • SpringerLink Books (MetaPress)
      Online books published by Springer
    • Web of Knowledge  Icon
      Indexes journal articles & conference papers only

    Sampling of Reference Books (dictionaries, encyclopedias & handbooks)

     

    ACCESS Various Types of Databases (article databases, e-book databases, data databases, etc.)

    In the box below, enter the title of the database to be accessed and hit the search button. If you are OFF campus, you will be prompted to login using your NetID & password. From ON campus, this step is skipped.



    New databases | Trial databases | More options

     

    Use the "Find Books", "Find Articles", "Find Data" tabs along the top of this guide for lists of recommended databases. 

     

    ACCESS Specific E-journals

    In the box below, enter the title of the journal to be accessed. 
    Very important  when viewing an entry for a specific journal, notice the "Available online from..." information.



    Browse titles | Citation Search | More options

    If the needed journal (or year) is not available online, search LibCat (main library catalog) or Chiron (MSL catalog) for a non-online version  or request an article from Get It For Me

    For example, enter Fusion Engineering and Design (not the "Available online from..." information) and follow the links to the journal.

    Did you know that...?

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Jane Stephens
    Logo - Skype
    Contact Info
    979-845-5382 (voice-mail)
    979-218-9206 (cell)
    Send Email
     

    Chat With Us

    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

    Regular Chat Hours

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip