This is the "Writing Resources" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry   Tags: subjectguide  

Last Updated: Jan 14, 2017 URL: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Writing Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

ACS Style Guide

The ACS Style Guide is the style manual for American Chemical Society publications, as well as many others.

  • ACS Style Guide
    The link above is to the online version. We have print versions at the Ask Us Desk and Media & Reserves in Evans Library. Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
  • Chapter 14 - References
    Chapter 14 of the ACS Style Guide is freely available as a pdf. This chapter provides information on how to cite references.
  • CAplus (SciFinder) Core Journal Coverage List
    Provides a list of the 1,500 core journals in SciFInder, along with their abbreviations.
  • CASSI Search Tool
    An online version of the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI). Used to decipher and create journal abbreviations according to the ACS style.
  • Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI)
    Print Only. CASSI provides the official journal abbreviations for the ACS style. The print was discontinued by CAS in 2010 and replaced by a more limited free version. See CASSI Search Tool.

Journal Rankings

Journals can be evaluated using a number of criteria, but the impact factor is one of the most widely used. Using Journal Citation Reports, an impact factor can be found for an individual journal or a category (e.g., Chemistry, Organic).

Digital Object Identifer

Looking for a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for an article? If you didn't find one at the publisher's journal website, you might try the CrossRef Simple Text Query tool.

Need to now more about DOIs or have one to resolve, then go to the DOI Foundation webpage.

      

    Citation/Bibliographic Managers

    This software not only allows you to store and manage citations downloaded from databases and other sources, but works with word processing sotfware (e.g., Word) to properly format your citations.

     

    Publishing Your Research 101

    An interview with Harvard's George Whitesides on writing and publishing.

    Click here to see other episodes in the American Chemical Society's Publishing Your Research 101 series, which includes writing your cover letter, suggesting peer reviewers, using ACS's Paragon Plus, and several others. 

     

     

    Fundamentals of Effective Scientific Writing

    This ACS webinar focuses on cutting out unecessary words, active voice, and using strong verbs. 

    Writing Center

    The University Writing Center offers assistance with writing assignments, theses, and dissertations. They also offer workshops and information about writing at their website.

    Copyright and Intellectual Property

     

    Chat With Us

     

    How to Get Published: Elsevier's Publishing Connect Webcasts

    "How to Get Published" series discusses how to prepare your manuscript, use proper manuscript language and how to structure your article. Each webcast lasts up to 10 minutes.

    Preparing Your Manuscript

    Using Proper Manuscript Language

    Structuring Your Article

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip