This is the "Analytical" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry   Tags: subjectguide  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Analytical Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Reference Sources

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    The handbook for chemistry! Extensive collection of physical constants, property data, mathematical tables, and conversion factors.
  • Merck Index
    Contains brief entries on the synthesis, use, biological activity, and property data on over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
  • Reagent Chemicals
    This handbook contains information on the American Chemical Society standards associated with reagent purity and testing on nearly 500 chemicals.
  • Purification of Laboratory Chemicals
    Outlines procedures and processes for purifying over 4000 organic and 750 inorganic and organometallic chemicals.

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Other Sources

  • Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook
    Provides an overview of analytical methods, including all conventional wet and instrumental techniques. It also provides information on preliminary separation methods, quality control, and statistics in chemical analysis.
  • Encyclopedia of Analytical Science
    Contains over 600 articles covering techniques for the determination of specific elements, compounds and groups of compounds, and materials characterization.
  • Analytical Instrumentation Handbook
    Handbook of instrumental methods by Ewing with a focus on specific commercially available instrumentation. Theory and science of the instrumentation is also included.
  • CHEMnetBASE
    CHEMnetBASE includes several "dictionaries":
    Dictionary of Organic Compounds
    Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compds
    Dictionary of Natural Products ... and many more.

    Also contains the Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) provides brief descriptions of chemical substances, physical property data, systematic and common names, literature references (e.g., syntheses, spectral data, etc.), and structural diagrams for over 500,000 chemicals.
  • Encyclopedia of analytical chemistry: applications, theory, and instrumentation
    This 15-volume set contain both applications of instrumental methods (v. 1-10) and theory and instrumentation (v. 11-15).

Test Methods

Databases

  • SciFinder
    Comprehensive index for chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, and related subjects. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, and some technical reports. Coverage 1907-present.
  • Reaxys
    Contains the Beilstein (organic) and Gmelin (inorganic) databases, which provide extensive amount of physical property data and synthesis information. Also includes chemical patents. Can be searched by CAS, formula, structure, reaction, as well as by various other parameters.
  • Analytical WebBase (a.k.a. Analytical Abstracts)
    Analytical Abstracts covers the analytical chemistry literature from 1980 to present. The database can be searched by analyte and matrix.
  • Web of Science
    A citation database (i.e., tracks who cites who) covering over 250 disciplines, including 7,100 science journals. It also includes conference proceedings. Coverage 1900-present.
  • NIST Critically Selected Stability Constants of Metal Complexes Database
    As its names indicates, this database provides stability constants for metal complexes.
  • KnowItAll U - Spectra Database
    A collection of 1.4 million IR, MS, NMR, Raman, and UV-Vis spectra. This resource is an online version of the Sadtler spectra collection plus more! Free informatics software is available to compare, store, and manage your spectral data, though the software is not required to access the spectra. See link below for software.
  • KnowItAll U Informatics Software
    This informatics software works in conjunction and independently of the KnowItAll U spectra database to support search, processing/analysis, chemometrics, spectra management, and reporting. Learn more at Bio-Rad Laboratories and click the green "Register & Download" to download the software.
  • WebCSD (Cambridge Structural Database)
    A crystallographic database containing bibliographic and X-ray crystallographic data for 500,000+ organic molecules. Note: University Libraries only provides access to the database and not the software.
  • Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD)
    ICSD is a comprehensive database of inorganic crystal structures containing crystallographic data for over 125,000 compounds.
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses
    A comprehensive index to doctoral dissertations in all disciplines. Some master’s theses are indexed as well, but many schools do not contribute information about their master’s theses. Dissertations published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available. TAMU users may borrow or purchase copies of non-TAMU dissertations via the Get It For Me service. Coverage: 1861 - Present.
  • WorldCat
    OCLC WorldCat contains over 43 million records describing library holdings worldwide, but primarily North America. Great for locating books not owned by Texas A&M University Libraries.

Analtyical Chemistry Books and Reviews

A few selected online and print books. Most of the print analytical chemistry books are located on the 4th Floor of Evans Library under call numbers QD71-QD142. Search LibCat to find additional analytical chemistry book.

 

Catalog Search (LibCat)

Enter Search Terms:

Choose a Search Type:


LibCat (Main Library Catalog)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip