This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Educational and Human Resource Development (HRD)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jan 28, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/EHRD Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Career/Companies

  • O*Net
    Jobs, Skills, HR & more
  • Glassdoor
    Salaries, Companies, Interview questions & more

Social Science (HRD / Education)

The databases with a star icon are scholarly sources.

  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)  Icon
    Coverage varied. Multi-disciplinary, with 5,300+ full-text periodicals including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Human Resources Abstracts (Ebsco)  Icon
    more than 102,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Human Resources, Personnel Psychology, and Work & Occupations. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1975.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI)  Icon
    Social Sciences Citation Index (part of Web of Science) covers all areas of social science. 1956-present
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)  Icon
    Literature on the disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Access to journal articles, book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles.
  • Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)  Icon
    covers social sciences including psychology, sociology, education, community health, policy sciences, minority studies, economics, social work, criminology, environmental studies, and more. Full text from 1994-present, Indexing from 1983-present.
  • Web of Science  Icon
    Nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide including Open Access journals with coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900.
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (ISI)
    Includes the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposium, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage: 1990-present
  • ERIC (Ebsco)  Icon
    1966 - present. Probably the most extensive coverage on all educational-related literature.
  • Education Full-Text (Wilson)  Icon
    1982- present. Indexed coverage since 1982, abstracted coverage since 1994 and full text coverage since 1996. A good starting point for full-text articles.
  • Education: a SAGE Full Text Collection (CSA)  Icon
    Full text of 36 peer-reviewed journals by up to 90 years of backfiles, covering adult and continuing education, administration, policy, elementary & primary education, high school and secondary education, higher education, international education and more
  • Educational Administration Abstracts (Ebsco)  Icon
    Covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses
    Master’s theses and doctoral dissertations written at most American research universities and with selected international institutions since the mid-nineteenth century. From 1994 to date

Business / Personnel / Management

  • Business Source Complete  Icon
    Peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and conference proceedings in management, MIS, marketing, economics, finance including the Harvard Business Review and MIT's Sloan Management Review. The "Company Profiles" section provides access to Datamonitor reports on thousands of companies worldwide, many with SWOT analyses. In addition, one can find Country Reports and Industry Profiles. Also contains author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
  • ABI/Inform  Icon
    Covering management, human resources, corporate finance, org. behavior, managerial economics, information systems, telecommunications, health care administration and more.
  • Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
    Includes full text of 40 journals by SAGE covering Organizational Behavior, Organizational Development, Strategic Management, Organizational Theory, Industrial Psychology, Human Resource Management, Business Ethics, Corporate Social Responsibility, Environmental Management, Leadership, Group Processes & more.
  • Emerald ManagementXtra  Icon
    35,000+ full text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, covering: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management

Psychology & Behavior Sciences

  • PsycINFO (ebsco)
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)  Icon
    A subset of over 600 scholarly, psychology-related journals covered in Academic Search Complete -- mostly full-text and peer-reviewed.
  • Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection  Icon
    Collection of over 30 full-text psychology journals covering areas such as clinical and counseling topics, Black and Hispanic psychology issues, measurement and assessment, and development.
  • PsycARTICLES (CSA)  Icon
    Collection of over 60 full-text, peer-reviewed journals published by APA and others. Coverage begins with volume 1 for all journals, oldest starting in 1894. New issues are loaded about 2 weeks after print copies are mailed to subscribers. All journals are searchable through PsycINFO with links to full text.
  • PsycBOOKS (CSA)
    Collection of over 1500 full-text scholarly books -- many published by APA -- including some "classic" and out-of-print books with importance to the history of psychology. Newer books are added during the year following publication (copyright) date. Also includes entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. All books/chapters are searchable through PsycINFO with links to full text.
  • PsycCRITIQUES (Ebsco)
    covers reviews of scholarly books in psychology and popular trade books and films related to psychology. (1956-present)
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology (Elsevier)
  • Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science (Wiley)

Legal Resources

Vocational & Career Resources

  • Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO)
    Provides access to vocational and career information from nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals as well as over 600 scholarly journals. Coverage dates back to 1985.
  • O*NET
    An interactive application for exploring and searching occupations covering hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. Also provides the basis for our Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers. Continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation.
  • The Employment Cost Index (ECI) report
    The Employment Cost Index (ECI) report provides information on changes in wages, salaries, and benefit costs that affect workers and employers. The ECI provides statistics for all workers, along with separately published statistics for private industry, and State and local government workers.
  • Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
  • Leadership Library on the Internet
    Directory of public and private sector personnel contacts at 40,000 leading U.S. government, business, professional, and nonprofit organizations. Browse or search for congressional, federal, state, municipal, judicial, corporate, financial, news media, associations, law firms, government affairs, foreign representatives, nonprofit sector contacts.

Education

Profile Image
Daniel Xiao
Contact Info
Evans Library
(979)862-1900
danxiao@tamu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Sociology / Film Studies
 

Chat With Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip