Comprehensive index for chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, and related subjects. It includes information on substances, reactions, and provides structure and substructure searching. Indexes journals, patents, conference proceedings, and some technical reports. Coverage 1800s-present.
The Medline database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. While included in SciFinder, searching Medline separately may provide more search options.
- Web of Science
A citation database (i.e., tracks who cites who) covering over 250 disciplines, including 7,100 science journals. It also includes conference proceedings. Coverage 1900-present.
- BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews is a multidisciplinary database to life science and biomedical research. BIOSIS Previews includes the contents of Biological Abstracts, Biological Abstracts/RRM, and BioResearch Index. Coverage is 1969-present.
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. The database can be searched by chemical name, keywords, structure, substructure, and biological assay.
Contains the Beilstein (organic) and Gmelin (inorganic) databases, which provide extensive amount of physical property data and synthesis information. Also includes chemical patents. Can be searched by CAS, formula, structure, reaction, as well as by various other parameters.
CHEMnetBASE includes several "dictionaries":
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compds
Dictionary of Natural Products ... and many more.
Also contains the Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) provides brief descriptions of chemical substances, physical property data, systematic and common names, literature references (e.g., syntheses, spectral data, etc.), and structural diagrams for over 500,000 chemicals.
- KnowItAll U - Spectra Database
A collection of 1.4 million IR, MS, NMR, Raman, and UV-Vis spectra. This resource is an online version of the Sadtler spectra collection plus more! Free informatics software is available to compare, store, and manage your spectral data, though the software is not required to access the spectra. See link below for software.
- KnowItAll U Informatics Software
This informatics software works in conjunction and independently of the KnowItAll U spectra database to support search, processing/analysis, chemometrics, spectra management, and reporting. Learn more at Bio-Rad Laboratories and click the green "Register & Download" to download the software.
- WebCSD (Cambridge Structural Database)
A crystallographic database containing bibliographic and X-ray crystallographic data for 500,000+ organic molecules.
OCLC WorldCat contains over 43 million records describing library holdings worldwide, but primarily North America. Great for locating books not owned by Texas A&M University Libraries.
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive index to doctoral dissertations in all disciplines. Some master’s theses are indexed as well, but many schools do not contribute information about their master’s theses. Dissertations published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available. TAMU users may borrow or purchase copies of non-TAMU dissertations via the Get it for me service. Coverage: 1861 - Present.